We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Building”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I just stayed at the Renaissance over the weekend for the Pirates game and had a very good experience. The entryway is absolutely gorgeous with a grand staircase and lounge-feel sitting area. We were actually able to check in about two hours early which made our arrival so convenient. Our room was fairly small but we did have a nice view of the city out of one of our windows. The bathroom was great, shower had good pressure and the hot water lasted well through two consecutive showers. We went down to the bar to have a drink before heading out for dinner and the bartender was very friendly and helpful and made me a very strong drink which I loved! The only complaint I have about our whole stay is the firmness of the pillows and this is just my personal preference. The pillows were very firm and thick which my boyfriend loved but for me, they hurt my neck. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiLeeLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    428
    138
    36
    24
See reviews for
250
553
72
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I had never stayed in a Rennaisance before, and was only at this one for a wedding weekend. Holy cow - if the service is like this at all the hotels, I'll never go to a Hilton property again! Seriously amazing people, from the front desk to the bellmen, to the cleaning staff. We had the best experience and were all super impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, the decorations, and the impecable standard of service (and I am REALLY picky). The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are huge, and the location of the hotel is great for getting around. There is a Starbucks within a block, which is a requirement for me. Plus, the view from our room was pretty awesome as well. Highly recommend this property and can't wait to try out another Rennaisance on my next trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKEAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Spend 3 days in this hotel for my best friend's wedding, hotel itself is beautiful, room was nice, bed was very comfortable, the only thing that sucked was that there is a fridge in the room, but there is nothing in it. No water, no soda, nothing. So if you plan on staying here bring your own drinks, because you might wake up in the middle of the night with a huge hangover and there is nothing to drink. So i can't rate this at 5 stars. Fill up the fridge renaissance. Not sure why they charge $30 per day for incidentals when you can't even get anything to drink at night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

WOW...the check in was efficient and courteous, the updated rooms were fresh, inviting, and comfortable. Mary Jackson at the front desk was very nice, professional, helpful, and courteous. The bed was comfortable but the best part was the view. I stayed in room 509 facing the river and PNC park; it was absolutely beautiful. The hotel restaurant was very good as well as the service. I enjoyed every minute of this trip to Pittsburgh and ALL the folks at the Renaissance made me feel right at home. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: If possible, get the rooms with the view along Fort Duquense blvd overlooking the river, PNC Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The Renaissance Pittsburgh is an elegant old hotel that has been nicely renovated. The rooms, though, are small-ish; the beds particularly so.

The hotel is well located in the heart of the downtown and right on the river, so there's easy access to the baseball and football stadia.

Free WiFi.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Pelicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

My husband stated at the Renaissance in 2010 and loved it, so we stayed there during our annual family vacation. The location is amazing - just across the Allegheny River from PNC Park, within wAlking distance of most attractions, and easy highway access. The building is a restored building with a gorgeous lobby (high ceilings, ornate stonework, huge curving staircases, and plenty of comfortable but Classy seating). The staff was exceptionally courteous from the valet guys to the front desk staff to the baggage clerks. Our room, Room 1031, was a huge corner room with views of the city (to the southeast) and the Allegheny River & Andy Warhol Bridge (to the northeast). The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows; the bathroom was big enough for two people to use at the same time without bumping into each other; and the corner location kept the noise down. My only complaint - if you arrive during or an hour or so before a Pirates/Steelers game, it can take you 30 minutes to get your car to a valet (I got cursed at, flipped off, etc by other drivers who thought I was blocking traffic when all I was trying to do was get close enough to the curb to get my car to a valet), and there is no off-site parking available (if it's not game time, there is a parking garage across the street that is significantly less than valet, which was $30-ish/day).

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gleek_Wisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The room (2 queens) was quite large, bathroom a nice size. Had duvet covered in sheet so I know it is changed. Plenty of thick towels and a robe. Concierge level had standard amenities. Beautiful historical hotel at the riverfront, across river from PNC Park (Pirates) and you could hear the noise when things got exciting. The service is good. The rooms are spacious, but I had only one chair in the room, should have had at least two. The property is quiet when the room faces the interior court. Located in the heart of great Pittsburgh entertainment! Took a walk along riverfront, it was a beautiful evening. Definitely would recommend.

Room Tip: 2 Queen bedded rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Property: Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing