We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Nearby Hotels
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$318
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
US$163
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$235
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$297
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
US$123
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$177
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
117
134
80
37
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
134
80
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenparking garagefront deskbasketball courtpittsburgh universityseparate bedroomcarnegie mellonmarriott propertiesshuttle servicethe sofa bedhome away from homeextended stayhot tubyogurthockey tournamentoakland areaworking order
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you are going to spend more than one night away from home, consider this hotel. The location is perfect-it is within minutes' driving distance to the University of Pittsburgh and nearby Carnegie Mellon. A shuttle will take you to the University of Pittsburgh if that is where you are headed. The hotel is within a 5-10 minute walking distance of many places to eat. Although when I booked my room my only options were "no view," we actually had a great view from our room (202) . Although it is not the newest Resident Marriott, the location is great, the accommodations were clean, the rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast included with your rate offers plenty of hot and cold choices. The hotel also offers free wi-fi that works just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This Residence Inn is definitely not the crown jewel in what really is a fine chain of hotels.

Rode up the elevator to the check-in / breakfast area and was asked if i had a floor preference. I really didn't and was assigned a room on the 4th floor. You need to access the guest rooms via a completely different elevator bank than the ones that come up from the ground level.

When the elevator door opened to the 4th floor I was met with what I can only describe as a mix of sweaty gym locker and curry combined. Not sure why it was there but it was very prominent and remained so for the entire length of my stay. The room also had a distinct odor as well, sort of a sour milk / old person funk to it. Bad start.

The room was very old for a Marriott property but aside from the nasty smell did appear to be clean. The bed was comfortable, the appliances were old but everything did work. The TV was a ice flat screen and received actual HD programming which was a nice touch. The bathroom had ample high quality towels, good water pressure, and plentiful hot water.

Breakfast in the morning was very good and well beyond the offerings of even most Residence Inn's.

So if you're hard of smelling or don't mind sporting a clothes pin on your nose I'll give this place a thumbs up, otherwise I'd recommend choosing another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms don't have strange smells.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank michtraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

There were several good things about this hotel, but the elevator system was not one of them. It is not possible to get from the parking lot to your room without quite a bit of walking and then changing elevators. It would be difficult for anyone with mobility issues to navigate this hotel comfortably. As others have listed, the building is not up to date. But, the breakfast was quite complete and the room was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 221Kcblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was fine, but really not up to date compared to other hotels. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly. Excellent breakfast buffet. The TV kept losing connection. The hot tub was only at 86-90 degrees (just above Luke warm) and was a disaster when the bubbles come on. Even with sitting up straight the bubbles are crazy and splash all over your face. The jets are so strong that they push you out of your seat.
Convenient to downtown locations, but much cheaper than downtown hotels. They have a convenient parking garage.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelKat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

When we checked in, the man at the desk was openly hostile. When my parents did not understand what he said, he raised his voice and rolled his eyes. Yes, we are immigrants, but we want to be treated with respect, especially by an employee at a hotel that probably has lots of foreign visitors.

When our room was cleaned, my parents' pajamas went missing. They were hanging from the hook behind the bathroom door. It was impossible for them to be confused with dirty towels. We went to the front desk to ask, and we were told they would "investigate" but they did not seem to take it very seriously.

The rooms are clean, the hotel is well maintained and in a great location. But, the service could be much better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeaAndTheKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews