We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“THE Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I do not know where to start. Was it the similes we received when we arrived at 11:30pm on a Friday night. The more then welcoming front desk, who's two names I wish I could remember. Giving us each a complementary dinner. Unfortunately the kitchen was closed, but the bar was not so enjoyed some very very sting drinks. The bar was a little slow, and a like pricy, but maybe it was the long drive with little to eat, but we all only needed on drink. We had a double queen room with a courtyard room and it was MASSIVE, with more than enough room for 4 people. The beds were also declared as 'heaven' for the rest if the weekend. The hotel is also in the perfect location. A 5mins walk to the market square, and about a 15mins walk to 'The Strip'. A jaunt over the bridge to watch the pirates play for 10/15min walk to Heinz field. Overall I would 100% suggest this hotel if you are heading to Pittsburgh, friendly and attentive staff, a perfect location with a clean comfortable large room. Everything you are looking for in a hotel!!

My only complaint

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurachit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    397
    125
    34
    21
See reviews for
230
500
69
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

For Father's Day, my husband and I made a road trip to Cleveland to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and a night in Pittsburgh to ride the incline something I had never done. Based on other reviews, we decided to stay at the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel and I'm so glad we did. We got to Pittsburgh about 11:30 am and were pleasantly surprised that we were able to check in early. The room was a king size city view and we loved it, very spacious, comfortable bed. And the bathroom was so well laid out that we wish we had one like it at home. We parked across the street in the city garage and only paid $5 - great tip from other reviewers. The hotel is in a great location and we wandered around quite a bit. The 3 Rivers Arts Festival was taking place that weekend and we were right there. Staff was very helpful on directions and suggestions for restaurants. When we got back to Virginia, I realized that I had left my prescription reading glasses in the case in the room. I called housekeeping and Judy already had them in her hands and graciously sent them to me at no charge. Will definitely be back. The building is quite beautiful and has an interesting history. There was a wedding taking place that afternoon/evening in the hotel and the wedding party was on our floor. The only time we heard them was when we were by the elevator! Great sound proofing.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three nights on business travel. The room was attractive, clean and large enough to be quite comfortable. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The high-speed complimentary internet worked well for my business connectivity. The lobby area is very attractive with a mix of the grandeur of an old bank building, along with interesting decorations.

The hotel is very convenient to the baseball stadium, which is just over the bridge - a 10 minute walk. I think it would also be a longer, but still reasonable, walk to football.

Only minor negatives:
- I arrived quite late, and there were quite a few "characters" outside. I would not feel safe taking a walk alone after dark.
- The hotel didn't have a breakfast buffet. They do have a menu breakfast, but service was a bit slow, which can be an issue when on business travel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sondra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We only spent a night in Pittsburgh, but we were glad it was at this hotel. Great location - close to stadiums, the Strip, Market Square, Point State Park...all within walking distance.

The room was large and clean. My wife thought the mattress was a bit "soft" though.

We drove in and at the suggestion of other users, we parked overnight in the lot across from the hotel and had no issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug9394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent four nights in the Reanaissance hotel in Pittsburgh. The king room was beautiful! The beds are so comfy! It was very quiet and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. Check in was crazy as they had six weddings. Our check in was late. That was disappointing. They were apologetic. I think they should offer you to sit in the restaurant or bar and enjoy an appetizer on them while waiting. A suggestion in the future. This hotel is in walking distance to the stadium to see the pirates play. I also enjoy that it was close to the theatre district. The Restaurant was lovely but be prepared like most hotels that it's pricey for breakfast. Two ommlets and juice was almost 40 dollars. I recommend if you are asking directions to stick to the front desk. We asked some of the staff outside and we had wrong directions twice. We did get one man who works out side who was wonderful giving us some suggestions for dinner places. Parking your car in the garage across the street saves you lots of money. Four nights was only 30 dollars over 30 dollars a night the hotel charges. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Room 625 was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieapple3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Outstanding! One of the most pleasant hotels I have ever stayed in. Although away from home, I still felt at home. Our room was always kept immaculate. Our housekeeper Marla always greeted us with a smile and went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Braddock, the restaurant in the lobby displayed phenomenal service and out of this world food. This will be a first of many stays to come in the future for my wife and I.

Room Tip: Waterfront view. A must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location in downtown Pittsburgh. The lobby of the hotel is gorgeous. Rooms are a little worn, I expected more for what I paid. Tiles are cracked in bathroom, furniture is old and worn. We stayed on reward points and expected a nice room but instead we're placed in a room next to the elevators, ice machine, and maid closet...thank you for being a loyal customer?...I think not. Can't beat the location to walk to a game or downtown activities...just expected more in customer service. Had to call because people were banging on the wall in the next room and kids running up and down the hall...nothing changed over an hour later still banging and running past 11:00pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank family021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the noise issues you encountered during your stay with us. We are in the planning phase of a rooms renovation but we take great pride in providing the best service and guest experience to all of our valued guests. We will review your feedback at our next staff meeting so that we can improve. Once again I thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel.

Sincerely,

Paul Newmaster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Property: Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Address: 107 6th Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing