We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and pricey but intimate and uncrowded”
Review of National Aviary

National Aviary
Ranked #14 of 172 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amazing collection of more than 600 exotic and endangered birds from nearly every continent.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
183 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Small and pricey but intimate and uncrowded”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The aviary is very clean and not cluttered. It is easy to get around. The birds they do have are very interactive. Almost all of this is inside, so it is good to go to on a rainy day. It is slightly pricey to get in (although we used a reciprocal membership from our zoo to get 50% off), but this keeps it uncrowded. And, without crowds, you have a clean environment that is very modern. There is a nice small restaurant, but I do not know if you may bring in your own picnic lunch. We spent about 2 hours there. My 6 year old daughter loved it. Her favorite part was looking for all the penguins names on their name bands. Oh, and the open aviary where the song birds fly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jppalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    309
    83
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Mifflin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Party”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Frandaufghter had her birthday there and they had a very nice program for the child. The main building is just like being where the birds are from .Kids loved the birds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birds fly free!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I hadn't been to the Aviary since I was in elementary school (we just never thought to go). Anyway, I took my husband and we had a blast! We had so much fun that we went again with his parents when they came to visit. The birds fly free in a lot of the exhibits and there is a section where you can feed birds during specified times (extra charge). Favorite things: trying to get the kookaburra to laugh, the tiny owls that burrow into the ground and penguin feedings. Beware of leaning on railings in the open exhibits. They're usually clean, but better safe than sorry.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you REALLY like birds”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I hate to tell you not to go, because it really is an excellent facility with many birds and opportunities to be educated. But it felt a little small in relation to the entry fee. We were there for about half an hour maximum, I'd say, and unless you buy a specialty package or watch a show, I'm not sure what would take longer to explore than that.

That being said, if you do go, my favorite part was the Grasslands exhibit, since the birds not only roam free (there were several exhibits with "free" birds, which was nice) but are very active and entertaining, wandering in your path on multiple occasions.

On the day we were there, the Lories exhibit wasn't open, which was a shame because they're always fun.

We spent at least 15 or 20 minutes chatting with one of the volunteers. Their staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, which is a great plus.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RandomHangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Be sure to enjoy the shows that are often presented. And don't miss the feedings! Parking is easy and you pay on the honor system. It's a beautiful facility!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank laura22204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Aviary also viewed

 

Been to National Aviary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing