We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SpringHill Suites does it again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this SpringHill Suites for one night while on a college visit in Pittsburgh. This is a very new property, immaculately clean and with plenty of space. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. Lots of room to spread out if needed, as is always the case at this brand's properties. The breakfast was one of their "upgraded" ones - hot choices, fruit, yogurt, pastries, oatmeal bar, cold meats and hard boiled eggs, Nutella for your toast :) The only unpleasant part of breakfast was the coffee - truly undrinkable. Luckily, I had a decent cup from the in-room service (but if it had half and half instead of powdered creamer it would have been even better). Lobby staff was friendly upon check-in and check-out, and there was candy at the desk for the taking. (My son appreciated the Chupa-Chups.) The neighborhood is a new development built from a former industrial site - clean, with lots of modern places like Panera and Anthropologie. Google ha a large office there and the businesses surely serve their employees. The area surrounding the immediate Bakery Square is a bit of a roll of the dice - it's being developed but I wouldn't want to wander around at night. Bakery Square is fine, though.

Couple of downsides: $15 for parking (though the hotel will validate your ticket so you can go in and out in the same ticket in 24 hours). Also, the room layout has the toilet and a small sink in one small powder room separated from the sleeping area only by a sliding door (and with no ventilation fan for covering noise or actual ventilation); there is another area for the shower and a second sink that has frosted glass for the door. I would really prefer a but more privacy while I bathe and use the loo. The shower was large, though, and the two rooms had very nice finishes and good lighting. All in all, a pleasant stay in a location that's convenient to Squirrel Hill, Pitt and CMU - a good value as always.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank ArlingtonVATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

ArlingtonVATraveler,
Thank you for your honest assessment from your visit to SpringHill Suites Bakery Square. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially on areas we can improve to enhance our guests experience. We’re pleased to know you enjoyed a pleasant stay overall and we hope you’ll return for another visit in the future.

Kind regards,
Ryan Clemence, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here as a less expensive option near the city. The hotel was new, modern and beautiful. Parking was free and covered. Great deal to be near the city in the morning. Shower was spacious, but there was no tub. We did overlook the bus depot but a constant fan option as white noise left any bus noises unnoticeable. I would definately stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mamptl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

mamptl,
Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Bakery Square on your recent trip to the city. We're glad our hotel and amenities added value to your stay. It's great to hear you would return for another visit and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Ryan Clemence, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel. I have traveled extensively for business and this ranks as one of my favorites. The location is great, there is an LA Fitness next door, covered (free) parking, very modern and nice appointments, good breakfast beyond the usual pastry/coffee, etc. My only complaint was that the sofa bed was pretty uncomfortable. It would be great for kids, but anyone over 12 would not be comfortable on it. If I could take away a half-star for that, I would. Also special mention of the super friendly staff:)

Room Tip: double queen with sofa bed very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Jeanne M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Bakery Square. We appreciate you recognizing our friendly staff, great location, and value added amenities while providing us an opportunity for improving our guest satisfaction. We regret any discomfort you experienced from the sofa bed and thank you for your feedback. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This past weekend we stayed at the SpringHill Suites for 2 nights and were very pleased with the location, service, cleanliness, and all other aspects of the hotel. The breakfast was included in the price and there were many selections. Our 4 year old twin grandsons were with us and loved it, too---especially the chocolate milk and lollipops. Very quiet and we all slept very well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Ellen G,
We're happy to have been a part of your family travels, and thank you for sharing your experience at SpringHill Suites Bakery Square. It's fantastic to hear all the aspects that made for an enjoyable stay. We'll be certain to keep the chocolate milk and lollipops well stocked for your next visit with your grandsons. Thank you again for writing. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The company I was visiting in Pittsburgh had a special rate at this hotel. Even though I am a member of the Marriott Awards Program, the staff refused my request for a king room at check-in as the rate I had apparently was not upgradable -- despite the fact that the hotel was not at full occupancy. The 2 queen bed room overlooked a bus depot and I was awaken before dawn by a very loud plow removing snow for the idling buses. Also, upon check-in, the room and floor smelt like "skunk": I called the front desk to complain and the front desk clerk said some guest was smoking pot, was no longer in the hotel, and they would spray something to clear the smell. Never was there a suggestion that I could move floors/rooms. A short while later, I was gassed out my room by some industrial strength deodorizer wafting under my door. While the hotel has a new and outwardly new and clean appearance, the service & location of the room - lack of view, noise and smell made my stay feel low budget.

A few other observations (in no particular order):
- The hotel allows you to work out at L.A. Sports which adjoins their building: this was the best perk for guests. The health club is excellent and opens at 5am.
- The morning breakfast is very good: there is a lot variety and it is well-stocked.
- You can get coffee or tea at any hour (in the lobby); this is a nice plus for business people who need to work late.
- The sheets and bedding seem cheap; the sheets don't completely cover the beds - look winkled, unkempt.
- The bathrooms are a bit odd: the toilet is in a separate room and the shower in another; there is only a shower, but that is fine for most people. Unsure why this is the room configuration - maybe to safe space (?)
- Internet is free, however, there is a small daily charge if you want high-speed for downloading documents and films.
- There is a washer and dyer on the premises: this is a big plus for the long stay business traveler.
- The hotel is on the Google Campus in a area that Pittsburgh is trying to revitalize. There is enough stores and restaurants within walking distance to suit most visitors overnight needs.
- Small nit: while there are many cable channels - there is no Bravo.

Room Tip: Ensue that you on the even side of the floor away from the bus depot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Micknyny,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay. It's unfortunate to hear that we fell short of meeting your expectations in several areas. Your comments are important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. Please know I have addressed your review with our staff in order to assure we're doing all we can to serve our guests.

On a positive note, I'm pleased to hear that our convenient location, complimentary breakfast selection, and L.A. Sports health club partnership met your satisfaction. We value your business and do hope you'll visit us again in the future to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and two adult (20s) kids stayed here in connection with a family party last week (between Christmas and New Year's Day). The room--with two double beds and a nice fold-oh couch--was a perfect size and type for us. It was clean and a few blocks (walkable) to my brother's house in Shadyside.

The most irking part of the experience for us was the lack of counter space in the toilet area (separate from the shower area, which also has a sink with an adequate counter area). It also was a little difficult to figure out where the garage was. (We arrived late at night, and the shopping center was not familiar to us.)

But we enjoyed our stay overall and would clearly go back. There is a Panera Bread in the shopping center in which the hotel is located, and many other places are within waling distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heminway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Heminway,
We appreciate your review and thank you for selecting SpringHill Suites Bakery Square while visiting family in Shadyside. I'm pleased to hear that our clean and spacious accommodations perfectly suited your family travels. Your feedback is important to us on opportunities for improving our guest experience. We apologize for any frustrations you encountered during your stay. We're thrilled to hear you would return for another visit and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I love this hotel. It is so close to my parents, and the shopping complex is just too convenient. The staff - always helpful - and very friendly! Breakfast is good, complimentary parking is super-helpful, and don't even get me started about having Anthropologie and Free People just steps away!

Make sure you check out Social if you have time to grab a bite - great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side - high floor. They are building a new condo development across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M3Mechanicsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

M3Mechanicsburg,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Bakery Square. It's fantastic to hear you love our hotel and find our location, staff, and complimentary services perfectly suited for your travels. Please continue to make us your number one choice hotel when visiting the area. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Address: 134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206-1084
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £100 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pittsburgh hotel is ideally located in the innovative lifestyle Bakery Square Complex in Pittsburgh's East End. Our SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square is just minutes to Carnegie Mellon University, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, and RIDC Park. Enjoy our all-suite accommodations, complimentary BRAND NEW breakfast options featuring hot and healthy options, and free Wi-Fi. Maintain your healthy lifestyle while on the road with complimentary unlimited access to adjacent LA Fitness. While staying at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square shop at Anthropologie, grab lunch at Jimmy John's and catch up with friends at Coffee Tree Roasters, all located in the Bakery Square complex. Then enjoy a cocktail and light dinner at our lobby bar. Among Pittsburgh hotels, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh Bakery Square hotel stands above the rest with both superior service and accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing