We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice mid sized zoo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium

Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium
Ranked #20 of 157 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a family experience that fosters understanding, respect, and appreciation of wildlife with a visit to the Pittsburgh Zoo. Take a trip to the Islands and get an eye to eye view of warty pigs, Philippine crocodiles, and clouded leopards. Venture into the Jungle for an Odyssey of fun where you’ll discover our giant anteater, the elusive fossa, the world’s largest rat, and the pygmy hippo. Take in the scenic bird’s-eye view of the African Savanna before heading to our aquarium and Water’s Edge, home of the impressive polar bear and playful sea otter. *Jungle Odyssey and Zoo zip line open Summer 2017.* There is so much to explore at the Zoo, we provide 77 acres of fun! The Pittsburgh Zoo is open every day of the year except Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Day. Prices vary per season, so visit our website: and follow us on Facebook,and Twitter.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice mid sized zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We went to the zoo on Tuesday, 7/22/14 in the afternoon. You can see the zoo in 4-5 hours. The price was average although having the aquarium as part of the zoo (at no additional cost) is a good value. It is a medium sized zoo and you seem to be closer to the animals than in other zoos. It is an older zoo with reasonably good maintenance and they are improving areas of the zoo. We saw the animals we wanted to see-elephants, lions, moneys, gorillas. The giraffe area was not opened but we did see their heads off in the distance.
Food was better than expected and the food prices were reasonable. I thought the cost of drinks were high-I believe all water bottles were $2.75.
Overall a fun experience for families.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PittsburghZoo, Public Relations Manager at Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for visiting the Pittsburgh Zoo! We appreciate your positive feedback about your recent visit and we're glad you enjoyed seeing many of the animal exhibits. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    453
    171
    53
    21
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

the zoo is OK- it is going through renovation so the bears and giraffe are not able to be seen. The aquarium is included but the polar bear can be very difficult. the underwater tunnels were disappointing as there were only 3 sharks not much else not even seaweed. Smaller than i thought after reading the reviews. Price not bad for both attractions- didn't take too much time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LI MASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Zoo and Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The Zoo is nice and clean. However, animal areas are somewhat small for several of the animals. The Aquarium is perhaps the nicest part of the zoo. The train pass is definitely worth the $2 price for transportation around the zoo.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PittsburghZoo, Public Relations Manager at Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for visiting the Pittsburgh Zoo! We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've been to this zoo about half a dozen or more times over the years. It is never easy to find. Right now they are doing construction which makes it worse. Once you find the zoo, parking can be a "bear". The zoo gets really crowded on weekends; try going during the week. It is a long walk around the entire place. If you have little ones you might want to just do the Aquarium and the Kids' Kingdom.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good zoo, awesome aquarium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Pittsburgh we frequented the zoo a few times and the zoo itself it very nice, lots of animals, playground for kids, restaurants on premises( food is quite pricey). The best part of the zoo though, is the aquarium. It's a massive space with ceiling to floor tanks full of fish, a shark exhibit and even an area where you can pet sting rays. My 1 year old loved it, but I definitely loved going too. The price is reasonable and small babies/toddlers are free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PittsburghZoo, Public Relations Manager at Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for visiting the Pittsburgh Zoo! We are glad that you enjoy your time here, especially the aquarium. We hope you'll be able to bring your family to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing