We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Graduation Weekend....Great Job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Busy Graduation Weekend....Great Job”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel staff was very professional and friendly. The rooms ready and clean. The staff was very accommodating to our needs around graduation needs. The lobby area was open and bright.


All in all, they did excellent work.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
GBNJ,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside. We appreciate your kind comments about our clean accommodations and friendly staff. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff accommodating to your requests. We’re happy to have had you has our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    103
    49
    14
    7
See reviews for
103
39
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celebration,Florida,USA
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My son and I were visiting CMU so he could decide as a recently admitted student, if this is the right college for him. This stressful decision called for a great nights sleep and this hotel delivered! The staff was friendly, the hotel is clean and the beds were super comfortable. The rooms darkening curtains were perfect and there was no noise making it a very restful night. There is a Starbuck's adjacent to the hotel and a Panera Bread down the block which we love. The hotel is in a quiet area that is very close to a cute shopping street in the Shadyside area, as well as close to CMU and to the downtown area as well. This worked perfect for our needs. If my son decides on CMU we will stay here again for sure:)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Floridiantraveler50,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Courtyard Shadyside. I hope you had a wonderful time visiting CMU, and I’m happy to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable stay after a stressful day of decision making. We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and friendly staff. It’s great to know our hotel was perfectly located for your travel needs. Good luck to your son on making his big decision. We vote for CMU and hope you’ll be visiting us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

From the beginning i knew this would be good - friendly valet and desk staff. The decor is bright and sooo clean. The room even smelled fresh, none of that musty old hotel smell here. The accessible accommodations made my stay wonderful and worry free: Even a high vanity in the bathroom with room for everything! The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient, and the restaurant waiter even remembered my seat preferences from one day to the next. I will visit Pittsburgh several times in the next few months, and will be delighted with another visit at the Courtyard Shadyside.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Joanne A,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate you choosing Courtyard Shadyside, and want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. I’m pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff and found the accommodations clean and accessible. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Pittsburgh. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a CMU visit. The hotel is nice, has clean room, friendly staff - everything you would expect from a courtyard.

I didn't know the hotel charge a $18/day parking fee until we arrived, not a nice surprise.

The hotel offers free shuttle to CMU, which is very convenient, however the shuttle was late for ~20min to pick us up back to hotel, kind of annoying. Some room to improve scheduling.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wildy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee B, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
wildy2008,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your visit to CMU. I’m pleased to know that our friendly staff and clean rooms met the service excellence you’ve come to expect from us. Your feedback on the shuttle service is important to me and provides areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and have had a positive experience each time.
The hotel staff was unfailingly polite and helpful. I was greeted every time I entered the hotel by the front desk staff. The valet parking staff did an excellent job of anticipating my needs and meeting them. Room service was excellent for the service. The food from the hotel restaurant was just OK, but the quantity of food and lower price relative to other hotels made up for that.
There is a Starbucks attached to the hotel by a door from the inside and a Panera less than two blocks away.

Room Tip: A higher floor will get you marginally less street noise. Smaller rooms with a balcony will be wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOP4440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
MOP4440,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing our Courtyard when staying in the Pittsburgh area. I'm glad you felt welcomed and well taken care of by our friendly staff. We hope you'll continue to visit us when traveling in this area. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at this property because the hotel donated a night for a charity auction and we purchased it in order to support the charity. I was traveling with my daughter. The route to the hotel was a little questionable. Since we did not know the city we were a little concerned on our drive to the property. Fortunately, a short distance from the hotel the neighbourhood improved significantly. We were quite relieved. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and directed us to a nice restaurant for dinner. The room was spacious and clean and quite comfortable. If I return to Pittsburgh this hotel will be on my list.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl181747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
TravelGirl181747,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside. We appreciate your charity support, and we're glad you chose to stay with us. I'm pleased to know that you and your daughter had a nice, pleasant stay with us. I hope you made some great memories and enjoyed your time together. Should your travels bring you back to our area, we hope you'll stop and visit us again. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had to make a quick trip to Pittsburgh and so I was able to get a good price from Priceline to stay here. The room was clean, comfortable, and well furnished. Climate control was easily adjustable and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. While breakfast is not included, the buffet downstairs is quite good and reasonably priced. Beware of the mandatory valet parking at about $20 a day (including tax). If you plan on spending more than one night there you may want to find an alternative parking arrangement.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R6Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
R6Man,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Courtyard. I'm pleased to know that you liked our clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and delicious breakfast. We're glad you made a quick trip to Pittsburgh and stayed with us! Please plan to visit us again. We look forward to it.
Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside

Property: Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Address: 5308 Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15224-2356
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside is just steps from the shops of Shadyside and one mile from Oakland. Minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, the Courtyard Shadyside is close to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, UPMC Shadyside, Hillman Cancer Center, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, CONSOL Energy Center, and the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside thoughtfully appointed guest rooms offer you a perfect place to work, relax, and recharge. Enjoy our fresh, plush bedding, modern and flexible spaces and well lit work space with free Wi-Fi at this Pittsburgh Shadyside hotel. Enjoy breakfast or a full dinner in The Bistro Restaurant. Relax in our indoor pool, fitness center or lounge. Valet Parking Fee on property is $17.88/Day. The perfect choice among Pittsburgh hotels, the Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside looks forward to exceeding your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Courtyard
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing