We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent one night here for business . Very conveniently located. Clean and well maintained. Was upgraded to an incredible suite. Linens in bath and bed were top rate. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are in Pittsburgh. Only feedback is the staff wears very strange, bright uniforms that seem a bit strange and out of date.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdkflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    167
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
195
279
27
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was in Pittsburgh for a childhood friend's wedding. Our room was great, the ceremony and reception were phenomenal. No complaints.

I've been to the hotel before for dinner at their restaurant Habitat because they're the only (at the time) Grass - fed steak house in Pittsburgh. Excellent food for the wedding.

Rooms are great, personnel were on point!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. River views are so nice!
See more room tips
Green Features: The Fairmont's eco-friendly level is in line with their goals. Very nice.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xapifafa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your recent stay and your friend's wedding here at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Pittsburgh.

Warm regards,
Mindi Morin,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at the Fairmont for one night with my husband as part of a weekend getaway for our birthdays. We have two elementary-aged children, and we’ve become accustomed to kid-filled hotels with pools, crowded continental breakfasts and the pitter-patter of little feet up and down the hallway at all hours. This is not that hotel. It’s an upscale hotel that caters to adults and business travelers.

When my husband booked the room, they asked if we were celebrating anything special. He said it was my birthday, and upon arrival in the room, there was a small cake, macaroons and a card from the hotel staff. An unexpected surprise and a special touch to our stay. We stayed in a suite on the 14th floor, and it was gorgeous. The best part of the room was the bathroom. It was spa-like with two plush robes, slippers, glass shower with waterfall faucet, separate tub, various levels of lighting, magnifying mirror and higher-end toiletries.

The room itself was nice. King-size bed, chair and ottoman, business desk, flat screen TV, fully-stocked cash bar/snack bar, etc. I also appreciated the added touches – like a full-size umbrella in the closet, leather basket for jewelry and coins, Seiko face clock … and of course, the view overlooking downtown Pittsburgh. Our window overlooked Market Square, the PPG building (the crown-jewel of the skyline), and also included a partial water view of the Monongahela River and Station Square. (The view also included tops of buildings and new construction, which weren’t as impressive, but we just looked past those parts.) My only complaint (and I wouldn’t really call it a “complaint”) was the gorgeous white fluffy bed was overly puffy in my opinion. Mattress and pillows were best for back sleepers, which I find is typical of most hotel rooms.

Parking is valet for $32/night or self-parking in the hotel garage for $7/night. Tip: My husband called the hotel about a week before our stay and randomly asked if there were any promotions, not sure what to even ask for. He got a significant discount for paying for the room in advance in full. It became a non-refundable room at the point, but the money saved was substantial.

We spent the afternoon at Station Square and ate dinner across the street from the hotel at Vallozzi's with two friends. After dinner, we came back to Andy’s Wine Bar near the hotel lobby where there was live music. On Sunday morning, we opted for Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts, which are located in Market Square just next to the hotel.

Overall, a great stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dtp010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review and sharing your feedback with us. I am thrilled to learn you and your husband enjoyed your weekend getaway at Fairmont Pittsburgh. It's great to hear that everything from the view to the room amenities was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Mindi Morin,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful location, room views and access to a rich variety of dining options and entertainment. Spacious and quite with very comfortable beds and great internet access. Market square is a must visit for food and local architecture is fascinating in all directions.



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much, Sean! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your room accommodations and all the city has to offer right outside our front door. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon.

Sincerely,
Mindi Morin,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good Hotel, centrally located. But become expensive. Good service, nice rooms, good breakfast spread, nice bar, many good eating places nearby within walking distance. Probably the best place to stay in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanwarTavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very nice I've stayed here a few times and I liked it until this happened... We stayed at the hotel for the weekend and after leavening a few hours later I had left a shirt in the closet(the hotels policy is they will hold personal and valuables) the hotel stuff claimed they couldn't find the shirt so the maid must have taken it and not turned it in or they didn't check the room

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank _A_Traveling_Dude_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to learn about this issue and would like the opportunity to speak with you and assist as best I can. Please contact me directly so that I can research your reservation and follow up. Again, please accept my apologies. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Mindi Morin,
Director of Operations, Fairmont Pittsburgh
412-773-8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Was surprised how elegant and fresh we found the Fairmont Hotel in Pittsburgh. We were driving from Ohio and picked this hotel for stopover to see Pittsburgh attractions including the Rock Hall of Fame and the Carnegie Mellon Museum and Heinz History Center. We felt very comfortable in the hotel and the rooms were spacious. They have an exhibit at the hotel where they display the historical objects that were found from the early 1900's when they dug up this space to make room for the hotel (there was some department store in the early days located there). Breakfast was a great surprise as it was extremely high quality and well prepared and there was an open kitchen so you can see everything being made. One of the better breakfasts available and also care taken with how the food is displayed. Valet parking was convenient and time-efficient and we were a block or two from several restaurants. Only area of improvement is to get a club lounge for frequent Fairmont travelers. Lobby staff was very friendly and professional.

Green Features: the hotel stresses its environmentally friendly practices and is highly rated in this area.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairport5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your room accommodations and breakfast at Habitat during your recent visit to Pittsburgh. Thank you also for your comments regarding a club lounge. We will certainly keep that in mind. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon.

Kind regards,
Mindi Morin,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Property: Fairmont Pittsburgh
Address: 510 Market St, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing