We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice staff”
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

My friends and I had a great visit here. I agree, there's not much in the neighborhood. BUT, if you're driving...you're close to everything! Within 15 minutes, you can explore Pitt's campus, Little Italy, Shadyside, the Strip District, downtown, Market Square, and the North End. Too much to do in just a few days. The terrace here is the perfect place to enjoy a great breakfast buffet and an even better view of the city's east end. Cherie at the desk worked was simply a joy to work with when a simple mistake was made in our billing. Having stayed at no less than 5 Marriott properties in Pittsburgh, this one quickly rose to our top choice due to it's accessibility to the city and pleasant staff.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    110
    74
    35
    18
See reviews for
150
35
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Like most Residence Inns at which I've stayed the past few years, this one is looking and feeling a bit tired and in need of new furnishings and decor. (I'm not sure with the freshness and price points of the Spring Hill Suites brand where Residence Inns fit in the Marriott portfolio.) The front desk service was fine, the bed Marriott comfortable, the suites adequately furnished even if dated and a little long in the tooth. The pool area fine and the "fitness center" small and very spartan - just enough to say there is one. There is a free access old tech PC and printer (which was helpful for flight check-in and printing a boarding pass) in the "business center" (really just a cubicle). The MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT is the location - near nothing except several nursing homes. The University area is a solid 20-30 minute walk at a fast clip down (and then back up) some very steep hills. There is not even a convenient mini-mart to grab a sandwich nearby. While the location is safe and a convenient DRIVE to many places, it is not a good choice for enjoying what the CITY of Pittsburgh has to offer. That said, if you need a safe, comfortable place to sleep while doing what you need to do at the many nearby hospitals or universities, this property is adequate.
P.S. The free buffet breakfast was "adequate" but again unremarkable. The only notable exception to the blandness of this property was the hotel manager, who greeted everyone personally at breakfast, bussed and cleaned tables, and tried his best to make every guest feel valued.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgb10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McClellandtown, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

One of the best things about this facility is that it's within easy walking distance of the University of Pittsburgh (and the UPMC Medical Center). This is why we stayed here--we have a daughter attending in the fall, and needed to go down for an orientation. The Residence Inn offered a great rate, and that was just the beginning. We arrived in a morning, and the hotel manager immediately allowed us to check into our room, and park in the (relatively inexpensive) on-site garage.

The room was big and clean, more like a studio apartment than a hotel room. A full kitchen area with full-sized refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave and range; a large HDTV, a comfy bed, and a couch, desk, dining table... I would have easily expected to pay twice the price for a room of this quality.

The full breakfast was good, fresh, and had a constant flow of staff renewing all of the items. There were complimentary newspapers, an efficient shuttle, and our experience of the entire place was one that made sure that whenever we need to stay close to Pitt over the next few years, we'll be calling up the Residence Inn, to be sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The staff at Residence Inn all incredibly friendly and helpful; from the manager to the maintenance man you meet in the hallway. Everything is clean and represented honestly.

Room Tip: No in-hotel restaurant but the breakfast buffet is great with fresh fruits, yoghurt, and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B96SAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Overall, had a pleasurable stay. Beds were comfortable, nice kitchenette and living room area. The free breakfast each morning was convenient and free. The hot food (sausage, ham, eggs, etc.) was just okay, but there was a lot more from bagels to fruit to yogurt and juice. Shuttle service looked easy to use, but I didn't use it since I had a car. Parking garage was underneath hotel and was secure and clean. Nice patio with tables and chairs. The staff was super friendly. It's walking distance to craig street (shops and restaurants) and also to 5th avenue (little longer walk though). Lots of architecture in Pittsburgh and it's a beautiful area. Just keep in mind that this hotel is not in the thick of it all - it's up on a hill a little removed from hustle and bustle. I would return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MassIS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I traveled alone for a bodybuilding competition nearby the hotel. It was a physically demanding trip and the shuttle was invaluable as there is limited taxi service in the area. Everyone, from Will at the front desk to Dan the shuttle driver to the housekeeping staff were, in a word, incredible! You can stay at many hotels, but if you want the most personable caring staff and the nicest rooms with home type amenities, especially if you are visiting the areas hospitals, please, this should be your only choice. I'll be back two more times this summer, i wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm
Level Contributor
194 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is next to UPMC, offers apartments with kitchen, washing facility, small gym and pool. I had a room that must have been next to a electricity generator, since there was an annoying sound all night that could not be located in the room, so don't get room #211. Shuttle service to UPMC, but not really flexible, taxi waiting time is very long!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn University Center
#53 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3896 Bigelow Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1148
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing