We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel - great for sports fans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for a Pittsburgh Pirates game on May 2. This was also the same night as a Penguins playoff game, and the Pittsburgh Marathon ... so the city was jumping!!! Beautiful and large suite with a full kitchen. Friendly front desk. View right into the street next to PNC. Literally a few hundred yards from the playing field! Great hot breakfast but they did run out of certain things. Parking right next to the hotel (for hotel prices of course).
Only complaint was not being aware of the marathon, Saturday morning 6 a.m. we were woken up by loud music and announcer as the marathon started right next to the hotel. Not their fault, just annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

if your going to a game this is the place to stay. spacious clean rooms. free hot breakfast. convenient parking next to stadium.theatre room with pool table in the lobby. walkable distance to center city and riverfront. and the best is free shuttle to casino and other points. great value!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank ofdevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Located literally steps from the entrance to the baseball park. A shuttle operates during the day to take you to and bring you back from anywhere within a 3 mile radius (which includes a good number of attractions). The only negative was an understaffed housekeeping crew which required a special call to the desk at 4pm on a Saturday to get the room tended.

Room Tip: Higher floors escape the ballpark noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In town for a game and chose this RI. Certainly no regrets. We had requested early check in when we made the reservation on line. The morning of arrival we called to ask if that looked possible. The gentleman who answered said he could give us a lower floor facing the park and would move us higher if something opened up by the time we got in. When we arrived we were on the 10th floor facing PNC with a view of the city. Very nice
Room itself was very large, modern and clean. The lady at the desk got us ice from the kitchen until our ice maker kicked in. We also got recommendations for food in the area. Everyone we encountered was pleasant and helpful.
We don't normally think much about the comp breakfast and this time we got only a few items to take with us so we could get on the road but the spread looked way better than usual.
Absolutely nothing bad to say about our stay (except the Orioles lost). Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I visited Pittsburgh this past weekend for our 3rd anniversary. We had never been to the city before so I chose to stay in the Residence Inn because I have stayed in several Residence Inn's for business trips and have always had a pleasant experience. The hotel was clean and quiet. The hotel is located directly across from PNC Park. The Pirates were not in town the weekend we stayed but I can see it being a bit noisy when they are in town. We were able to walk to downtown very easily within a few short minutes. We were able to drive to any neighborhood we wanted to within 15 minutes.
The breakfasts were hot and the selection was very good. The breakfasts were very crowded, even when going early, so perhaps a larger area for breakfast would have been better. We did not take advantage of the pool or the exercise room but both looked clean.
The room itself was very spacious with a full kitchen, sitting area and very comfortable bed.
One low point was on Sunday when we went out around 9 am and returned around 4 and our room had not yet been cleaned. Not a huge deal,but one of the best things about staying in a hotel is coming back to a freshly cleaned room.
Parking was very convenient and we could come and go as we pleased. I think the parking rate was reasonable.
Overall, a very nice stay in nice big room with only minor glitches.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

From the second we walked into the lobby, we knew this was going to be a good experience. We were greeted with smiles, a warm welcome, & wished a happy anniversary. Parking for the hotel is in a lot (not a garage) and is $19 a day. This worked out well for us. Our suite was beautiful, clean, & well-appointed. Although you are in the city and beside a freeway and the ballpark, it is very quiet and we slept well. The hotel is literally steps from PNC Park which was a plus since we were attending games. There is a shuttle available to drive you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. They dropped us off at the entrances of the attractions we wanted to see and picked us back up in a very timely manner. The free breakfast was very good with 4 hot items each day in addition to waffles and lots of toppings. All the other basics of breakfast were also available. The evening social on Mon.-Wed. was substantial enough for a light evening meal. The options changed daily. There was beer, wine, sodas, water, and iced tea available to drink.

Prior to our arrival my husband called and requested a flower arrangement to be delivered on the day of our anniversary and there was a most beautiful arrangement waiting in our suite when we got back that afternoon. Later that day, we were given a bottle of Merlot as an anniversary gift. These are the things that make a hotel special in my opinion.

We took time each afternoon to swim laps in the pool. There is also a fitness room. This hotel is pet friendly. Although the hotel was full while we were staying there, we never heard noise from the hallways or above when we were in our room. The design of the lobby and social area allows ample room for everyone to find a seat during breakfast and the manager's reception.

We could find no negative with this hotel and will definitely stay there again when we are back in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamabeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions and have enjoyed both visits. The rooms have a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bath. The room lay-out will vary from separate rooms for the kitchen/living room and bedroom to kitchen/living room/bedroom all in one large room, but tastefully separated. If you want privacy to sleep, ask for the separate bedroom set-up.

The rooms are very clean and the linen/towels are good quality. Bath amenities are Paul Mitchell products. Bathrooms/sink areas are very clean.

The only downfall is if you are on the highway side of the building, it could be too noisy if you're a light sleeper. Ask for a room away from the highway and looking toward the river if possible. The hotel location is great for attending baseball and football games or the Carnegie Science Center. There are many dining options near the hotel. The metro is only a block away and will transport you to downtown Pittsburgh for additional activities. There is a fee for their private parking lot which is added to the hotel bill.

Staff was friendly. On Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday nights they have a "happy hour" with complimentary food and drinks. The free breakfast in the morning included both hot and cold items and was very clean and well stocked.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank FrequentTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £71 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing