We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mansion at Maple Heights
Ranked #7 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Everything about our stay at the Mansion was wonderful. The employees are incredibly friendly and helpful, the historic mansion itself is gorgeous, and the made to order breakfast was top notch. Totally agreed with all the other rave reviews here. It feels like a beautiful getaway tucked away in the city, and we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelleyellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MansionMapleHeights, Manager at The Mansion at Maple Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! And thank you for the wonderful review… Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you visiting us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for The Mansion at Maple Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Each time we return to the "Burgh" we spend a least a couple of nights (usually more) at this bed and breakfast. The beds are comfy, the breakfast is always good, and Chuck, Sean, and James are very easy going.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MansionMapleHeights, Owner at The Mansion at Maple Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Charla, it is always a pleasure when you guys stay with us. Its customers like you that make this business fun for us…. Glad we can be your home away from him and we look forward to your next stay!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here for two nights!! The service was great and my room was so beautiful !! I love the location it was peaceful and private. Can't wait to stay again ! I had chuckys pancakes which were great . There seemed to be a steady stream of clients but we always had our privacy . My favorite part of the stay - the jacuzzi !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soulrequirements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MansionMapleHeights, Owner at The Mansion at Maple Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

If you like the pancakes, wait til you try the French Toast :) Thanks for choosing to stay with us, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for two nights. Truly amazing service, as in Mandarin without the sticker shock price.

Clearly this is a wedding venue, but as a business traveler,why stay at a Wyndham when you could have a much better experience.

I stayed in October'13 and would say it has improved greatly.

If you need the traditional lodging, the Wyndham awaits.But if you want a unique albeit funky experience with amazing service, give it a chance.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MansionMapleHeights, Owner at The Mansion at Maple Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Steve, Thanks for giving us a second chance. We are always striving to improve the quality of our service and product, thanks for letting us know that we are on the right track! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Got married on memorial day weekend. I called and booked a one night stay in the executive king suite a week prior to the wedding. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a man named James who was so nice and thorough when showing us our room. The king suite is huge and was so clean. This room was seriously the lap of luxury for my wife and I. She was so impressed when we walked in (I hadn't told her where I was taking her the day after our wedding). I had specified that it was our mini-honeymoon to James and he provided a wonderful experience later in the evening. When we came back to our room after dinner downtown, pink roses, flower arrangements, pedals, and candles were everywhere! Again, my new wife was astonished. Woke up the next morning and went downstairs for breakfast. It was also very good and made to order. The chef was very considerate and pleasant to talk to. We checked out and the manager (Shaun I believe) walked us out and was so hospitable. He gave us tips on where to go for lunch and was really happy for us as a new wedded couple. I picked this place on a whim and by the pictures on the website. I'm SO glad I did. The price was reasonable considering the giant suite. This establishment is a gem tucked into the hills of Shadyside and we will definitely be going back. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing, quiet, romantic time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 90satnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MansionMapleHeights, Owner at The Mansion at Maple Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

So Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you and your wife many years of happiness and hopefully you will come see us again for your anniversary ;-)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our stay was OK, but it just didn’t seem like most B&Bs we’ve stayed in. When we arrived at the Mansion, it was a little spooky as there was no one around and the building seemed to be devoid of furniture or furnishings. Lots of open space, and very little on the walls. Sort of sterile. However, we found the manager on duty and he set us up in Room #2, with a King-sized bed, which was clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a few problems: the inside door handle is stripped, trapping me in the room until my wife opened it from the outside; the robe hook was loose; and there were holes and different colored paint where fixtures had been changed. Also, the pipes banged loudly when turned off and on, which would have woken other guests had there been any. Another reviewer commented on the Theater Room, but were never shown it nor did we ever find it. We asked the manager for suggestions on local restaurants and he gave us direction to the Walnut Street business area, but told us he had never eaten in the area. A guidebook to local restaurants and shops was available at every location in the business area, and it would have been great to have a copy available in our room. We asked for an 8:00 breakfast assuming that like most B&Bs it was a set meal, but it turned out to be made-to-order. The omelets were tasty, but the toast had no butter – I guess we should have thought to ask for some in advance. We also had to ask for sweetener for the coffee as none was available on the sidebar. We ate by ourselves as there was no one else around – usually in a B&B the owners will talk to us during breakfast but the Mansion appears to be run by employees, not owners. It was also a bit messy at the entrance area, and the garage door was partially open exposing gas cans and junk both upon arrival and when we left the next day. I think the Mansion would be better described as an Inn, not a Bed & Breakfast. Overall, our stay was pleasant, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatP905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MansionMapleHeights, Owner at The Mansion at Maple Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are constantly working to improve the quality of our service and product. We take your concerns very seriously and will take them into consideration as we continue to try to improve the experience for our guests. Thank You for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I definitely expected more. Had the 1-King bedroom (room #2).
Problems: the room is not very clean, and not very well decorated (it feels empty and sad). It needs a small electric heater to stay warm. Really, some plants would not hurt.
If you are a solo traveller: there are only 5 rooms, and in low season you are literally there alone - creepy and not fun.
Wi-fi was a mess. While the innkeepers did their best to help, it kept having problems.

I'd give one star (the owners and the management deserve 0) except that the young guys working there were really nice. Thumbs up for them.

Room Tip: Either you are many and book the whole place, or rather go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MansionMapleHeights, Owner at The Mansion at Maple Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy you stay as much as most of our other clients that have left reviews on Tripadvisor. Clearly the night that you stayed is the exception to the normal experience and we apologize for that. We will take your suggestions into consideration as we continue to for to improve our quality of service. Thank you for choosing the Mansion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#44 of 71 in Pittsburgh
51 reviews
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion at Maple Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion at Maple Heights

Address: 5516 Maple Heights Ct, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £135 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansion at Maple Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You need to look no further than The Mansion at Maple Heights for a softly sophisticated and alluring getaway in the middle of Pittsburgh, walking distance to the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University.The Mansion has five fully renovated bedroom suites with all the amenities you require. Perfect for business travelers and visitors of the country's Most Liveable City, The Mansion is a premiere Pennsylvania Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mansion at Maple Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion At Maple Heights Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing