We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingharts Burger & Whiskey Bar

Wingharts Burger & Whiskey Bar
Ranked #91 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
180 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small but Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went here for lunch, the place is very small and we got the last table in the back...they do have a few table upstairs that are outside. We started with wings which had blue cheese and bacon and they were GREAT! Highly recommend them. Burgers and pizza followed. We also watched a guy try an eat a nine patty burger ...don't know if he finished! Great place for food drink and music. Will return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leaner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    54
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very, very cramped but very friendly service and fair food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Pre Pirates Play Off game, Market Square very busy, we found a corner in Wingharts. Ordered the draft hard cider which was pretty good. The beer fries a concoction of fries, a nacho style cheese with beer added, not bad but too much sauce and not enough fries made for a very heavy side. We shared a Boomer wood fired pizza which was very tasty, the addition of brie to a pizza made for a nice change. Overall not a bad lunch and pretty good value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seaniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food; service not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I've been meaning to get to Wingharts for lunch in Market Square and last week finally made it. The burger and fries were 5 stars - really up there with the best downtown. However, the service was regrettable. A server has to be able to take a simple order for burger, soda, fries form 3 people, serve it, drop off the bill and take payment IN LESS THAN 1 1/2 HOURS. I dont know if our poor waitress was overworked, the only one, or whatever, but workers downtown simply cant take 1 1/2 hours for lunch for a burger. And most of us have to walk to and from the restaurant which adds on, at least for me, another 20 minutes. We ate upstairs on the deck and some other groups left because it was taking so long. I heard that take-out was the way to go - I assume call ahead - and that the wait and service were a problem. Hope it gets better

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Bugers and Whiskey what an awesome combo. I sat up stairs at the whisky bar watching college football before a pirates game. The food was fantastic. I had the Shipwreck burger. It had brie, caramelized onions, bacon, arugula, and white truffle aioli and was fantastic. My wife had a mushroom and cheese that and both hit the spot. We split an order of seasoned fries that were hand cut and cooked crispy. They have an amazing selection of Whisky, I drank mine straight up but the bar tender made my wife a concoction of whisky, mint and lemonade that was tasty as well. They have a good craft beer selection and the service was great

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wingharts know their burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We looked all around for a place to eat while exploring downtown. Finally we found Market Square, saw the heart with the wings, and decided to give it a try. I was initially skeptical because the place looked a little like a dive, but man this place was awesome. We even wound up chatting with the owner, and he was kind enough to look at some of the cakes my girlfriend had made. They got to discussing food, and this guy really knows his stuff. He makes some killer burgers, and knows the science of how to do so. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wingharts Burger & Whiskey Bar also viewed

 

Been to Wingharts Burger & Whiskey Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing