We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST while in Pittsburgh”

The Pittsburgh Tour Company
Ranked #6 of 31 Tours in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Pittsburgh Tour Company's Double Decker tour offers Pittsburgh's only Hop On/Hop Off Tour in historic red Double Decker Tour Buses from London. Our guided and humorous, historic tour of Pittsburgh showcases some of Pittsburgh's favorite areas for shopping, live entertainment, stadiums, museums, restaurants, bars and architecture. Listen to our experienced tour guides show you what Pittsburgh has to offer. We have expanded our tour to include even more areas than before! With 21 stops along the way you will have plenty to explore! If a place or stop sounds like something you might want to explore more, Hop Off the tour at that stop. Explore the area at your leisure then Hop back on to resume the tour later. Join us from a stop of your choice! Call us to reserve or book online!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A MUST while in Pittsburgh”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Being from Pittsburgh, I thought I knew the city. Boy, was I wrong! This was the perfect way to explore and truly experience all that Pittsburgh was, is, and has to offer. Great route, interesting factoids presented in a fun and friendly manner. Driver, tour guides, stop selections were simply perfect. We will definitely do this again. Try to sit on top at the front. the Strip is a MUST drop off.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    41
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unprofessional Tour Guide”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My boyfriend and I were quite disappointed with the tour guide we had. We have lived in Pittsburgh for 3 years now. I knew more than this tour guide. At one point, I quizzed him on the history of this famous landmark downtown; he replied "Oh that building? I think that building has only had offices since it's been built" when in fact, THAT building was built by Henry Frick in the early 1900's on the old grounds of St Paul's Catholic Cathedral. The Union Trust was built to feature 240 shops and galleries. OH THAT BUILDING?? That's nothing...DISCREDITED. Not only that, but this tour guide was answering his cell phone on the tour and we could all hear him make plans with his friends to go out that night. He was so "cool and trendy" but didn't know much at all. He was completely useless and I could've done a better job. The good thing about the tour was the route and its views. Pittsburgh is a beautiful city worth discovering...maybe just not with the overpriced Pittsburgh Tour Company.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque,nm
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

If you don't rent a car this is a really good way to see the city. You will hear some good history and the hop on/off feature works, but you have to pay attention to the schedule. On the last round one of the bridges was closed but they still got around and were only about 10-15 minutes late. Thanks bus driver Raul.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ayofatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Williamsport
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Avoid the Hop Off, Hop On option, but tour was great.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you do this option make sure you are there for the very first pick up in the morning. Once you "hop-off" at an attraction, you usually have to walk several blocks to "hop-back-on" a bus and they do not run on time mostly because of traffic. If you miss your hop-on, you could have a loooong wait unitl another bus comes along. If you board the tour late (in the afternoon)...they will not take you back to your origional pick up location if it is the last run of the day. You have to find your own way back to your pick-up location....of which there are 21. You have to take a cab. In our case it would have been 2 cabs as we were picked up at stop #4 and ended at stop #21. We were never told that when we bought our tickets. Not surprised as the gal at the kiosk where we bought our tickets didn't have any change whatsoever and did not know how to use a credit card machine and gave us all wrong information regarding hop-off's. Lamentinig about the information, or lack thereof is the only thing that saved us from taking taxi's back to stop #4. Also, when we were on tour three sat on the bottom of the bus, and 3 sat on the upper deck with the tour guide Jackie. She asked lot's of fun trivia questions (did you know there ia a 4th river....underground?) and was an excellent tour guide. Although when we went to hop off in the strip district, we found that the people who sat on the bottom part of the bus had no sound whatsoever and never got to hear the "tour". The microphone or sound system was broken (that day?). In essence, they paid $25 for a fumy, hot bus ride. We also wanted to stop at the Duquaine Incline, but Jackie (tour guide) did not yell loud enough for the driver to hear and he drove right past.
If it's a hot day sit on the upper deck of the bus....you get a nice breeze and you can listen to the tour. The bus tour part is good, but avoid the hop-on, hop-off option, it's a rip off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank boccebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
359 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“The Way to Go!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We had an interesting trip through the whole city starting on the Southside continuing to the Duquesne Incline where we hopped off and rode to the top. Back on and over a bridge to the Northside and then Downtown. We hopped off again in the Strip District for lumch and shopping. We were going to see the Duck arrive at Roberto Clemente bridge so continued on another loop.
Had two different guides who were both knowledgeable and delivered a good tour.

The open double decker bus allowed for up close views of many architectural features that wouldn't be seen ina car or regular closed bus.

Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaS484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pittsburgh Tour Company also viewed

 

Been to The Pittsburgh Tour Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing