We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We just checked out of the Fairmont Pittsburgh today after a two night stay. We were in Pittsburgh for a meeting, and the hotel was in the perfect downtown location. Rooms were very comfortable with amenities not typically found elsewhere, such as comfortable bedding with soft and firm pillows, a lamp on a dimmer switch, under-vanity lighting in the bathroom that can be used as a night light, and plenty of electrical sockets including one on each side of the bed so you can charge your cell phone and keep it next to you overnight. Our room on the 19th floor overlooked the city toward the Allegheny River and the view was fantastic.
Service was top notch all around with rare exception. Check in was smooth and efficient and the same person that checks you in escorts you to the elevator. Concierge working the morning of July 14 got us a great table at Lamont's for dinner that night. Concierge Celine went out of her way to help us with printing our boarding passes this morning. We had friendly and efficient service from Tyler this morning for breakfast in Habitat. The only bad note was the hostess Katlin kept us waiting for our table longer than necessary, and yesterday morning, Kate's service for breakfast was less than friendly. All in all, staff aim to please from the doorman to our room housekeeper Luba. Would definitely return to this hotel when traveling to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamifloridanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We have shared your feedback with our colleagues and recognized Celine, Tyler and Luba for their outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Pittsburgh.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont for one night to celebrate my 30th birthday. It was a wonderful experience. From the time we checked in until check out we didn't encounter one problem. The hotel is beautiful! We ate Sunday brunch in the restaurant and was very impressed with the service and the quality of the food. The bar was a great place to unwind after a long afternoon of walking. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great hotel -- nice look -- especially how each of the floors are designed. Details are important here.

The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms/views are amazing...especially from floors 19 and up.

The ONLY criticism is with the gym...open 24/7 that's great. But not having water readily available -- whether through a fountain, water cooler or just on hand-- is not cool. Very odd to have a gym and no water. You have to wait for the person on duty to set the water stations up. The kicker: They start at 8am with spa and sauna services, but by 9:00am when I left the gym/spa/sauna, there was still no water out to drink.... That should be fixed.

Room Tip: go for the floors higher up on the left hand side of the building you see the rivers and PNC park in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay but was sorry to hear that you were not able to locate water at the Health Club. Because guests have 24-hour access to the Health Club, we take great care to leave a carafe of water out during after-hours. Please do keep this in mind during your next visit to Fairmont Pittsburgh. Again, we appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Checking in for a wedding on a Friday afternoon, a friend in the lobby mentioned that her floor (14) and room had a strange odor. We were sent to 21 - and voila - the same 'fragrance' permeated the entire floor and our room. The room, BTW, was lovely. We mentioned the 'problem' to the front desk, as had our friends - nothing happened. Saturday, we mentioned it again - suggested they send someone from maintenance to ck it out!? NOTHING happened. Sunday, mentioned the problem yet again - they literally said it was the first they heard of it!!

Otherwise a lovely place - bring a gas mask.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenwich_CtLcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here on June 29th and 30th for the Kenny Chesney concert. We checked in ahead of time online and we were given our room keys within 5 minutes. The person at the front desk was very friendly and attentive asking us if we needed help w/ our luggage and if there were any requests we had. We did not need any help. She explained that we needed to use our key to get to our room in the elevator. Very nice to know that the hotel is so secure w/ it being located directly downtown.
The room was very large. We had a king size bed, a desk area w/ internet hook up, a large dresser w/ a large flat screen television. There was a beverage area that had a kettle for water for tea and a Keurig coffee maker. There was also a mini bar and a snack area. We did not utilize any of the mini bar of snacks, but the coffee maker and tea kettle were perfect for us.
The bathroom was very large w/ a walk in glass shower, a sunk in tub, a large sink area and a private toilet area. The shower was wonderful. I could have stayed in there all day.
Our room overlooked Market Square. The wall over looking the city was all glass and made for a beautiful view, especially at night with the curtains open. The hotel even provided binoculars to enhance your view.
We would definitely stay here again. So convenient to everything. The subway was one block away which made it easy to travel to Heinz Field for the concert. Market Square was right there w/ a variety of restuarants to choose from. The Cultural District is also very close to be able to enjoy a play or symphony.
If in Pittsburgh, give this hotel a try. Was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmmaglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay for the Kenny Chesney concert and have shared your wonderful feedback with our front desk colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I decided to be tourists in our hometown one early summer weekend. We booked a weekend at the Fairmont and were delighted with every facet of our stay. The location is perfect - the center of town. Just steps to the lively Market Square, the Cultural District, Gateway Center and the stadiums. Our room was good sized, had a to die for view and all the amenities we could ask for. Service was what you'd expect from a high end hotel. And we were surprised by how a place so modern and luxurious coild also present the spirit of Pittsburgh. From the house dog to the straw hatted doorman. We totally recommend the Fairmont to travellors to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPCerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We won VIP concert tickets and overnight accommodations at the Fairmont. Being from the area we knew it was a nice place, so we were excited to check it out since we wouldn't usually stay in such a fancy place. We had a great time.

The concert was amazing, and as for the hotel, everyone who worked there was very polite, the food at the VIP event was great, and room was really nice. The only downside of the room was the air conditioning- it just wouldn't get cold. Plus, there were a lot of stale items in the minibar. However, we really enjoyed being right next to Station Square- the view was great and there are a lot of restaurants to choose from! We did have an issue getting out of the parking garage the next day- the machine wouldn't read my card (that was readable everywhere else that day) and we had to keep going back and fourth between the hotel and the garage who are run by different companies. Nothing really got sorted out and we had to use a different card. It was a huge pain.

Overall, it was a nice overnight stay. I personally probably wouldn't stay here again because I am from this area and I don't usually spend this much on a hotel, but it would be great for business traveler, a couple attending a wedding, etc. I wouldn't recommend it for a family as it does't seem that 'kid friendly'. It was a nice mini vacation for us and would be good for a Pittsburgher looking for fancy night out on the town!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsey587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.5 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Address: 510 Market St, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £154 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing