We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mansion at Maple Heights
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
80
26
15
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
26
15
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastb bexecutive suitemade to order breakfastwalk in closetextensive tourfresh baked cookieswonderful hospitalitycommon areas areour entire staychain hotelspent two nightsgreat weekendthe entire staffwe've stayedseanberger
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This mansion is a reminder of Pittsburgh's salad days. It's a lovely old building in a quiet setting, and a short walk or drive to many of the city's key attractions. The young staff are enthusiastic, friendly and eager to help. The chef works solo, so your breakfast is made to order, but if the dining room is full, your patience will be needed. One gets the sense that weddings pay the upkeep of the property, and that the inn function is of economic necessity, secondary. For example the large room we had was sparsely furnished - so if your taste runs to quaint ornate luxury, you might be disappointed. But if you want a comfortable bed and a decent breakfast at a good price, I would recommend the Mansion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This bed and breakfast is owned or run by management with no idea of hospitality. The negative reviews appearing here all reflect our own experience. Open the handsome front door and you will find a large empty entry way with barren public rooms except for the library where you are checked in and given a list of instructions by a young guy with a baseball hat whose appearance suggests a bar in Brooklyn, not a historic B & B. Our room was spacious with a comfortable king size bed but very little other furniture - no desk, no comfortable arm chair. The bathroom had very noisy, clunking plumbing and towels smaller than a high school gym. I've never seen such a tiny bar of paper wrapped soap. Everything seems to have been done to minimize cost.

When we returned from dinner we entered through the side door; it seemed like we were breaking and entering an empty house. There appeared to be no staff present - just us in the empty house. That explained why we were given a phone number in case we needed to speak to someone.

We were informed that breakfast would be served from 8 to 10. We came down at 8:20 to the spacious room with a few tables set up. There was a grumpy guy sitting at one table who didn't acknowledge our hello and was glued to his computer screen - this may be the owner. There was no coffee, juice, or fruit laid out so we yelled into the kitchen and the chef appeared to have just arrived. It took him about 10 minutes to get a pot of coffee and juice and then he took our order. Half an hour later our order came out - an inedible omelette that looked premade with cheez whiz inside and scrambled eggs with a food service slice of some kind of potato. There was a bowl of super market grape jelly, probably from the previous day, for the toast.

When we left the extensive rules and directions didn't provide any information about how it would be possible to leave the gate clicker behind and get out of the car park. We called the number on the directions and no one ever called back. The chief opened the gate and I assume gave back our keys to who ever it is that runs this place.

The owner needs to visit other B&B's to understand hospitality and stay in at the mansion himself. No one else should.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank critic735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed a single night in mid July for a college visit to Carnegie Melon. The staff were very friendly and helpful suggesting places for dinner and things to do the next day. Our cooked to order breakfast was awesome. We were otherwise left alone in this big old house which had lots of books and and a few games in the library. We would stay again. Note the entrance is a little tricky to find it looks like a any alley going between two apartment complexes but is actually a street. The mansion is nestled up in a neighborhood and was very quiet for sleeping in their comfy beds.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We are leaving this morning from the Mansion, and I am leave with a sigh of knowing that the rest of the trip won't be this way. From the young lady, Amanda, an innkeeper who met us at the door to the breakfast chef James, to the General Manager Shawn, to Scott who takes care of lots of things, we have been treated well, like we were family, but in a good way. For this area of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, this location is excellent in being able to be anywhere quickly. The house was built in 1904 and was restored well without sacrificing the modern amenities. The process has been well thought out. This is primarily a wedding destination, but that does not in the least take away from the experience of using it for lodging. When we return to Pittsburgh, this is where we will try to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

When we booked a room for two nights .Thank goodness I did not do it for three. We had email few days later stating that road work was to beoneof the nights and basically you had to be back by 9pm because road. Was going to be closed.This would mean if you stayed out later you would have to park who know where .They were not at all willing to give back the money for the booked room.Unfortune we stayed a different night so was not charged for changing days. Breakfast took over an hour to first be acknowledged and then breakfast served.You can certainly tell that this place is just about the money.No one there cares about the idea of B&B. Please look for some where else,stay away from here.

Room Tip: Third floor no working fan Room was. Hot even after asking to get it cooler. You have no control. Was told that fan would be fixed next night. Or new room. After insisting did get another room on second floor with no fan. Can not say it enough stay away!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary13101563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews