We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mansion at Maple Heights
Ranked #7 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The mansion is very interesting, lots of character. This place could be top notch with the right care from the owner- who does not live there. We had prime service from Scott and the other employees, they go out of their way to please you. Most of the trouble areas are issues that an owner would need to address. For instance many of the window treatments need to be replaced or updated. The whole mansion needs some "fluffing" It is almost stark inside, was somewhat cold, a bit bleak. No offense to anyone in charge of decorating, but this place needs some serious help in the main living areas- the bedrooms were pretty nice- our bath was as big as some apartments. For what we paid per night we could have stayed at a very swanky hotel, so that is why I only rate this average. At this price point this place should be way more polished.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauliepalmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for The Mansion at Maple Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stone mansion with wood inside, stained glass, staircase going around a big foyer. This building is beautiful. It has five bedrooms with private baths, and a hot breakfast is made to order. Comfortable beds, and a great view across the city (until the leaves fill in). Parking onsite behind a locked gate. Weddings are held here, and I can see why. Highly recommend, if the price tag doesn't bother you.

Room Tip: 1 & 2 are up one flight of stairs; 3, 4, & 5 are up two flights, but the climb is easy. We...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangerook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As an alternative to chain hotels, my wife & I now stay at B&Bs. The Mansion House has been the best B&B thus far. The house and room were amazing. Our arrival was very personal as Whitney took the time to chat and explain the house to us. The breakfast the next morning, prepared by Chef Winston, was out of this world. The French Toast came highly recommended and defintely did not disappoint. Chef Winston has been the most personable out of anyone we met in all our B&B stays. Our converstations with him were only surpassed by his food.

I definitely recommend a stay at the Mansion House and we will surely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed at the Mansion for three nights over the Thanksgiving holiday! Chef Winston took great care of us at breakfast, but we never saw our hosts. Very comfortable bed and beautiful view out of our window. This is an elegant old mansion and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were cool for great sleeping but a bit cool for sitting around to watch tv.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice+Angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here for our 30th wedding anniversary. The mansion sits back in amidst some houses. You would not know it was up there. It was quiet and quite lovely. Our room was comfortable but the carpets could use a cleaning. Chef Winston was a delight! He prepared a made to order breakfast for us. I had a great omelet and my husband had the sexy french toast. There were several other couples eating breakfast with us and we enjoyed talking to them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleanqueen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Sin and I had stayed at the mansion about a year ago and decided we would stay there again this trip back to Pittsburgh.

Upon arrival Scott (one of the staff) Greeted us, Showed us around, Pointed out some of the changes that had been made since our last stay, Then recommended a nice place to get some dinner over off of walnut st (the shady side shopping area).

Breakfast was was even better than we had remembered, Bedroom had new comforters, pillow cases and a new TV (Im a Sports fanatic). Watching the hockey game on a 52 inch tv had me feeling at home in the den.
Stayed Before and we will definatly be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShawnNSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Overall, I would recommend the Mansion for a weekend getaway though it is lacking some details that would really make it a great resort.

Let's talk about the great things first. Chef Winston! He is as warm hearted and funny as his food is good. Made to order breakfast, and yes, I had the sexy french toast. You found yourself wanting to linger after breakfast to interact with him and hear his laugh. He is the best part of the Mansion. He's a one man show at breakfast though the pace was fine, with no one waiting. I'd go there for breakfast every Sunday if I could.

On to the good. The Mansion is beautiful with very nice grounds. The library and the back patio are very nice. We were in room 5 which had nice furniture and a modern bathroom. The room was quiet and allowed for a restful night's sleep. The TV included all the movie channels.

But here is where they missed the mark.....despite how large the room was, there was no sitting chair other than a folding chair in the corner. The walk in closet was huge yet had only 2 wire hangers in it for your clothing. There was none of the usual literature in the room or sitting areas that told you about the Mansion's history or the surrounding area. We are local so did not need tourist info, but others may. There was a kitchenette on the third floor but no bottle water or soda provided in the fridge, no ice bucket or wine glassess in the room, etc. Also, the parking situation is not ideal, with the cars lining up against one of the walls. I've been to places that were both more and less expensive that seemed to go a step further than the Mansion. These are small details that would go a long way in making this an excellent venue, but now it's somewhere between average and very good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwall1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#44 of 71 in Pittsburgh
51 reviews
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion at Maple Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion at Maple Heights

Address: 5516 Maple Heights Ct, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £135 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansion at Maple Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You need to look no further than The Mansion at Maple Heights for a softly sophisticated and alluring getaway in the middle of Pittsburgh, walking distance to the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University.The Mansion has five fully renovated bedroom suites with all the amenities you require. Perfect for business travelers and visitors of the country's Most Liveable City, The Mansion is a premiere Pennsylvania Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mansion at Maple Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion At Maple Heights Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing