We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance Pittsburgh because it was within walking distance to Heinz field. I called a few weeks in advance to confirm our reservations and The lady I talked to was very friendly and gave me some great advice on how the locals hang out prior to a Steelers game. We chatted a little bit and when I informed her that this was our first time in Pittsburgh, she said she would do what she could to upgrade us. Little did we know that she upgraded us to the top floor, corner room! We had the view of Heinz field, the city and the river! It was amazing!

Room: The room was very elegant with an incredibly comfortable bed. It had a normal TV, dresser and closet. The bathroom was spacious and everything was VERY CLEAN! The BEST part about the room was the giant arch windows overlooking the city!

Location: Ok, the only bad part is that it's about a 30 minute drive from the airport which will be about a $35-40 cab fare. Which isn't that bad considering a shuttle would be about $40 a person (The hotel gave me that advice!) Once you get to the hotel you are in easy walking distance to shops, food, theaters etc! And for you coffee lovers, there's a Starbucks a block away! But you might not even need to leave the hotel... They have a great restaurant and a nice sports bar/pub for you to just go an hang out.

Fun Note: They don't have a 13th floor :)

Overall, this was an excellent hotel with some of the friendliest and courteous staff i've ever met! It is worth every penny :)

Room Tip: Try to get the highest floor possible! You don't want to miss the amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    424
    136
    36
    23
See reviews for
246
543
72
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This property is by far my favorite in Pittsburgh. I have hosted numerous business meetings at this property and have stayed here with the wife and kids. If hosting a business meeting, ask for the Mancini Boardroom. The sleeping rooms are incredible. I have been fortunate enough to stay in a suite with an outdoor courtyard with a beautiful view of the city. The river view rooms with views of PNC park are spectacular. Lobby bar is great, on site restaurant is way above what one would expect in a hotel. Service has always met my high standards. Location is convenient to The Byham Theater and Heinz Hall and close to some excellent dining establishments. I highly recommend this property for anyone visiting Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oncman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a steelers game, and it was a very nice hotel. The rooms were very clean and spacious, and the hotel itself was in a great neighborhood. We took the subway train which was about 2 blocks away from the hotel to the casino and rode it back, it was very nice not having to drive. The only thing I didn't find great was the restaurant downstairs, I thought it was over priced and the food was not very good compared to other food we've had in Pittsburgh. Overall though this is a great hotel and we will for sure be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Nice Hotel with Highrise Building and on the Bank of river, accross stadium. very nice location & lots of activities to do in walking area. parking accross ctreet is Just $5.00.only thing i felt is for paying High dollers per night, still no breakfast included, in comparison to other 4 star hotel with less rates. Rooms was decent size, no exhaust fans in bath that leads to lots of vapor & steam in bathroom & suffocation too.two story foyer was attractive.

Room Tip: put value excellant because it was high$$$$$$$$ rate/night...and if you paying that high value, migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalpesh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you for your comments via TripAdvisor. We apologize the insufficient exhaust in the bathroom. The bathroom actually vents via an exhaust in the closet. (A special engineering design for this 108 year old converted office building). Glad to see your picture in front of our grand staircase. Very Nice!!! Barbara McMahon, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowansville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Recently stayed at the Renaissance for a getaway that my husband planned. We stayed in room 1230. He requested a room overlooking the river but we got a corner room with a partial river view. No big deal. We weren't there for the view! The hotel has both a restaurant and bar in the lobby. We did not partake either. They have room service if you are so inclined. The elevator is only accessible to hotel guests and you have to have a room key for it to work. Made us out of town folks feel safe. The rooms are large and modern. The bedding is top notch and we slept like a baby. Even though it is located downtown, we didn't hear many of the noises associated with its location. We didn't hear any street noise or sirens. I believe it helps that the building is placed towards the river. You can walk to both stadiums and anything on the North Shore. Everything downtown is within walking distance and a parking garage is directly across the street from the hotel. Because the city offers free downtown parking during the holiday weekends, our parking was free for the stay!! (Every little bit helps) Byham Theatre is next door and you could hop the "T" for access to anything you want. The convention center is a couple of block walk and the theatre district is close as well. If you are considering a stay in the downtown area, you should consider this hotel. We stayed at a discounted rate and if staying in PGH again, will definitely consider this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: A room with unobstructed view of river would be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stay-home-mom-pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The lobby rotunda is stunning, as was the view of the river from our room. The rooms have been recently updated and include stone bathroom counters, desks and lounge chairs. The only gripe here was the service. We had booked under a promotional code but were told upon check-in we couldn't have that rate because we didn't have the proper documentation (which we didn't know about). It took three employees (two managers) to resolve the issue, but the message was that they didn't care very much about customer service.

Room Tip: Our courtyard view looked out onto the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Just returned from Pittsburgh where we saw Steelers vs Chargers. It was our first visit to Heinz Field (which was awesome). The hotel is nice and clean. The staff is excellent. The rooms were expensive - 250.00 a night. I thought that was too much but this trip was a Christmas gift for my husband. The food at Braddocks (resturant inside) is decent but not great. Again, the food is okay but expensive. The staff at the hotel and Braddocks is excellent and everyone gets into the football spirit on gameday. I would recommed this hotel but if we went to Heinz Field again I would try another hotel within walking distance. I didn't feel there was anything special for 250.00 a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abzurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Property: Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing