We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not glitzy but functional.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Jamestown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not glitzy but functional.”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have stayed here many times. Rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. Good breakfast. Very friendly staff. Business-like atmosphere. Manager receptions on some nights. Parking fee is excessive, but considering the location it has to be expected.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet. Even the rooms on the side of PNC during ball games are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your time and feedback. We appreciate the many times you've stayed and hope to see you many more times in the future. Have a great holiday season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    143
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
206
140
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Residence Inn is very close to the baseball and football stadiums. It was a joy being there for the Dolphins-Steelers game as it was only a 10 minute walk in miserably cold, snowy weather. The service is friendly, and the breakfast buffet is extensive with good hot and cold selections. The rooms are not luxurious but are quite nice and large with a useable kitchen. The sofa bed I slept on was comfortable, and I'm very picky when it comes to beds. Jerome Bettis' sports bar and other dining options are quite close, with more available over an easily walkable bridge across the river. Unlike another nearby hotel that friends of ours were staying at, the hotel was very accommodating getting us a 4:00 AM taxi ride to the airport to catch an early flight rather than falsely claiming that you can't reliably get a taxi at that hour and be forced instead into a pricier private limo. We like and appreciate honest hotel staff! This is where we'll stay our next trip to Pittsburgh, ball game or not.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay during the Steelers-Dolphins game! I personally would have enjoyed it more if Antonio Brown could have stayed in bounds at the end! I appreciate your feedback ragarding the staff and property. I'm happy to see you intend to return so please let me help with your future reservations! ri.pitrn.fds@marriott.com or call the hotel directly and ask for me. Best wishes and happy holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel. LOCATION.LOCATION LOCATION !! For the sports fan it can't get any better,The hotel is located across the street to PNC park and less than six blocks from Heinz field. You do not have to worry about finding a place to eat,there are dozens and all within walking distance.

In addition to the ding options the hotel provides an ample breakfast as well as a managers spread served Monday thru Thursday. Also you have a full kitchen which we used during our stay. The hotel will shop for you if you do not have a car. I take advantage of the breakfast spread and take some snacks back to the room. I am planning on returning this summer for a ball game or the fall for a football game

Room Tip: There really are no bad rooms,but I would try to get rooms that do not face the main highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please feel free to reach out to me for help with any reservations! Have a good one!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopatcong, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed 11/29/2013 for the Miami Hurricane/Pitt Panther game. The hotel is a short walk to Heinz field and 50 yards to PNC Park. The room was clean, modern, spacious and affordable. The free breakfast included hot and cold items and was well stocked. The staff was friendly and attentive and we were permitted to check in and park the morning of the game. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the area as well as the Rivers Casino across from the stadium. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if your heading to either venue!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mideb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for reviewing!! Please keep us in mind whenever you visit! Enjoy your Holiday Season!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful long weekend at the Residence Inn North Shore and we would recommend this location without any hesitation. The hotel was very conveniently located - and the hotel offered a superior shuttle service (both drop-off and pick-up). Our longest wait for a ride was maybe 15 minutes. This was so much easier than trying to drive, park, and walk to whatever attraction we wanted to see. And the shuttle drivers were all very helpful with suggestions for dinner as well as other attractions.

Since we weren't planning on spending much time in our room, we booked a regular studio suite and expected a somewhat small room with a few extras. This room was so well planned! We had more than enough space to stretch out on the sofa and/or the chair with ottoman while watching tv. The bed area wasn't cramped at all. And there was plenty of room for two at the bathroom sink while getting dressed in the morning. I guess we could have gone with a full suite, but I can honestly say we probably wouldn't have been any more comfortable. Oh! and the room decor was really cool for this type of a studio suite. It was not decorated in typical hotel style - prints on the wall actually added something to the room ambiance!

About the extras... As a few other reviewers mentioned, the pool is indeed very small. The fitness room, on the other hand, was very well equipped. There is a 'manager's reception' during the week, but we didn't attend any of these so I really can't comment on the quality. Breakfast in the morning was good to above average for this type of hotel. The coffee was great!

Why four out of five instead of five out of five? Most of the desk staff was very personable and none were ever rude, but there is a little work that needs to be done here. For example, we purchased a few items from the little convenience store and asked for the charge to be added to our room. The lady didn't hesitate to add the items but we stood there not realizing she was finished because she never said 'thank you.' Another desk staffer let us know that the items were added on our room charge and the transaction was complete. (But still no thank you.) PLEASE note that this is minor and in no way impacted our stay - but it does make a difference on the overall hotel rating.

All in all, a wonderful stay! We would definitely stay here again and plan on this being our 'go to' hotel for Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suslew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi there, thank you for the detailed review!! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and the feedback regarding our front desk will be brought to everyone's attention. You'll hopefully see in other reviews that we strive to be one of the best guest service teams in Pittsburgh. I sincerely apologize because I understand how something simple really can make a memorable impact on a stay and we'd rather be on the better side of that!! Please feel free to reach out and discuss anything else regarding your stay. Best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I loved every moment of my stay here! The property is in a great location (good proximity to the Pirates Stadium)....just steps from downtown. From the minute I walked through the automatic doors, I felt welcomed and relaxed. Everything is modern and well equipped and decorated. The room was extremely clean and spacious. Loved the décor! After a very long day, that king sized bed felt heavenly:-). The kitchen was well stocked....I felt like I was at home. The fitness center was above par and the pool was great (open until 11pm). As far as free breakfasts at hotels go, the breakfast at this hotel was GREAT!!! By far the best, I've had at a hotel. The selection was big and the food was fresh! I am ready for my next stay! I will most certainly be back the next time I'm in Pittsburgh!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzsallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
I'm happy that we hit the mark in making you feel welcome! We appreciate the feedback and we hope that you'll continue to choose our hotel whenever you stay in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Welcoming front desk personnel, modern facility, good overall value
The fitness center is well equipped. The pool is a joke (6' wide, 20' long).

They offer a nice Manager's reception each weeknight with drinks (beer & wine) along with a different basic comfort food (burgers, tacos, etc.) each night. The menu is posted on the fridge in each room.
Clean, good condition and could not be closer to PNC Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maine-ahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing