We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I enjoyed the facilities here. A nicer residence inn with a lot of nice little touches. The theater/billiards room was surprising to see and pretty refreshing for someone who spends a ton of time in hotels. The breakfast spread was very good, I was impressed by the variety of items. I would certainly return to this hotel if I need a place to stay in Pittsburh again.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank AnimalJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just stayed at Residence Inn for the 2nd time and enjoyed it as much as the first time. The rooms are more like apartments than hotel rooms, with full size refrigerators, a sofa and a small kitchen. The large flat screen tv was great, and it swiveled so you could have it face either the sofa or the bed. The bed was so comfortable and the shower was good. Hotel also has a pool and fitness center though we didn't use them. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast in the morning was good if not amazing. Parking is a little pricey at $18, though you do get in and out privileges. With the new T extension at the North Shore, you can get anywhere downtown for free so won't need the car unless you need to leave downtown. As a native Pittsburgher I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but especially if you're coming in for a Pirates, Steelers or Penguins game!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We drive to Pittsburgh often for a long weekend. There is so much to do in the North Shore area. You are right on the River and beside the Heintz baseball stadium. This hotel is a well kept secret. The rooms are beautiful and have a kitchen, desk and separate table. The staff is wonderful and the free morning breakfast is great. Nice place to go. They also have a shuttle to take you anywhere you want to go in the downtown area. I will return again.

Room Tip: I like always to get a high floor on the end for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed here 3 nights in mid march and I enjoyed the stay. Hotel is only about a year or two old. The rooms are really spacious and clean with a king bed, couch, tv, breakfast area, and kitchen with everything you need.

Location wise, you're literally next to the PNC park. Strip district and downtown is less than 10 mins away.

I would stay here again easily. The only con was the parking. $18 for overnight parking. :-(

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Traveled to Pittsburgh with my son for a get away trip to see the city and some Penguins' hockey. Hotel was in a great location although a bit on the quiet side if no sporting events are taking place. Walking to downtown was an easy 10 minute thing across the Roberto Clemente bridge which was safe and walker friendly. Room was nice with your standard RI kitchen+living room+bedroom area+bathroom. All amenities, great bed, spacious area in general.
The highlight was really the shuttle service which was at our disposition pretty much. I imagine when the hotel is packed things are different. But with us, they took us downtown when we needed (had to wait maybe 5 minutes once) and they pick you up fairly rapidly. Again, waited maybe 10 min tops at the Strip. Friendly staff, eager to help you out. One drawback: Internet service on the public computers in the lobby was a bit slow but hey, it was free and available!
The bfast buffet is basic but you walk out of there fed and ready to go so can't beat that. most of the restaurants around were closed. Had dinner at Atria's (4 min walk just under the baseball stadium) and that was quite nice. Brunch at Meatballs (10 min walk in downtown) was awesome.
The rate seemed a little on the high side despite the AAA discount and feeling like it was "out of season", but frankly, it was great and we enjoyed our stay very much. Recommend this hotel to families, couples, business travelers, anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The one bedroom units are great. Numerous restaurants in the area. Located between hienz Field and PNC Park.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our room was spacious with a great view of PNC park and clean, clean clean. Great help from the front desk folks and the shuttle driver (so sorry I can't remember the name) was as nice as could be. That's exactly what I'm used to when I come to home to Pittsuburgh. We would have preferred a two room suite, but because I booked late, we were happy with the studio. It still had a separate seating area and full kitchen. Definitely coming back in August for a Pirate game and we'll be partying in a couple of suites. The only negative was handled with impeccable professionalism by the staff. A group of very young and not very supervised youngsters were running the hotel and using foul language. Kudos to the front desk and security folks who nipped it in the bud.

Room Tip: Definitely go fo the two room suite. For a few dollars more, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £88 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing