We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I love being able to go from my room to a meeting in 5 minutes!

I hate the fact that the TVs are locked down, no changing inputs. In this day and age, mobile devices with HD media abound, but can't be used unless I bring my own TV?

While the staff in the lounge is great, a little selection won't hurt you. (both drink and food) And the prices... There's a difference between charging for a superior product and just plain overcharging.

Why does my Elite status never get me into the concierge Lounge at the Renaissance? If I have to point this out to you, what IS the point?

I could go on, but these are just a few reasons why I prefer the Springhill Suites across the river... unless I'm completely strapped for time, the extra walk is well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Renaissance Pittsburgh. We will review your comments at our next staff meeting so that we can focus on opportunities to enhance the experience of our valued guests. I appreciate you taking the time to comment and I apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all of our guests expectations at the Renaissance Pittsburgh.

Sincerely,

Paul Newmaster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for one night while attending a concert at the Consol Energy Center. Beautiful historic hotel with all the modern conveniences and comfort. Our room on the 14th floor/Concierge level was spacious and lovely. Very clean and well appointed. Aveda products, nice towels and plush linens. Very high ceilings and windows. We overlooked the interior courtyard but still had plenty of light.
Food and beverages in the 14th floor lounge were high quality and ample. Attentive staff was always there yet unobtrusive.
The hotel is in an excellent location. We walked to the concert and dinner in the evening and went for a run around the sport stadiums and along the pleasant river walk in the morning. Felt like a safe area. We would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here during a 2 day stay in Pittsburgh. The lobby staff were welcoming and accommodating (even when we showed up early for our check-in). The room was huge with a wonderful view of the Three Sisters. There is a restaurant on site, though we opted to eat at nearby places. The lobby is gorgeous!

Room Tip: Choose a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MdmVerdier87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for the Weekend, Was an amazing hotel with outgoing staff, from check in to departure Everyone was fabulous from the room to the Amazing Manhattan's in the bar, Easy walk to PNC for the Game and we chose to dine on Saturday Night in Braddocks which was Amazing. Wil Definitely Be Back !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieFamily412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is in a great historic fulton building, it is difficult to see the side entrance but you can't miss the building. This is a great location to walk to PNC Park or Heinz field and you have many great restaurants/bars to pick from very close to the front door. This front door is always manned by a doorman and has a very welcoming front desk. A nice touch that they do here is walk each guest to the elevator bank after check in, the valet is a little steep for this location at 16 but convenient. Some choose to self park across the street at the garage and easier to turn if coming from the water side. The rooms are dictated by the historic walls but have been updated well with crisp linens and flat screens. I would prefer to have all full size pillows on the bed as the very square small ones are awkward to sleep on. The restaurant on site is large and has many options, small bar onsite with excellent service. The gym is located in the basement but has sufficient work out equipment and treadmills are outfitted with tv's.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38allovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very Clean, Lovely Lobby, Very Friendly Staff. We stayed to see a show at the Heinz. The room was small but nice. The front desk clerk was very nice and accommodated our requests. his name was Matt, I believe and he was very welcoming. The linens and bed were very plush. We used the self-parking across the street and found it convenient and a good value. We also ate at Meat and Potatoes around the corner. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Use self-parking if on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Renaissance hotel is nice even though the building is very old.
They have gone to great lengths to update the guest rooms with new baths, flat screen TVs, mini fridge, and in room safe.
However you really can't change the footprint of the rooms, so some are quite small.
They make up for that with the downtown location, newer hotels have larger rooms.
but the best thing is if you get a room facing the front or the river you can easily watch the action in PNC park, and the fireworks as well.
There are many places to eat in the area and it is pretty safe.

Room Tip: street side or river side face PNC park and will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfrquently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £147 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing