We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service During An Emergency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #41 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 6 December 2005

Based on other reviews we a little hesitant about staying here. We were staying at this hotel due to a wedding.

The hotel is a little tricky to find and when you get there you need to go up a flight to get to check In. This was a little inconvenient. Once you figure out how to get there it is on a nice quiet part of the street and centrally located to things in Oakland.

Once in however the staff was very friendly and the room was nice with a kitchen, bedroom, living room and bathroom. It would have been nice if there was a King Size Bed but there was not. The bed was not as bad as stated in previous reviews. Our bed was actually pretty comfortable.

The breakfast each morning which is included was good. It offered hot as well as cold buffet

When I was there we had an emergency and needed to call an ambulance at 3 AM for my Mom who fell and hit her head. The staff at the hotel got an ambulance immediately, the Hotel Manager got out of bed at home and came to the hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful. Even down to housekeeping the staff asked about Mom each day and did everything they could to assist us through a bad situation. They even offered to drive us and pick us up from the hospital each day.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again as the service could not be beat.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindafromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 374 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Oakton, Virginia
13
Reviewed 29 March 2005

The convenience to the University of Pittsburgh is why we stayed at this hotel. They provide a shuttle to campus, which is a nice service - although for our return, walking from campus was more efficient. I'm not sure how the shuttle is supposed to work, we were told to call for a return trip. It might have worked better to have regular, timed stops on campus that we could have aimed for.

Having a kitchen is always a great bonus, no matter how short a trip.

But the bed was so horrible and the linens so cheap that I got almost no sleep. My son slept on the pull out sofa, and I had to give him my spread because none was provided for that bed. Having read that Marriott plans to upgrade bed mattresses and linens, I would say they need to put this hotel on the list to receive those first. The pillows defied description, and should have been thrown out in 1940, which is how old they seemed.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2005

Just returned from a quick trip to Pittsburgh. Residence Inn was the only place to accomodate our last minute request for four rooms. The rooms are the typical one room suites. Some have seperate bedroom and some have studio setup. Place was clean but worn looking. Beds are totally uncomfortable like all Residence Inns. Why can't they get decent mattresses? Staff very friendly, complimentary breakfast average and location easy to find. Only problem was that there was no place to walk around once you left the hotel. You need a car or public transportation to get around. When I'm in a city, I like to take off and explore. Try the great restaurant across the street, Zarra's. A wonderful surprise. Also, Pamela's on Forbes is great for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank softballsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
25
Reviewed 19 January 2005

Like the previous review a little difficult to find because of Bigelow Blvd. (somewhat ends without notice) however, once found a great place to stay for the price! We were traveling from the Phila. area w/ our teenage son looking at colleges in Pittsburgh. The Residence Inn is in a great location if you're checking out the universities and/or convenient to major hospital and museum area - very nice location. Need to drive approx. 5 minutes to get into downtown/business district. We arrived on a weekend and since hotel was under-booked they automatically upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite without us asking - sure if it's busy this would not happen, but still very nice. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. There is a good, hot & cold breakfast buffet (free) esp. nice traveling w/ children. Very clean and modern. Nice indoor pool and fitness area - which we actually used. Again for the price and location - you can not beat this hotel!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2004

The Residence Inn Oakland is rather like Pittsburgh itself- built on an incline, difficult to negotiate, easy to get lost in, but full of charm and hospitality once the traveller becomes aquainted with the terrain.

For the area the hotel is in, practically right on the University campus, it's the best value for your dollar, tho it ain't cheap. To enter the hotel, one must negotiate 2 levels of elevator and pretty much already know where you're going to even get to the lobby. Arriving at the hotel is an adventure as well- Bigelow avenue is discontinous and if you are coming from the University area, you cannot attempt to follow Bigelow and expect to ever arrive at the hotel- better to call the hotel and ask for directions when you think you may be in the near vicinity.

However, I adore the neighborhood- it's ancient, very gothic and quite nicely preserved. The views from the hotel are fabulous, from the back you see a lovely wooded hill and old mansions, from the front you get an impressive overlook onto the city.

The service at the hotel is friendly and sort of efficient, even tho like another reviewer we almost got bumped from our credit card held reservation; fortunately my husband is impossible to say "no" to and somehow a room became available.

The rooms are lovely and large and clean, but the beds absolutely suck, being a third world kind with a 3 inch thick "mattress" and pillows stuffed with old plastic bags.

Yet, for better or for worse, we always happily return to the Residence Inn Oakland, at this point it's an old unreliable friend.

2  Thank coando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed 28 July 2004

I originally booked a party of 9 business travelers back in February 2004 for a stay in July 2004 for three nights - all rooms were confirmed with credit cards. We are Federal employees so we usually pay a reduced rate (to save your tax dollars). Anyway, we were arriving on a Monday evening. As I am sitting on the tarmac (flight delayed due to bad weather) I started getting emails from my coworkers telling me that they were kicked out of the Marriott and moved to another hotel (we were not allowed to choose the alternative hotel) that was not very nice. This was a problem because the alternative hotel was outdated and did not provide the same amenities (e.g., high speed internet - crucial for our work, apartment style room, etc.). When I questioned the management (who after five phone calls allowed two of us to stay at their property Monday night)...they said this happens all the time. They promised to have rooms for the entire party the following night...even had them check-out of the other hotel and bring their stuff to the Marriott - but that didn't happen either. We still had to send three back to the alternate hotel for both Tuesday and Wednesday night.

We were particularly upset because all of us were traveling in from out of town...they could at least have called us in advance to inform us that we were being moved. Then we could have booked a comparable hotel elsewhere.

Moral of the story...don't assume you have a room here even if it is confirmed (especially if you have a discounted rate - we assume that is why our whole party was initially moved). Nothing is worse than being on business travel...arriving at a hotel by cab...and being told your room is not available and that you have to move across town to an unknown property. Too much aggravation.

Oh BTW, the hotel is pretty modern. The complimentary breakfast and evening food is nice. The rooms are laid out great. However, the housekeeping was pretty poor.

  • Stayed: July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mt. Wolf, PA
216
Reviewed 2 May 2003

A recent trip to Pittsburgh for Pitt's graduation necessicated a hotel room stay. After trying several other hotels near the campus, I reserved a room at the Residence Inn. (I am certainly glad the other hotels were filled due to graduation!) The Residence Inn is located near Pitt's campus (but not noisy), the rooms are spacious and clean, a parking garage is adjacent, the staff courteous, shuttle service is offered, and the breakfast buffet, which was included with the room, was adequate. I would highly recommend that anyone who needs overnight or even short term accommodations give the Resident Inn Oakland a try.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Address: 3896 Bigelow Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1148
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £72 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing