We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satisfied with service and room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very satisfied with service and room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My son and I stayed here for a college visit. The room was a one bedroom suite, full kitchen, queen bed, queen sleeper sofa, spacious bathroom. Clean. The hotel is on the top of a hill; we had a beautiful view of the city from the fourth floor. Walking distance (downhill to the campus) if you don't mind walking. Parking is extra which was a bummer...I found a cheaper place to park near the campus...really didn't need the car since the hotel also has a free shuttle to and from points on campus which is EXCELLENT and the driver was very pleasant and helpful. Also the Port Authority bus system is very convenient, cheap, and friendly and helpful drivers to get around.
The manager of the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. Spent about 30 mins with us to plan the easiest 'public transportation' experience to a fresh seafood restaurant (Monterey Fish Grotto 5stars but pricey). He recommended on top of Mount Washington when we wanted to go out and explore one night and have a good seafood dinner. Free breakfast buffet which is always something we look for.
Overall VERY HAPPY and when we go back to Pittsburgh, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xrsiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    107
    71
    35
    17
See reviews for
143
34
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Got a deal from Priceline. Only drawback is parking fee. You can find on street parking it's not that congested. The rooms are nice. We had a studio which was a queen bed & pull out couch. Big kitchen although we have short weekend stay so no cooking. I'd bring beverages and put in fridge. There is a mini store in lobby but way overpriced. Pool is super small. Check in was a breeze. Polite staff. Views from room great from front/ side of building. I wouldn't recommend back rooms. They have a nice terrace I imagine in warmer weather is wonderful to relax and enjoy out there. Breakfast is a full on hot/cold buffet free! Was delicious. We did not use free shuttle but they do provide one. Walls are a little thin.

Room Tip: Ask for front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

My room was nice except for an overwhelming air freshener odor. The bed was comfy, but like other reviewer's, I found the walls were very thin and could hear TV/conversations of my neighbors. I used the fan to create white noise. However, there is very little temp control. Having a kitchen was a perk and the hotel offers shuttle service to the area which was very useful, drivers were very helpful, friendly. There isn't much in walking distance. They allow dogs in the hotel so allergy sufferers should be aware of this. It was convenient to have breakfast on-site.

Room Tip: having a room next door to hotel laundry was quieter than other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, rooms were pleasant and clean. It was freezing outside while I was there but my room was warm and cozy. Room included kitchenette with fridge and microwave, a good value for the price. Wifi worked well. TV rotates so you can watch from the couch or the bed. Included breakfast had plenty of variety- sausage, potatoes, cereal, muffins and more. They charge extra for parking but so do just about all the hotels in Pittsburgh.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mintcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, DE
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Nice hotel with great rooms. Very big with a stove, fridge, microwave, sofa, etc.. I stayed in a mini suite and it was great. Breakfast was free and better than the average breakfast. I would stay again at this place. It is close to the hospital and college as well. Off street parking for $15 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has the fridge and stove if your going to have food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
138 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Definitely a below average property.

First - the positives. The staff is so, so, so nice. Five stars for them.

Now for the rest....

*They make you sign a no smoking/no party statement when you check in (I get it, it's close to campus). However the room I was given smelt like a filthy ashtray. The front desk immediately changed my room but housekeeping never should have released it.

*Walls are THIN. You can hear every toilet flush, sneeze and TV show from the rooms around you. The person in the room next to me was not "loud" but he definitely enjoyed sword fighting movies cause I could hear it all night.

*Pass through doors secured only with a slide bar. Not a deadbolt, a $3 slide bar - not safe!

*No functioning thermostat. There was an Eisenhower era "control" of sorts that had two settings - "warmer" and "cooler". As it relates to what? The surface of the sun? And you can't open any windows either so your room will be super stuffy.

*Room furniture is played out - the vinyl on my chair was peeling, the sofa was stained - gross! Since this place caters to UPMC patients, those with compromised immunity should think twice about staying here.

Overall, other than an amazingly nice staff, this place kind of sucks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We drove to Pittsburgh for a hockey tournament. We were very content with the hotel. The staff was also very willing to help. The rooms were more spacious than the typical hotel room. The hotel allowed us to having a team dinner in the lounge. The kids were also allowed to have a conference room to play in. Many hotels are much less willing to go the extra mile to make your stay fun. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devilsu1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Quality Inn University Center
#52 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3896 Bigelow Boulevard, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing