We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty”
Review of El Campesino

El Campesino
Ranked #1,118 of 2,177 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We are big fans of the chips and salsa! Food was great. Staff was not friendly, but not rude either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojobacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Our Favorite Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Several years ago, we just wanted to find a Mexican restaurant that brought chips and salsa to your table immediately, not just if you ordered it as an appetizer. Friends recommended El Campesino, and now this is our favorite restaurant!

Incredibly fast, friendly service, plus great food for a great price. It's a favorite when we're meeting friends, with or without kids.

Generally, we prefer the bar area, where we can watch sporting events (or the latest Telemundo soap opera when there's no game on!), however, the big tables in the back make meeting a group easy, even last minute.

Some of our favorite dishes are the Grilled Cazuelada (fajitas for two), Camarones a la Diabla, and the Fajita Quesadilla. We also love the combination platters; they're slightly smaller portions, although I still typically take home leftovers. My husband, not as often!

It's great for a fast, sit-down meal, or, like we prefer, take your time, order an appetizer first, and savor a few draft beers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ERB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“What a way to spend your evening.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Food was great and good price, staff was so kind, Drinks were good and priced perfect.
I love the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle bells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The food was great - it's sad that the service didn't match. The waiter didn't smile - didn't ask how everything was - and was miserable - for that reason - I won't be returning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 859Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inaccurate wait”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Was told 20-25 minutes. Figured we would try it. About an hour later we asked and a waitress said ten minutes. Twenty minutes later and we finally gave up. We had to laugh, the waiting room was filled up and the host was still quoting 20 - 25 minutes. I don't expect quotes to be perfect but this was just terrible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrwshnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Campesino also viewed

 

Been to El Campesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing