We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th wedding anniversary get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“25th wedding anniversary get away”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

What a wonderful hotel in the cultural district of Pittsburgh. Harkens back to what hotels and service used to be. Very comfortable bed, and everything smelled so clean! Excellent place to stay when attending a concert, theater or in our case a Penguins game. Everyone was very attentive to our needs, even jumping off of a ladder to open the door. Had drinks in the hotel bar after the game, just a great time all around. Plan to do this again!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey Jewell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    420
    134
    33
    23
See reviews for
245
536
72
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KNOXVILLE
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Everyone was very nice and helpful. Check-in was fast. The employees were all friendly. Everyone greeted us and opened the doors for us. They called cabs for us and even let us print something off on their printer. You can't beat the location. It is with in walking distance to everything. The only downfall was the view. There was no view from our room 418. We could only see the rooms across from us :( Other people had great views but I think it is more expensive. I highly recommend this hotel. It is expensive but the location is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEGAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I traveled up from NC to PA for the Steelers game this past weekend and we were super excited since this was a wedding present to both of us. When we first arrived it was somewhat raining/snowing and my husband pulled up to the curb and I got out to ask the doorman where we could park and he completely ignored me and walked right passed me to get someone a taxi, which the taxi had already stopped and the people were already getting into. My husband had to roll down the window and stop the guy while I was standing in the raining weather to ask him where we could park for the hotel parking. He just pointed. That was the first experience.
Second experience was the check-in. The lady who checked us in was nice, however, when she said "Our room was ready and would I like to add my husband Mark's name to the room", my husband looked at me and said "who's Mark?" I don't know where the lady got that name from, but I said" I don't know who Mark is my husband's name is Chris". Bad move lady for any couple. Third, I was standing in line to check-out and my husband went off to load the luggage in the car. I was really upset with the checkout because the lady said "Can I help you guys" "How was you guys stay" "Do you guys need help with luggage" I don't mind the word "guys," but I was the only one that walked up to the counter and was talking to her and she kept looking off at someone else while she was speaking to me not even giving any eye contact. I look behind me and it was an old man standing and waiting for the next person. She kept looking at him and when I would answer her questions I would have to repeat myself twice because she wasn't paying attention. Poor service from entry, check-in and check-out. Great location for the game, but service, not politeness needs work! Staying there I felt like a room number, not a guest and I am also a Marriott Rewards Member.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed one night for a Steelers game. Heinz field is in walking distance.

Staff seemed to be overwhelmed with masses of Steelers fans checking in at the same time. Overqll great stay in a clean room with free wifi.

Recommand it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruedinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

A friend and I recently stayed at this hotel during a "sports weekend" in Pittsburgh. The hotel is perectly located. It is just across the river from the ball park and two subways stops to both Heinze Field and Consol Energy Center. You could walk to the stadium but the weather was poor so we chose the train. The hotel is two blocks from the train station.

The hotel is an older grand hotel and is very nice. The rooms are small but finished nicely and service is excellent. It is a bit pricey if you boom directly. I booked through Priceline and thought the value was excellent.

There is not a lot of nightlife in the immediate area. There is a good sportsbar called Red Beards across the street and it is a $7 taxi ride to South Side bar strip.

Great hotel that I would definitley recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mac2476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
218 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in perfect downtown location with views of the river and ballparks. Gorgeous lobby, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. It was a great value, very reasonable rate for a suite-like room with sitting area a view of the river. Walking distance to Market Square, PNC, Heinz Field and all theaters. Has a great lobby bar.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tropicalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Distinctive architecture and beautifully decorated. Not only were the amenities on point, but the building itself is filled with the flavor of Pittsburg. It is easy to find a nice hotel with perks, but where this hotel sets itself apart is that it gives you all of those perks in way that allows you to enjoy something unique to Pittsburg. I traveled in on a red eye and the hotel staff was excellent enough to find a room I could check into well ahead of the 3pm check-in time so I could get some sleep. Forever grateful! The beds are some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, exactly what you expect from the Marriott brand. Bonus was that the curtains were heavy enough to block the sun light so I could actually get some solid sleep. They had an extended breakfast still running after I woke up and the food was good quality - especially considering it was 10am by this point. The oatmeal and coffee were still hot, the fruit was still fresh, I was very pleased. All of the staff I ran into were very polite, made eye contact, greeted you and were helpful. The view from my room was amazing. I could see right into the Pirates stadium and for a solo traveler I couldn't have asked for a better location. Very easy to get to the main roads to drive and walking distance from everything downtown you'd want to do or see.

Room Tip: If you're a sports fan ask for a room that overlooks the stadium. You won't be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 70 in Pittsburgh
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Property: Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing