We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and hipster sharp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and hipster sharp”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

New facility with clean rooms perfect for business or pleasure. Breakfast had good scrambled eggs and nice waffles. Easy parking in and out. Located in a new work-play development in an old Nabisco factory that also house's Google's local HQ. Free wifi (thank you!). A good place from which to explore Pitt.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors at end of halls are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
JB893,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of SpringHill Suites Bakery Square for business or pleasure travels. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. It’s great to hear that our value added services and guestroom met your satisfaction. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    106
    28
    14
    3
See reviews for
159
38
19
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We are a family of five, including three kids ages 7 to 14. We stayed here for two nights while visiting relatives in the area. This was our first stay at this hotel. (The last few trips, we stayed at the Springhill Suites at Pittsburgh Mills; see my other reviews.) We chose to stay here this time for the convenience, to reduce the amount of driving we needed to do around Pittsburgh.

I expected the room layout to be pretty much identical to the Springhill Suites at Pittsburgh Mills. The beds and sofa are the same, but that's about it: the decor and floor plans are quite different. The Bakery Square hotel is very elegant, both in the lobby/public areas and in the rooms, and seems to be in a completely different market.

The room had an Asian feel to it, but American proportions. The ceilings are very high and the room is large. The bathroom is split into two sections: toilet and small sink, and shower and larger sink. Each has a sliding door. There is also a large walk-in closet. With two beds plus a sofa bed, these sleep 6, which is great for families, and there were many families at the hotel,

However, the rooms were not designed with children in mind. The sliding doors for the bathroom are thick, heavy wood. Our 7 year old was able to move them, but even a slightly smaller child would probably not be able to. The shower is proportioned for someone tall. The 7 year old could not reach the control, and needed help to turn it on. The glass door/wall on the shower is beautiful, but it is hinged so that you must fully open the door to reach the controls, making it rather hard to stay dry (and keep the floor dry) while helping a child. The soap bin/shelf was mounted such that it was barely comfortable for me (I'm 62inches tall), and beyond the reach of the 7 year old, meaning that the soap and shampoo had to go on the shower floor. (There is no tub or other lower edge.)

The Springhill at Pittsburgh Mills has a more traditional shower/tub, but no way for a child to reach toilet paper. This suite did not have that problem, at least.

The breakfast was fine. The lobby area did not have quite enough seating, but there is also a beautiful balcony off the lobby with additional seating. (There is even a gas fire pit on the balcony which was lit in the evening.) As long as no one was smoking on the balcony, that was another option for seating.

The parking is in a garage connected to the hotel by a sky-bridge. The area below the garage and hotel is a square with shops. Additional shops and offices are in the process of being renovated and added, and it seems to be developing into a nice shopping/office area. (When I lived in Pittsburgh 20+ years ago, the area was a Nabisco factory.)

There is a large fitness center in the garage building, to which the hotel offers free passes. While the kids would have enjoyed the large pool in the fitness center, they were not old enough to be permitted. (We did not pursue getting passes nor even look at it.) The hotel pool, which does allow kids, is quite small. We did not try it.

The location is too far to walk to Oakland/Shadyside, but they do offer shuttle service. (We did not try that this trip either.)

Overall, our decision to stay there on future trips will be (as it was this time) a question of price vs convenience. For the convenience to the East End of Pittsburgh, we would definitely stay here again, but based on price (AAA rate was $189), we might stay elsewhere, depending on what deals are available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
family1991,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your SpringHill Suites Bakery Square experience. We’re happy to have had you and your family as our guests, and we’re glad you selected our hotel while visiting relatives in the area. We appreciate your feedback as we continually strive to improve our guest experience. We sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short in meeting your expectations. We value you as our guest and do hope you’ll consider staying with us the next time you travel to Pittsburgh. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I recently stayed at the SHS Bakery Square location on a trip to visit U of Pitt. We stayed for 2 nights. This is my 2nd stay at this hotel and I am fast believing that this will be my permanent hotel in the P'burgh area. Location is great! Literally 5 - 6 minutes drive straight down Fifth to both Pitt and CMU. Pittsburgh is kind of a collection of different neighborhoods and you can get to most places in Pittsburgh quickly from this area. Within walking distance to the restaurants in East Liberty.

Check-in was a breeze and the staff were very helpful. The large room was modern and very clean. I liked the fact that there is a small separation from the couch/living space and the bed locations. Someone can be working on their computer late into the night and not bother someone else catching some sleep or watching TV. Each room also has a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. WiFi worked without a hitch. The only odd thing about the room is that the toilet is in a separate room from the shower. This is convenient as you can use the toilet when someone is taking a shower but the toilet room is very small and located on the sidewall in the middle of the room (not at one end like most hotels). Not exactly bad, but takes a little getting used to.

I am not sure why there are some bad reviews about the breakfast. I thought it was great and convenient. The first morning we were at the breakfast location (lobby) about 7:00 and everything was fully stocked and hot. The next day we were later getting to breakfast (about 9:00) and I wondered if it would be just as good. I was pleasantly surprised to find everything was still fully stocked and hot even though there were a lot more people there. I was very happy with the complimentary breakfast.

One can also use the next door gym (L.A Fitness) which is huge and well appointed. The surrounding shops include a newly opened Bar and Grill (looked good and crowded but did not eat there), Panera Bread, Jimmy Johns sandwich shop and a great coffee shop.

All in all a great place in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussRuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
RussRuf,
Thank you for writing a review about your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we’re pleased to hear you enjoyed another positive stay. It’s great to know that our convenient location, helpful staff, and spacious accommodations are well suited for your travel needs. Please continue to make the SpringHill Suites Bakery Square your number one choice when visiting Pittsburgh. Thank you again for writing. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwood, MD
Level Contributor
172 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent one night and were really surprised how spacious the room was. There was a nice sitting area with a couch, a desk, a cubby with a refrigerator and microwave, a nice sized closet and the bathroom was broken into two separate areas. One had a toilet and sink and the other with a large vanity area and a nice large shower stall. While the mattress on the king size bed was softer than we are used to, we slept well.

Our package included breakfast which we were very pleased with. The options included various drinks (apple, cranberry & orange), a variety of cereals, scrambled eggs, turkey or pork sausage, oatmeal (with a variety of toppings), and various breads to choose from.

While we didn't take advantage of it, we had access to a gym (L.A. Fitness) and free parking.

During our visit we went to the PIttsburgh Zoo, the Carnegie Museum of Natural History and the Frick Art Museum. All of these attractions were within 15 minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
HRKC,
Thank you for writing a review about your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our spacious accommodations to exceed your expectations. We’re glad our close proximity to the many area attractions suited your travels needs and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
687 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have stayed a few Springhill Suites, and this was definitely the poorest. The nicely decorated rooms in the photos did not match the reality of the rooms. We had expected to see the nicely done beds as we had at other hotels in this chain, but we got a stripped down version of just the white bedding. The breakfast and parking is free. I do recommend however that you have a backup plan for breakfast. Each morning we went the breakfast was awful. Empty breakfast meats, green eggs, dirty, no juice, and empty condiments. We ended up going to Target down the road for our own juice and fruit. Really? There is also a Panera in the Square, a good option if you are hungry. I also did not appreciate having to get toilet paper and tissues from the desk since housekeeping did not fill ours. At $180 a night however, I expected much more. We spoke to the front desk and asked them to let the manager know, but they just handed us a business card and told us to email.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGallagher28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
JGallagher28,
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We are in the progress of getting new professional pictures taken for our guest rooms as the all white cumulus cloud sheet minus the blue bed runner is the new Marriott brand standard. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Justin M. Blair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great Hotel--

This is a fully updated hotel which includes a modern room, updated bathroom, and fully operational wi-fi that really works (free too). Additionally, this facility includes an ultra modern health club and two swimming pools on premise.

Staying at this place is a no brainer when you are in Pittsburg. The location even includes free parking, continental breakfast in the lobby and a small shopping mall with all the basics.

The only con is that the walls are a bit thin and you can hear conversations in the hallway-- however, a minor price to pay at this price point.

See you there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjuan787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
sanjuan787,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our great hotel and value added amenities. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you’ll visit us again the next time you travel to Pittsburgh. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Really nice decor and great staff. Kind of an odd "front door" lobby arrangement, but once you get in, it is classy. I should have slept well, but the smoke alarm was flashing a light all night. Wouldn't have bothered most people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansaskarenanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
kansaskarenanne,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square. We’re happy to have had you as our guest and we’re glad you liked our hotel and friendly staff. I’m sorry to hear that you did not have a restful stay due to the light on the smoke alarm. We value your business and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
Address: 134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206-1084
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pittsburgh hotel is ideally located in the innovative lifestyle Bakery Square Complex in Pittsburgh's East End. Our SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square is just minutes to Carnegie Mellon University, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, and RIDC Park. Enjoy our all-suite accommodations, complimentary BRAND NEW breakfast options featuring hot and healthy options, and free Wi-Fi. Maintain your healthy lifestyle while on the road with complimentary unlimited access to adjacent LA Fitness. While staying at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square shop at Anthropologie, grab lunch at Jimmy John's and catch up with friends at Coffee Tree Roasters, all located in the Bakery Square complex. Then enjoy a cocktail and light dinner at our lobby bar. Among Pittsburgh hotels, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh Bakery Square hotel stands above the rest with both superior service and accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing