We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded My Expectations!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

When doing business in this Midwestern city, the Renaissance Pittsburgh is my hotel of choice. Rachel, who was at the front desk, exceeded all of my expectations. The room she arranged for me was outstanding -- and the views were par none. This property has a great team from the restaurant manager to the Club Level representatives. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    428
    138
    36
    24
See reviews for
250
553
72
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed at the Renaissance in Pittsburgh twice - terrific location, good restaurant, good bar. Really, it's a great place to stay if you're in town for a sporting event or an event in the cultural district.

Room Tip: The 08 rooms are corner rooms overlooking the river and baseball stadium. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayre, PA
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I took our two granddaughters to Pittsburgh to watch a Pirates game and we stayed at the Renaissance using Hilton points. This is a very elegant hotel and my granddaughters were awed with the ambiance immediately upon walking into the lobby. The rooms were exceptionally large, the beds inviting, and the towels plush. The staff was exceptional and our call for extra wash clothes was met with an immediate response. We really enjoyed our overnight except for the late night guests carousing down the hall who kept our family awake into the wee hours of the morning and the maid who tried to get into our room before we were ready to leave. The location is perfect if you want to catch a Pirates baseball game. We walked out the door, across the walkbridge, and there was the stadium. I would not recommend the buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant as service is very slow and we were very disappointed with the limited variety of food for the price paid. Every pastry and bread product was gone and it was only when I asked to have the price lowered that toast was offered as an alternative. But again, this hotel is very elegant and the rooms very luxurious.

Room Tip: Ask to NOT be on a floor with bridal parties. Park across the street in the garage and save the val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2seniorcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncanvillle, PA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went to the Renaissance in Pittsburgh on our wedding night and had a stay to remember. When the staff found out it was our wedding day, everyone from the valet to the desk clerk to the bell hop went out of their way to make our stay a special one. We were treated like royalty! Now, this is already a top-notch hotel and it is why we chose it our visit to Pittsburgh as we had stayed here a few times previously and always had an excellent time. It is remarkable and historic property, centrally located close to both sporting events and culture. But this stay was so much more and the hospitality that we received was second to none. We will be guests for life!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phlegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I recently visited this hotel for the weekend while attending the Jason Aldean concert in Pittsburgh. He is a Platinum Premier Elite Marriott member and we used points, so I can't comment on the price. I really liked this hotel...in fact, I would say it is my favorite in Pittsburgh. The location was excellent--a short walk over the Clemente Bridge to the North Shore, but located in downtown so close to the convention center, the point, and other downtown attractions. The features of the building were really cool and we enjoyed the restaurant as well. We used the valet parking service as it is much nicer than trying to park in downtown Pittsburgh. There is however a parking garage directly across the street from the entrance if you wish to park yourself. I am hoping to have the chance to visit this hotel again soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeepgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days. The location was fantastic: right beside many theatres, and across the Roberto Clemente bridge from PNC Park - a lovely baseball stadium.

The King room was large and comfortable but pretty boring. The mini-bar was already empty which allowed us to fill it with baby stuff, water, juice, etc. without all the trouble of taking it out (and possibly getting charged)

Lobby was lovely. There was live music playing one night which was very nice.

At check-in since we booked through Priceline we were originally assigned a 2 double room, but were allowed to switch to a King on a lower floor which worked fine for us. The street was quiet, but during our stay the Pirates were not playing.

Self parking was not on-site - it was across the street in a public parking garage. It actually worked out pretty nicely except for the day where it stormed heavily - it was quite inexpensive compared to most paid hotel parking ($7 on weekends flat).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I'll start off by saying this is one of my favorite hotels in Pittsburgh. The building itself is top notch, with interesting architecture and an amazing lobby. The rooms are spacious and if you are facing the river, offer an amazing view.

The hotel is a short walk from PNC Park (if you are at a Pirate game, it is the building with the archway that you can see across the river from inside the park) and most downtown businesses.

Room Tip: Request a high room facing the river and you will have a great view out over the river. A lot of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Property: Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing