We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average courtyard experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Mssachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average courtyard experience”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Average courtyard, clean rooms, comfortable beds. Annoying to pay for parking. Convenient location for universities. If you are looking for the Starbucks - it has a separate entrance. I would return her.e.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    103
    47
    14
    6
See reviews for
102
37
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were here for two nights/3 days for a college visit to Pitt. The hotel is VERY college-visit friendly and we were treated so hospitably. Although I wasn't thrilled with the mandatory daily parking/valet fee it was countered with the VERY convenient free shuttle within a 3 mile radius. That meant we were able to be dropped right in front of Pitt's Alumni Hall by the complimentary shuttle with no concern for finding parking and no worries about feeding a meter b/c our car was back at the hotel. Then when we were ready to be picked up after a day at Pitt, the driver was there in minutes to get us! FABULOUS. We also used the complimentary shuttle to be dropped at the restaurant of our choice that evening for dinner--and picked up again, within minutes of our call for a return trip back to the hotel.

Also, we arrived late on Friday and were tired and so hungry. We were thrilled that there was a restaurant on-site and that it was open until 10pm. Since it was 9:30pm I was thinking our meal might reflect that it was the "end of the day" back in the kitchen but I was wrong. It was freshly prepared and not one speck tired. Excellent.

What else did I dig?

Our room was clean--and FIVE pillows PER BED!
Paul Mitchel shampoo and conditioner. Nice job Marriott!
Coffee pot NOT in the bathroom! YEA!
Nice thick towels, not the skinny scratchy kind
Ginger at the front desk was so nice along with every other person we connected with! Valets were sooooo attentive!

If my daughter does chose Pitt for college, this will be my go-to hotel when visiting her in lovely PA!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LightQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
LightQueen,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with us at Courtyard Shadyside. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while on a college visit with your daughter. We're pleased to hear that our complimentary shuttle service provided value added convenience to your travels, and we're glad our comfortable accommodations and excellent service made or an enjoyable stay. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our staff and I'll be certain to recognize Ginger with a special commendation for her warm hospitality. Please continue to make Courtyard Shadyside your number one choice hotel in Pittsburgh. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a nice hotel with a good location, but the service sets it apart. Everyone was amazingly accommodating - the valet staff, the front desk, the restaurant staff, housekeeping, and management. My family and I were made to feel welcome from the time we got out of the car until the time we left.

Room Tip: No bathtubs on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mslktk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
mslktk,
We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad you enjoyed your weekend stay with us at Courtyard Shadyside. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than recognition of our staff's excellence in service. We have a great team of dedicated associates that strive daily to engage with our guests and provide exceptional experiences. We hope to have an opportunity to extend our hospitality to you and your family again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at this Courtyard in September, 2013 for two nights. Pros of the hotel include: convenient location, very nice lobby with bar and classy common areas, large rooms. Staff was friendly. The beds are very comfortable. Wireless was fast. Starbucks in lobby! Good shampoo offered.Cons include: Carpet needs refreshed, especially in the hallways. Valet is the only parking option and it costs $17. Room was clean overall but the carpet took away from the overall impression of cleanliness. Bathroom tub wasn't all that clean either, or at least you could say it was heavily used. There were knats flying around but I think that was just due to the time of the year (I hope not for any other reason!).

Other comments: Pool area is very nice but heavily chlorinated to the point the fumes were distracting. Breakfast looked really good but I didn't try it so I can't confirm it was worth the money (it's not free).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivace21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
vivace21,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your Courtyard Shadyside experience. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our convenient location, friendly staff, and variety of amenities well suited for your travels. We sincerely appreciate your feedback on opportunities for improvement. I assure you we will take your comments into consideration for improving our property and overall guest experience. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the Shadyside area. We stayed here while moving our son to go to Carnegie Mellon University. It is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are average, very clean and comfortable, although they could use some updating. It is not a fancy 5 star hotel but definitely worth staying at if you are looking for clean, comfortable and centrally located in Shadyside. They also have a $9.95 breakfast buffet which is very good. At first glance, I didn't think it was going to be so good, but it was one of the best omelets I have ever eaten! Also, I heard they were updating the hotel soon and that they are building another building across the way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Margaret M,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your Courtyard Shadyside experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while moving your son into Carnegie Mellon University. We’re pleased to know our clean hotel, comfortable accommodations, and central location met your satisfaction. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside. I booked this room through Priceline using "Name Your Own Price" and got a winning bid for this hotel. Myself and a friend stayed in the room (two people). I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

I am sure the hotel gave me the best room they had at the time I checked-in and I am sure that this is how they give out the rooms to all guests whether they booked through Priceline or directly through Marriott. There was never a mention of Priceline. I applaud the hotel for this.

My room had a king-size bed and a sofa-bed in the room. There was a balcony and I loved that feature. The room was spacious. There was definitely space for a roll-away bed or two (you might have to pay extra for extra people though). There was a mini refrigerator in the room. The fridge is sort of built into the dresser between drawers and behind a wooden door. It does not have a freezer. There was no microwave in the room. There was a sitting area with the sofa-bed, an upholstered chair, coffee table and an end table. I love having this sitting area.

The hotel is in a great location. I really like my room. It had a balcony with a great view of a huge historical church made of stone. A really beautiful church with very nice landscaping around it.

Everything was extremely clean in the room. The rug was really clean -- neither my socks, nor my bare feet got dirty. The A/C worked really well in my room and I am glad because the weather was very hot during labor day weekend. There is a switch on the A/C unit for the fan speed and the temperature is controlled by a thermostat located on the wall. The Internet in my room worked very well. There was a cable to hook up a cable directly to my laptop and they also had wireless access that also worked very well. You can send documents to be printed from your room to the printer in the business center in the lobby of the hotel. Be sure to ask the desk clerk on how to send documents to the printer. There were no instructions in my room about it. The business center is very nice and has two computers available for guests to use. The shampoo, hair conditioner and body lotion provided by the hotel are premium -- actually they were PAUL MITCHELL. The sink area is separate from the bathroom and you cannot see the sink area from the main part of the room and provides privacy there. There is a separate area for the coffee machine. I never used the coffee machine because there was free coffee available in the lobby with real dairy half & half. If you prefer, something more there is a Starbuck's in the hotel on the first floor but you will have to pay there.

Breakfast was not included in the price of my room but as I understand, the hotel does offer a breakfast package deal that includes a breakfast buffet. The Shadyside neighborhood has some of the best restaurants and they are in walking distance from the hotel. For breakfast I recommend Pamela's on Walnut Street. Pamela's is very reasonably priced. Pamela's is famous for their crepe hotcakes. I got the crepe hotcakes stuffed with strawberries and it was the best breakfast ever. On another day at Pamela's, I got an omelette and it was one of the best omelettes I have ever had. President Obama and his family and Vice President Biden have eaten at Pamela's. On my third day, I ate breakfast at another location and wished that I had returned to Pamela's because Pamela's food was so much better.

Parking within the city limits of Pittsburgh is expensive and difficult to find a space. It is like this all over. The hotel provides valet-only parking at $18 per day. You get in/out privileges with the hotel's valet parking. There is no self-parking at the hotel. They only have valet. You could try parking on the street but you better make sure you are parked in a legal spot and that you have paid the appropriate fee. They do not have meters on the street. Instead you go to a central vending box located on the curb. There you enter your license plate and get a receipt. The boxes require EXACT CHANGE or you can use a credit card. The parking is crazy in Pittsburgh and the drivers are even crazier. The hotel's parking is in-line with what you will end up paying anywhere else in the area.

The hotel also has a small fitness room with a lot of aerobic machines (treadmills, ellipticals, stationary bikes) crammed into it. It also has some dumbbells and free weights. It looked very clean but I did not use it. There also is a very nice indoor pool and hot tub that also looked very clean and tempting but I did not use it either.

The hotel is beautiful and well-designed and decorated but the best part of this hotel is its incredible staff who were wonderful and friendly. The hotel's staff always said "YES" to me -- I never, ever heard them say, "no". The staff had a friendly, warm and energetic attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodyAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
WoodyAutumn,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at Courtyard Shadyside. I loved all your observations and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your complimentary feedback regarding our helpful staff, clean accommodations, and great hotel highlight our core objective in providing an exceptional stay for each guest. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you’ll stay with us again the next time you travel to Pittsburgh. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This Marriott is extremely disappointing. I stay here very regularly due to its convenient location to my companies headquarters but that will end.

The rooms at this hotel are average. My main complaint is that the mattresses are terrible. They are very thin and old.

The internet speeds are incredibly slow.

The hotel gym is so pathedic that it is almost amusing. The gym is about the size of a walk-in closet. There are 3 treadmills. All 3 of them are insufficient for running and one of them is seriously the most pathetic looking treadmill that I have ever seen. The only thing that I can think of is that it is in there as a joke or meant for a kid who is under 4 feet tall. There are also a very limited amount of dumbbells and thats it.

Courtyards DO NOT GIVE FREE BREAKFAST TO MARRIOTT GOLD MEMBERS! Hello, almost every other brand (including Hilton) gives free breakfast to their Gold and higher members. Why is Marriott so behind?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlmNCPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
IlmNCPanther,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Pittsburgh area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside

Property: Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Address: 5308 Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15224-2356
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside is just steps from the shops of Shadyside and one mile from Oakland. Minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, the Courtyard Shadyside is close to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, UPMC Shadyside, Hillman Cancer Center, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, CONSOL Energy Center, and the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside thoughtfully appointed guest rooms offer you a perfect place to work, relax, and recharge. Enjoy our fresh, plush bedding, modern and flexible spaces and well lit work space with free Wi-Fi at this Pittsburgh Shadyside hotel. Enjoy breakfast or a full dinner in The Bistro Restaurant. Relax in our indoor pool, fitness center or lounge. Valet Parking Fee on property is $17.88/Day. The perfect choice among Pittsburgh hotels, the Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside looks forward to exceeding your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Courtyard
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing