We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property, Bad Booking Strategy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Called hotel 3 months out for a reservation and was told "we're sold out". So I went to hotels.com and they showed rooms available because they bought up a large block of rooms on contract with Fairmont. So I'm screwed because I now have to pay more than if I booked through Fairmont.
This would never happen at my favorite chain: The 4 Seasons.
Think it cheapens the Fairmont experience when I have to haggle for a room like a used car.
Other than that, it's a very nice property, good rooms, location in downtown, easy car valet, 3rd party spa was nice.
Biggest gripe (besides reservations) was difficulty getting a cab at the hotel, valet called for one and after waiting 30 minutes, I just called Uber and I had a driver in 5 minutes. Ended up using Uber on my trip back and forth to restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank orv m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Pittsburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

An excellent hotel with stark modern decor and a reflection of Pittsburgh in art and artifacts, mostly bottles and jars from excavation during construction. This hotel is all you would expect a Fairmont to be but the most distinctive feature is incredible views of the city from a window wall in each room. Ours, on the 20th floor, reached from Fifth Avenue across the river to the top of Mt. Washington, and from the new PNC Tower to the Fort Pitt tunnels. The bathroom is spacious with a large shower separate from the tub. Intelligent, friendly service from everybody everywhere on the property. Among the amenities are water purification machines next to the ice machines. Silent AC, but it felt good to get outside to relieve red eyes.

Room Tip: It's hard to get a bad room. The hotel footprint is a long rectangle, with Allegheny River views...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ernest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is an outstanding hotel. The service here is unparalleled and appointments to the room are first class. The one bedroom suite I stayed in was one of the nicest I have ever enjoyed. Easily as big as many one bedroom apartments, the living room is comfortable for watching TV, sitting at the desk working or enjoying room service at the dining table. The exquisite master bathroom has separate rain shower and soaking tub with 2 separate sinks. Luxurious bathrobes, make this a great place to relax.

For a special treat, book a massage in the spa and relax in the steam room. Views of Mt. Washington are beautiful at night.

Just a great place

Room Tip: Any room facing Mt. Washington is best
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SusanJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed the room accommodations and our spa. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon.

Warm regards,
Bernd Pichler,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Service was exceptional
Room were comfortable and classy. Staff went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed, location was with walking distance to downtown shops, restaurants and sites.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great hotel and staff that cares about their guests. Convenient location and great services! Concierge wrote my children a personal note and left in room with Pirates hats for the game....made for two happy kids!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service is nothing short of excellent and the accommodations are 5***** Big comfy bed, comfortable chair, desk, huge bathrooms with big shower, a mini bar area with Keurig and an umbrella and binoculars if you need. Also, the robes and complimentary slippers made staying here that much more comfortable.

The best part was there were rooms available on a weekend after our reservations through Hotels.com fell through. NEVER USE HOTELS.COM. They will mess up your reservations and not give you anything in return. They never confirmed with the hotel. A friend also had their room given away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your wonderful comments. I am pleased to learn we were able to accommodate you for a weekend reservation and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband, Victor and I stayed at the Fairmont for our wedding night (7/12/14) and we had a wonderful visit. While the entire staff, from the friendly valets, to the front desk associates are professional and service-oriented, we owe a special "Thank you" to one of the concierges, Nancy, who not only arranged for Victor's boss to provide us with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne on our wedding night, but also went out of her way to assist us with the special request of coordinating someone to help us blow up (with helium) several balloons for our wedding reception at the last minute! She was truly incredible- we love her and the Fairmont hotel. The room was spacious, clean and modern and the view of the River was great. If the Pirates had been playing at PNC stadium, we could have watched the game from our room. Vic and I are from Shaker Heights, Ohio but travel to Pittsburgh often and we will definitely look forward to staying at the Fairmont again in the future. We are also now curious to try some of the other Fairmont properties. What a great overall experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the River- higher level.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Address: 510 Market St, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £165 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing