We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love trains and slow internet, this is your place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Pros and cons with this property

Pros: Clean, nice spacious rooms, friendly staff and within walking distance of food and shopping.

Cons: The freight train is AWFUL. Runs about every 20 minutes during the night and 10 minutes starting at 6am. The wireless is also awful at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

About 2 years old it seems and in good shape. Floors of elevator were suprisingly dirty. Lobby is spacious. Rooms are clean. Internet slowed way down and was barely usable at night. Biggest issue is the train 20 feet from the hotel. Not a commuter train or subway--this is a full out freight line with long, loud trains that blows horns every time it passes because of the intersection nearby I suppose. It shakes the hotel and the horns woke me up 3 times in the night. If this hotel wasn't directly next to UPMC and I need to be there at 7am the next day, its not worth staying here. Very annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markfrommedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This offers strong value and has distinct plusses and minuses.

Pros: modern design for the 1.5 year old hotel, well-trained staff, adequate work space, roomy junior suite, partial kitchen with microwave, bar sink and small refrigerator, reading lights just like newer Marriotts, light switch next to bed, iHome clock radio, good variety of restaurants within easy walking distance

Cons: free breakfast is modest (Residence Inn and Hampton Inn are better), train noise can both some people but did annoy me or the other three in our traveling party, location is so-so if you have business downtown or at CMU or Pitt

Room Tip: For less train noise, ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oski_Bear_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We recently stayed at the SpringHill Suites for a wedding in Pittsburgh. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The shuttle took us to most of the places we wanted to go. Only once could it not pick us up.
The location is within walking distance to the Southside Works which is a new shopping eating area.
The hotel itself was clean, except the 2 m&m 's I found on the floor in our room.
The breakfast was very good.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: o restaurant on property. Shuttle bus was very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ventnorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed for 3 nights for a girls getaway trip.
Hotel room was clean and spacious, pool and hot tub were nice, staff friendly an accomodating, and hotel shuttle and driver were an added plus!! Would recommend and stay again!!

Room Tip: There is a train track located next to the hotel... we were on the 6th floor and it was not a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fafa5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

If you like trains, this is the perfect location for you!!! While the hotel is adjacent to the Southside Works and some great restaurants, it is also RIGHT NEXT TO BUSY TRAIN TRACKS!!!!! Oh, and the wireless Internet is non-existent. Wired Internet is okay for those with laptops, but as an iPad user, I was completely out of luck. Not too cool.

The lobby and rooms are great, there is plenty of parking, and access to the city is easy.

But the trains...the coal fired, smoke belching locomotives from my nightmares...they will ensure your stay is less than pleasant...

Room Tip: As far away from the train tracks as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RandT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel to drop off our freshman daughter at the University of Pittsburgh.

The hotel is clean, modern, rooms are spacious, breakfast included, walking trail just outside the hotel, walking distance to restaurants, just across the river to the Oakland area, close to downtown.

Only drawback is the freight trains that pass close by the hotel at all hours of the night. Wakes me up everytime. Also $14 for parking has to be figured into the daily cost.

Room Tip: Room facing river, facing front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy_Merch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn University Center
#54 of 72 in Pittsburgh
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Address: 2950 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2393
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £111 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing