We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
67
121
66
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
121
66
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain trackshot metal bridgeriverside roomwithin walking distancecarson streetbars and restaurantsnice hotelrooms are largenice view of the rivershuttle servicemile radiusfree shuttleshort driveroom was spotlessfree breakfastlong weekendnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The place is very nice clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are a nice size. I didn't have the train noise problems that others wrote about, but the noise from the hallway does come through. The free breakfast is okay, nice selection. The exercise room consists of treadmill, bike, elliptical, and a set of dumb bells. The pool and jacuzzi are nice and clean. Great location for shopping and eating

Room Tip: Get a room high up and facing the river
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo4uClinton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed there this past weekend and really loved the property. Staff was extremely accomodating and helpful in any way possible.The shuttle drivers were just as nice as they could possibly be. Rooms were spacious, VERY clean and provided all amenities--except for towel racks in the vanity area--non-existant.

Very close shops, restaurants, and the Pittsburgh Tour Company which offers an excellent overview of the city. Since we were there for a wedding, it was so nice to be within walking distance of The Circuit Center where the reception was held.

Price seemed a little steep for a senior rate, but it was one fine property--highly recommended with a beautiful view of the river and Hot Metal Bridge. I NEVER heard the tain and I'm a light sleeper!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very nice week stay. Large, clean and comfortable rooms, good size bathroom. Had a nice view as well. Close to areas with restaurants.
High speed internet- Could not access wirelessly in about 2/3 of my room. Wired worked ok but speed is worst I have seen in any hotel. I am sure dial-up would be faster.
Get a room facing front of hotel. Train tracks run right under rear of hotel and the engineer sure likes his whistle!

Room Tip: Get a room facing front of hotel. Train tracks run right under rear of hotel and the engineer sure likes his whistle!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meAOPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Pros and cons with this property

Pros: Clean, nice spacious rooms, friendly staff and within walking distance of food and shopping.

Cons: The freight train is AWFUL. Runs about every 20 minutes during the night and 10 minutes starting at 6am. The wireless is also awful at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

About 2 years old it seems and in good shape. Floors of elevator were suprisingly dirty. Lobby is spacious. Rooms are clean. Internet slowed way down and was barely usable at night. Biggest issue is the train 20 feet from the hotel. Not a commuter train or subway--this is a full out freight line with long, loud trains that blows horns every time it passes because of the intersection nearby I suppose. It shakes the hotel and the horns woke me up 3 times in the night. If this hotel wasn't directly next to UPMC and I need to be there at 7am the next day, its not worth staying here. Very annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markfrommedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews