We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting baseball fans, this is your stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visiting baseball fans, this is your stop”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Place is a newer property, and the rooms are very nice. Rooms have a bedroom, living space and kitchen. You can drop off a shopping list for the hotel to pick up groceries and deliver them to your room, which is nice. Parking is $19, which is reasonable for the area, and has in/out privileges - is a lot, not a garage. Hotel shuttle also will take you to most downtown area places and will come pick you up, though they were running late a couple times as they were helping out another Marriot branded hotel down the street.

One awesome benefit of the hotel is weekday "social" evenings. Monday evening they had chili with snack, desserts, beer and wine. Tuesday they had a burger bar. Food was actually really good, and got to hang out with fellow baseball fans as this was a popular place to stay. I know most hotels offer continental breakfast, but dinner/drinks too is a great value.

One con is the lack of room service options available. The "main" restaurant was in the other Marriot (Springhill) and coudnt be billed to the room ( I was hoping to use travel points). Also, they have a limited menu after baseball games, which is understandable, but they also are too busy to deliver, so I have to leave to go get food I'm going to go somewhere else.

Won't spend too much time on the amazing location as all other reviews have talked about it, but will just say that we left our hotel room 7 minutes before first pitch and made it to our seats on time, which I'm not sure I could ever say anywhere else in the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MightySlacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    135
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
201
130
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cool, CA
Level Contributor
293 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you are coming into town for a Pirates' game, this place could not be more convenient. You walk across the street to the front gate of PNC Park. At the same time, it is quiet; the hustle and bustle of the ball park is not evident once you enter the building.

The rooms are spacious, studio suites with one open-room floor plan. There is a limited-menu breakfast buffet and a small plate “reception” in the late afternoon. The hotel has the potential to be an excellent place to stay.

Unfortunately, the day front desk staff is by far the least helpful of any hotel where we have stayed in past eight years. They are inexperienced, unsure of their jobs, and seemingly unwilling to help when asked. They seem geared to respond best to no-nonsense business customers who stay frequently, know the hotel’s procedures, and essentially take care of themselves.

When we arrived early for check-in, the front desk clerks were reluctant to allow us to store our bags for two hours while we returned the rental car to the airport. When we mentioned that this was a fairly common practice for hotels, one clerk reluctantly offered to open an unused conference room for us to leave our luggage.

We were there for four nights (three Pirate home games). There seemed to be a pattern of doing the minimum job requirements of check-in and check-out and becoming irritated or confused when asked to do anything beyond that. This is diametrically opposed to what we have experienced with other hotel chains. For example, one member of our party asked a female day clerk to schedule a taxi-van for the following morning. Her response was, “You could do that yourself.” When he requested that she call a local cab company that she trusted from past experience with the hotel, she, with some exasperation in her voice, offered to give him the phone number to call himself. It was only after he asked the third time that she finally agreed to make the call. She never called his room back to confirm that she had made the reservation.

There is no day-time concierge or lead staff member whose goal is to serve the needs of the residents. The day clerks appear to be free to socialize amongst themselves and are not directed to seek ways of assisting residents.

The night crew seemed to be much more helpful and there seemed to be a polite, pleasant manager on duty most of the evening.

The Marriott shuttle driver was wonderful – helpful, attentive, and eager to see that you have the best experience in Pittsburgh possible. He was the only staff member who made us feel welcomed and valued. It is a much appreciated service and they will drive you to many locations within three miles of the hotel. This is a real positive.

So, if location to the sports’ parks is the primary focus of your stay, this is the place. If a pervasive sense of customer service is a deal-breaker for you, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BruinSeniorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, General Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Bruin Senior Traveler, Thank you for your review. Would it be possible for you to contact me at the hotel? I would like to speak to you about staff, who were not helpful. I will be here Saturday May 17, 2014 from 12-8 pm and again on Monday. The hotel number is 412-321-2099.
Thank you very much, Connie Breen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for a baseball game and everything was perfect. Clean, comfortable and convenient. Super friendly staff. What more could you ask for. For those reviewers complaining about the highway noise: it is very loud outside, but I heard nothing from our room. We were on the 8th floor facing the ballpark (opposite side of highway).

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the baseball stadium for better view and less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHinNOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel was great. Clean, great breakfast offerings, quiet. The weekend we were here there was a marathon, a baseball game and a hockey game all going on in town. They were well-organized and prepared for getting people in and out. The room was a suite with separate sitting and sleeping areas. And you could not be closer to PNC field if you're taking in a baseball game. Cross one street and you're there! Would stay here again definitely!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imzpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel for our daughter's graduation from Pitt. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. Check-in was a breeze, informing us about the free shuttle to spots within 3 miles of the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, the room very clean and spacious. We were very pleased with the hotel, the location and the friendly staff. By planning in advance, this would be the place to stay if you are going to a Pirates game- directly across the street!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeylover321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I love Residence Inns. I've stayed at many. It's very reliable. Last night I stayed at a Residence Inn in Pittsburgh across the street from the home of the Pittsburgh Pirates. I was on my way home from a family visit in Indiana and wanted to stop midway through the trip. I made sure there was no Pirates game hoping to get a good nights sleep. And I did. Nevertheless the hotel was packed with highly intoxicated people everywhere. The front desk people were just rude when we arrived. Not what you expect at a Residence Inn. I am sure they were tired of dealing with drunks but I was perfectly sober and polite. I like Residence Inns because they are always clean and comfortable and this one was brand spanking new but you pay for parking. I travel with my dog and Residence Inns allows dogs for an extra 100 bucks but there is no where to walk your dog so if you are traveling with one, this one is not ideal for a dog. Finally the hotel was fully sold out. I am not sure if the 100 percent capacity and all the drunks threw the staff off its game but there was no coffee in the morning at all so if you stay here bring your own coffee and maybe pack your own breakfast especially if the hotel is sold out. Otherwise this hotel is great and clean. And think twice if you have a dog. I will never stay here again

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a lot of nice things. The billiards table down near the lobby is very nice. Pool is small but clean. The rooms are also very big and comfy and make it feel like your at home. All rooms have a nice kitchen and living area. And 2 TVs, which is nice when traveling with several people.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank _A_Traveling_Dude_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing