We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel for three nights during our 2 week Pennsylvania road trip. It was, by far, one of the best hotels we experienced. We ended up needing our room one day before our reservation was scheduled to start. We called that morning, were greeted promptly and warmly, and assured that we could have the room for the extra night. Imagine our surprise when we drove up, and the room was available before noon! The front desk staff remembered our call and were very helpful!

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We were lucky enough to get a view of PNC Park right across the street. It was fun to watch people heading to the game and surprisingly quiet - even during the game! This is a great place to stay if you're in town for the Pirates.

The hotel has a complimentary shuttle that goes in a three mile radius. We were able to see many of the area attractions without moving our car. The shuttle drivers were very knowledgeable about the area and made excellent meal recommendations. They would give you a card and tell you to call when you were ready for pick up. We never waited more than 10 minutes after we called for the shuttle!

The morning breakfast was adequate for our needs. There were times when it was not always restocked promptly. It seemed that there was not a dedicated staff member in the area at the time. The same is true of the afternoon manager's reception. Again, it was not an issue for us.

Overall, this was an excellent, well-run property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkaterMom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

Visited for a Rutgers game in Heinz Stadium. This is a newer property -- clean, comfortable, good parking and close to the stadiums. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JannyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We attended convention and stayed at this RI across from the street from the baseball stadium. It is an easy walk along the water, or you could walk along the streets, to a bridge that puts you near the convention center so it is a good location. There are a few dining options around the hotel. The hotel was clean and appeared new.. Self parking in a gated lot behind the hotel was easy and convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYTravelerOlney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Spent the weekend in Pittsburgh with my husband and 2 young children. Overall, we were impressed with the hotel. We had a room on the 8th floor, facing PNC Park and the river. We were shocked at how quiet the room was. Usually when staying downtown, we can hear some street traffic or other hotel guests in the hall. I can honestly say I didn't hear one door slam or hallway conversation during our two nights at this hotel.

The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. No issues.

We took a look at the pool and chose not to go for a swim. The "fun factor" wasn't there. It was just a small lap pool and not at all enticing for my kids to splash around in.

If I could offer one suggestion to the management it would be to improve the customer service in the breakfast area. The food and selection were both excellent, as long as you got there early. If you got there in the last hour of breakfast, things were picked over and the servers were unwilling to put out more food. Let me explain...

On the weekend, breakfast is served from 7am to 10am. On Saturday morning, we arrived in the breakfast area around 8:30. The food was plentiful. Cheese omelets, potatoes, sausage, make your own waffles, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, bagels, muffins, danish, etc. In all fairness, it was more than I expected for a "complimentary" breakfast. However, on Sunday, we arrived in the breakfast area around 9:15 (that is, 45 minutes before the end of breakfast). There was virtually nothing left. No fruit. No eggs. No yogurt. No milk. The choices we had were dry cereal, oatmeal or a plain bagel. It wasn't that they ran out of food, it was that breakfast was over in 45 minutes, so the servers said they weren't putting more food out. Hmmm...no milk for my kids' cereal??

All-in-all, it's a fine hotel...just make sure you get to breakfast early!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed there last weekend for a get-away with the kids and to see the U2 show. We ended up on the 10th, top, floor in the 2BR.

The service here is amazing. We had 2 "haunted house" sounding bedroom doors and when we got back to the room after being out for the day the doors were silent and we had a nice note. The shuttle service is priceless. The take you where you want to go and pick you up. For our 3 little boys, that was the best thing.

SOHO for room service was fast and easy, although not high quality at all. Also, the pool was kinda cool, but it is a lap pool and meant to be cooler, the kids loved it.

We had a issue with check-in and they comped our parking. I mean this place really takes care of you. Also, their b-fast is great and changes slightly day to day.

Another nice thing they did was when we had a baby-sitter come for our boys, they had a card made up for them ahead of time and let them park for free.

The BEST thing is the little social dinners at 6pm on Mon-Wed. We only did Monday but man it was the best meal we ate. The meatloaf was unreal. We used points and a free night certificate so the price was "free" to us, but man even if you are paying there is HIGH value here.

It was neat to see all the worker bees meet and have a few drinks at the social dinner.

This place simply gets it. I don't think you can get a better place in Pittsburgh than this. My wife and kids also both loved it. They liked how fast the 3 elevators were.

The only things of slight note is the SLIGHT traffic noise and the bed was kinda firm but still fine. While it didn't bother me, you could hear it being so close to the bridges. We were at the corner of the building facing both west and south, great room, so maybe that was why kinda loud but no one but me in our group noticed. 9.9 on a 10 scale.

You don't need to look anywhere else. We loved this place. Great service, location and quality.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tdfxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We like to stay in the north shore when we visit Pittsburgh because it is kind of in the middle between the folks we visit in the north hills and south hills. We changed things up and stayed at the residence inn and loved it. It has all the niceties of a newer residence inn hotel. We highly recommend this place if you and plan to stay there for our future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank luckybuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

New property, excellent location, well run. Pretty much as good as it gets for travelers.

Walked out the front door, across the street, and right into the gate at PNC Park for a Pirates game. There was a rain delay the night of our game, but because we were right across the street, no worries! We just watched on TV in our room until we heard that the game would start, and walked across the street.

Very good breakfast selection, lots of seating. A light meal is offered in the late afternoon weeknights except Friday. The in-hotel general store is reasonably priced. Good fitness center and workout pool.

Parking fee of $18 per night is high, but during a game night it is a bargain. Football stadium, casino, science center and Andy Warhol museum within easy walking distance. Excellent place for jogging with a beautiful riverfront trail and bridge access to Point Park downtown.

Those unfamiliar to the area should be aware that there is gang activity to the north of the hotel's location, in the Allegheny Center area. The immediate vicinity of the hotel is secure and the hotel offers a shuttle within a three-mile radius, which takes in downtown Pittsburgh and its many attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £108 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing