We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
67
121
66
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
121
66
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain trackshot metal bridgeriverside roomwithin walking distancecarson streetbars and restaurantsnice hotelrooms are largenice view of the rivershuttle servicemile radiusfree shuttleshort driveroom was spotlessfree breakfastlong weekendnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Pros and cons with this property

Pros: Clean, nice spacious rooms, friendly staff and within walking distance of food and shopping.

Cons: The freight train is AWFUL. Runs about every 20 minutes during the night and 10 minutes starting at 6am. The wireless is also awful at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

About 2 years old it seems and in good shape. Floors of elevator were suprisingly dirty. Lobby is spacious. Rooms are clean. Internet slowed way down and was barely usable at night. Biggest issue is the train 20 feet from the hotel. Not a commuter train or subway--this is a full out freight line with long, loud trains that blows horns every time it passes because of the intersection nearby I suppose. It shakes the hotel and the horns woke me up 3 times in the night. If this hotel wasn't directly next to UPMC and I need to be there at 7am the next day, its not worth staying here. Very annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markfrommedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This offers strong value and has distinct plusses and minuses.

Pros: modern design for the 1.5 year old hotel, well-trained staff, adequate work space, roomy junior suite, partial kitchen with microwave, bar sink and small refrigerator, reading lights just like newer Marriotts, light switch next to bed, iHome clock radio, good variety of restaurants within easy walking distance

Cons: free breakfast is modest (Residence Inn and Hampton Inn are better), train noise can both some people but did annoy me or the other three in our traveling party, location is so-so if you have business downtown or at CMU or Pitt

Room Tip: For less train noise, ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oski_Bear_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We recently stayed at the SpringHill Suites for a wedding in Pittsburgh. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The shuttle took us to most of the places we wanted to go. Only once could it not pick us up.
The location is within walking distance to the Southside Works which is a new shopping eating area.
The hotel itself was clean, except the 2 m&m 's I found on the floor in our room.
The breakfast was very good.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: o restaurant on property. Shuttle bus was very helpful.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ventnorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed for 3 nights for a girls getaway trip.
Hotel room was clean and spacious, pool and hot tub were nice, staff friendly an accomodating, and hotel shuttle and driver were an added plus!! Would recommend and stay again!!

Room Tip: There is a train track located next to the hotel... we were on the 6th floor and it was not a problem for us.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fafa5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews