We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mansion at Maple Heights
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
81
26
15
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
26
15
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastb bexecutive suitemade to order breakfastwalk in closetextensive tourfresh baked cookieswonderful hospitalitycommon areas areour entire staychain hotelspent two nightsgreat weekendthe entire staffwe've stayedseanberger
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We were guests at the Mansion at Maple Heights in October 2012 and had a great time. They have a wonderful, enthusiastic, and very helpful staff. Even though the owner is not on-site, it's easy to see that the staff has been carefully selected. We have stayed at many B&Bs over the years and we always enjoy interacting with staff and other visitors, but these people were exceptional. We pounded them with questions about trails and museums and they took the time and effort to ensure we got complete and accurate information.
- Location: Perfect, best location in Pittsburgh
- Mansion: Beautiful and historic (inside and out: i.e. chandeliers, original wood)
- Furnishings: Sparse (seems to be mainly used for weddings: folding chairs/tables)
- Facilities: No gym or pool, no fine dining, but we were not there for those things
- Staff: Wonderful, helpful, friendly

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheClacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We spent two nights at this stunning mansion. We were greeted by Mandy, one of the Innkeepers, and treated to an extensive tour of the mansion and given the history of each room. We stayed in room 2 which was spacious with a king bed and a fireplace and huge windows looking out to the trees just beginning to turn color. James made us breakfasts to order and even served our favorite Peet's French Roast coffee. The second morning James delivered a pot of coffee to our door at exactly the requested time. We stayed in Bed and Breakfast Inns from Arizona to our destination of Vermont and this mansion was by far the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marty117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Everything you wish for in a Bed and Breakfast place. Low prices and high service. You breakfast made the way you like it.. Coffee at your door when you want it.. Friendly staff and great place. I wish I could find more like this.
Try it and you will really like it.. Best value and service.

Room Tip: Staff made you feel like family. Could not have been better.. Had the whole mansion to use. Security is great as well as privacy. King Bed was great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is not your typical B&B. It's main business is as a wedding destination - usually on weekends, and the bed and breakfast is secondary. For some guests this is an advantage. While the home is historic, the bedrooms are airy and modern, with large flat-screen tv's broadcasting all the premium channels, and good wifi. There is a shared kitchen for guests, with coffee pot, microwave and fridge. The staff is friendly, but busy keeping house and gardens groomed and preparing for upcoming events. This means you have a great deal of privacy. Yes, the hill is steep if you are on foot, but not a problem for cars. The public rooms are large and bright. The chef will make you whatever you want for breakfast, and it will be delicious! It's a reasonably priced and comfortable alternative to the downtown hotels. A real find.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Pay attention to the negative reviews of this B&B which appears to accommodate guests as an afterthought to renting the place out for weddings. The location off a steep, narrow, dark road, is not handy for walking around the neighborhood, but it is very private. There is no 24/7 inn keeper. We were checked in by a downtown looking young man with a baseball hat who gave us the list of "instructions" including the phone number to reach him in case there was a problem. When we returned from dinner the mansion was quiet, dark and empty. It felt like we were breaking and entering an unoccupied house.
The room itself was spacious and elegant; however, like the rest of the place, it needed more furniture. The towels were small (my husband commented that they were smaller than a high school gym) and matched the scale of the tiny, wrapped bar of soap. The plumbing rattled like a crashing plane.
Breakfast is served between 8 and 10 but when we entered the room at 8:20 there was nothing out - no juice, no coffee. Just a grumpy guest, or maybe the owner, who declined to acknowledge our cheery "good morning." We went into the kitchen and yelled. A young man in a chefs outfit said he would get to us. Ten minutes later coffee and juice appeared and then he took out order. Half an hour later the food arrived. The hash browns were a fried slice from a food service loaf, the cool cheese omelette was made with something other than real eggs and inside was cheez whiz. Inedible.
When leaving we had no idea how to check out or use the clicker to open the gate and return the keys to the hotel. We left a message on the number included on the instruction sheet and NEVER got a return call. The so-called chef clicked us out. We would never go back.

The basic problem with this place is the lack of an on site innkeeper, especially important if you have a barren mansion. You have the sense that the place is run on a shoe string by an owner who has never stayed in a European hotel or a homey American bed and breakfast. Guests should not feel resented, they should feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank critic735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews