We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold, Weird, Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mansion at Maple Heights
Ranked #6 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We've stayed at lots of B&B's all over the world, and choose this place based on review. The place is really designed for weddings not overnight guests. I agree with another reviewer - it has a "Shining" vibe. Empty house, not much furniture. I guess the highlight was breakfast because the chef had so much personality. Eh. The owner should spend the night and get a real feel for this place. Lots of personal touches missing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busytravelerPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed a night at the Mansion on our way home from Florida,because of the glowing reviews. We were very excited to be going there and it was out of our way,but as we love old Inns and Manors we thought it was worth the effort,but we wer sadly disappointed. We arrived and had a nice welcome from Scott he helped us to our room and gave us a quick history of the Mansion. He was helpful with dinner plans and directions.
We found the mansion stark and cold,there was not a stick of furniture anywhere, the dining room was set up with options for weddings and the breakfast room,where we were told we would have breakfast in the morning had round party tables with folding white chairs and candy pink table cloths.
Our room on the second floor was fine. It had a beautiful fire place and a comfortable bed, but no comfy chairs, we had two upright arm chairs. A small sofa or a more relaxing chair would have made such a difference,as there were no others in the entire house as far as I could see. There was a nice flat screen TV in the room but to enjoy you would need to be in bed.
I felt I was in "The Shining" we never saw any other guests.
We went down in the morning for breakfast and couldn't find anyone, no smell of food cooking, but the tables were set(candy pink cloths)my husband knocked on the door to the kitchen and a nice young fellow came out and asked our wishes for breakfast. Pancakes with bacon which were good and he was very nice.

I feel that the Mansion could have been so much more, if only the more attention was paid. It needs to have some furniture and a warmer atmosphere. No signs of life anywhere, dismal, it was very unformfortable, it left us cold....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melissaC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed just one night here while visiting child at college. Price was reasonable for the city, but we were underwhelmed by the property. Our room, while spacious, was very sparse. The private bath dingy (hole in wall, mildew in tub, no where to place toiletries). The walk-in closet was great, containing plenty of hanging space, an ironing board and hair-dryer, it was far larger than the bathroom.
Breakfast was plentiful, "James" will make you anything you desire. The food was about what I could make at home without trying very hard. Good and filling, but nothing unusual.
We were a bit surprised by the stay really, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tntcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Traveled to Pittsburgh to join our daughter and her boyfriend for a 'blast from the past" concert at the Carnegie by The Psychedelic Furs. The Mansion at Maple Heights was a journey into a by-gone era also. What a wonderful opportunity to experience the opulence of one of Pittsburgh's historic titans. The property sits on a hill behind behind some condominium complexes overlooking the Oakland area. The staff is friendly and accommodating and the estate retains it's architectual integretity and is secure and clean. The furnishings are simple but this makes it easier to put the personal touch on the facility if you are hosting an event such as a wedding for which it seems to be a popular choice. Our room was very cozy and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and again the staff did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. This will be our bed of choice on future visits to Pittsburgh! Thanks again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at the mansion with a group of girlfriends - we had the entire place to ourselves and it was heavenly. The mansion is architecturally beautiful. The service was excellent. Shawn & Scott were at our service on a moments notice with anything we requested or needed. Shawn greeted us at the door and made sure we did not have to lift a finger to get settled - carrying our bags, emptying our cars out, etc. He gave us a detailed tour of the mansion and got us all settled in. The rooms were well suited for our needs. There was plenty of room in the mansion for all of us to hang out, catch up and enjoy some wine - including the spacious library, the theater room (with the incredible comfortable theater seating), and the beautiful patio which overlooked Shadyside. At our request, Shawn was able to arrange for some spa services (mani/pedi) at the mansion and was incredibly accommodating when there was a glitch in the arrival time of the nail technicians. The night/weekend innkeeper, Scott, was also very accommodating and friendly. They were both "at our service," while still allowing us our space and privacy.
James, the chef, was also willing to be at our service each morning. We were able to choose the time we wanted breakfast (since we were the only guests in the house) and he put together a delicious stuffed french toast for us on Saturday morning. While breakfast was delicious and James made some special order items on Sunday morning for one of our guests, we were all hoping for a nice bowl of fresh fruit as well. However, I do believe that had we asked for it the night before that they would have been more than happy to put that together for us in the morning.
Even the housekeeping crew was pleasant and friendly.
The area (Shadyside) was a perfect fit for a girls weekend. Several of us got up early on Saturday to enjoy a run through the neighborhood. We enjoyed a DELICIOUS dinner at Casbah and enjoyed checking out other places along Highland Avenue. We spent the better part of Saturday shopping on Walnut Street and getting some munchies there. Adorable little neighborhood...and such a fit for the ladies.
I would highly recommend the mansion - especially for a group that can take up the entire house (there were 12 of us and it was comfortable). We loved it.
The mansion has more potential in terms of decorating and interior "curb appeal," but what it lacks in those areas it more than makes up for in service and location. Stocking the rooms with some extra cozy blankets might be a good idea - many of us said we'd stay up all night and sleep in those theater room reclining seats if we had a blanket...they were so comfy.
Thanks Shawn, Scott, and James...for providing us with such a carefree relaxing weekend!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great! For couples, I'd recommend the master suite - huge jacuzzi tub, hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I had to come into Pittsburgh for an interview and Shawn (the overseer) was accomodating, charming, friendly, and flexible. He let me check in early, he gave me a tour, shared the history of the property with me, and made sure I had everything that I needed. Chukky Okobi's home is absolutely GORGEOUS - you can tell that he and his staff have put a lot of blood, sweat, and tears into the house and the grounds. I was put up in the King room (#2) and just the sheer size of the bed is enough to make you fall in love. There's a huge walk in closet, a cute 1930s bathroom, and a giant bedroom at your leisure. It was quiet at night, and I had the fabulous privilege of meeting Scott who oversees the property at night (he's very good company). The breakfast was TO DIE FOR, I ordered the fancy french toast and my eggs were perfect. It's the perfect spot for a wedding, a weekend away, or just to relax. The house is very old, so treat it the way you would a precious antique - with love and care. I seriously cannot wait to come back here! I really like the staff and how safe it is.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The mansion is very interesting, lots of character. This place could be top notch with the right care from the owner- who does not live there. We had prime service from Scott and the other employees, they go out of their way to please you. Most of the trouble areas are issues that an owner would need to address. For instance many of the window treatments need to be replaced or updated. The whole mansion needs some "fluffing" It is almost stark inside, was somewhat cold, a bit bleak. No offense to anyone in charge of decorating, but this place needs some serious help in the main living areas- the bedrooms were pretty nice- our bath was as big as some apartments. For what we paid per night we could have stayed at a very swanky hotel, so that is why I only rate this average. At this price point this place should be way more polished.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauliepalmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#44 of 72 in Pittsburgh
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion at Maple Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion at Maple Heights

Address: 5516 Maple Heights Ct, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £120 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansion at Maple Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You need to look no further than The Mansion at Maple Heights for a softly sophisticated and alluring getaway in the middle of Pittsburgh, walking distance to the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University.The Mansion has five fully renovated bedroom suites with all the amenities you require. Perfect for business travelers and visitors of the country's Most Liveable City, The Mansion is a premiere Pennsylvania Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mansion at Maple Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion At Maple Heights Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing