We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in the north shore area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good choice in the north shore area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Welcoming front desk personnel, modern facility, good overall value
The fitness center is well equipped. The pool is a joke (6' wide, 20' long).

They offer a nice Manager's reception each weeknight with drinks (beer & wine) along with a different basic comfort food (burgers, tacos, etc.) each night. The menu is posted on the fridge in each room.
Clean, good condition and could not be closer to PNC Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maine-ahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    135
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
201
130
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great experience. I was travelling with my parents as well as sister, brother in law and 4 kids under the age of 8. I'm always anxious checking in to a hotel with my mother, she's a bit of a germaphobe and can spot a piece of dust from 20 feet away. This is the first trip in many years that the hotel actually got her approval. She is not a fan of animals in hotels but the place was so clean that even she couldn't take issue.

You could see the cleaning crews out at different times of the day, cleaning windows, the elevators, everything! It was quite impressive. Please keep this up. The next time we come back to Pittsburgh we will for sure be staying at your hotel and we won't have to be stressed out upon check in!

The staff was excellent and you do have a true gem with Tara, she was super sweet with my neices and nephews.

Breakfast was great too, nice daily variety.

We will be back. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thanks so much for noticing our attention to detail. Our staff takes pride in our property and we always strive to keep it sparkling. I'm happy we could pass "the test" :) I hope to see you and your family again! Best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

There is nothing negative to say about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore. WE LOVED everything about our stay.

Perfect location!!!

Friendly & helpful staff.

Extremely clean room and bathroom and we had an amazing view of downtown.

By far the BEST breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. The crew who ran the breakfast was on top of keeping everything stocked and you could tell they really cared about the presentation and quality of the food. I was really impressed with it and looked forward to eating breakfast the rest of our stay there.

We visit Pittsburgh once a year and this is our new go to place to stay. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clove78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thanks for the kudos!!! I always love hearing that guests will return! I know it's been some time since your review but I wanted to let you know that we're actually listening!! It's been busy around these parts with the Steelers games. Please feel free to reach out to me for help booking your stay next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed only 1 night and has the best experience. From the minute we arrived, the staff was extremely friendly and the hotel was so clean and modern. The rooms are huge and very clean. They give you plenty of pillows, which I love, and the bed is so comfortable. They have a shuttle that takes you where you need to go (within reasonable distance of course) and you just have to sign up at the front desk. The complimentary breakfast was really good, too! I'm can't lie... Every single thing from start to finish was perfect. If you need to stay anywhere in Pittsburgh, stay here!! Even for 1 night... This hotel will exceed your expectations!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsT813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing!! I'm happy that you chose our hotel for your visit to Pittsburgh and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to review us and I hope you'll stay again when you visit next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

tom linda and bradshaw love staying at this awsum hotel. staff management, housekeeping, front desk, kitchen staff all excellent. no complaints at all. I am a germ freak, always use sani wipes as soon as I enter hotel room. Use wipes on everything and never have had one spec of dirt on the wipe. Gives us a great feeling. Would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent. love two bedroom suite. super super room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for posting! We love our return guests! We hope to continue to see you whenever you visit the city! Maybe a Pens game soon?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
500 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We live in Pittsburgh and used a free night certificate for a Saturday night (Marriott Platnium). It was the night before a baseball playoff game (Let's go Bucs!) and we thought it would be fun to go down, see the big yellow duck with our son, and tailgate the next day before the game. The hotel is across the street from PNC Park and a 5 minute walk to Heinz Field. When we walked in the door, we were instantly greeted by Tara B. She was so kind and friendly to our son and gave him a yellow rubber duck - she talked to him for such a long time and really made him and us feel special. The room is the usual nicely laid out suite with a bedroom, kitchen, living room area. The lobby / breakfast room is super, breakfast was very good, plenty of food, places to sit, etc....There is also a room with a pool table and large TV with chairs, perfect for kiddos. Nice outside area with a firepit and grill. The swimming pool is small but works and was very much enjoyed. We had a wonderful "staycation" for one day. Parking is a breeze and they let us stay parked for tailgating. Again, Tara B. was super as was another young lady, Tracy, at the front desk. Everyone at the hotel front desk was great. The free shuttle also came to get us at the Renaissance when we were caught in a thunderstorm walking back from seeing the duck. You can't go wrong staying here, Pittsburgh is not a big city and you can explore easily using this place as a base. I highly recommend. Thank you for making us feel special :) we can't wait to return........

Room Tip: Even the room close to the highway was soundproof - you don't hear any traffic - very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loribob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review!! Tracey and Tarrah are definitely two of the gems at our property. Tarrah is our Assistant General Manager and her personality and work ethics flow down to all of the staff. Our team does its best to make every guest's stay unique and memorable. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Please feel free to reach out for any help with reservations whether using your rewards or booking a "paid" stay. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at this great property. What a pleasant surprise. The room was like a small apartment. Very very clean. We wanted to go to the Andy Warhol museum which was only 2 short blocks so we were able to walk there.
The hotel offered a nice breakfast and in the late afternoon a Chili bar. We were able to have chili and salad with dessert at no charge. I would love to come back and stay in this hotel to see Pittsburgh in depth.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 4905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thanks for reviewing us and thanks for being a loyal Marriott guest. I saw you mentioned that you were able to cash in on some of your rewards for the stay! I appreciate you pointing out the better qualities we have and I'm glad that your room and the property itself was comfortable for you. Please keep us in mind whenever you visit Pittsburgh! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing