We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not bad at all ...”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I thought this place was OK. We were here during the week, on a business trip. The rooms are large and facilities very nice. Most of everything in the room seemed burned by cigarette butts, but the room did not smell like cigarette smoke. The one downer was the carper on the hallways: absolutely filthy and worn out. There is a railroad in the proximity. There are trains running their almost all the time. The noise did not bother me; the windows are good at keeping most of the noise out. However, I overheard people at breakfast complaining about not being able to sleep at al. A lot of people were complaining. BTW - free continental breakfast. Parking a whooping $17/day. Front desk people have no sense of humor or desire to be nothing but stiff. They have a little attitude; maybe being a high traffic area they have to put up with a lot of attitude from customers .... but again, if you cannot handle it don't be in this industry. Excellent customer service is most of what people want.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you better chose a different hotel or ask for a most quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for staying with us, and taking time to tell us about your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that we can make your next one even better. To address some of the things you mention, our carpet is deep cleaned on a seasonal basis, and in late January early February we will be ripping it all out to do renovation. We do charge $10.16 a night for parking and with taxes it comes to $14, which is on par with the rest of our competition. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we are striving to offer exceptional customer service to our entire guest, and I am sorry if you encountered anything less than that. We understand that being in the hospitality industry, is about service and meeting the needs of or guest. It is my hope that you will join us again, and allow us an opportunity to wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    175
    76
    28
    32
See reviews for
123
107
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

it had a bad musty smell, the staff were friendly and helpful, i felt little over priced the carpet was dirty, and it sits off the road a bit being in pittsburg traffic a chaos world if u donbt look quick u may miss it ! they do provide shuttle to shopping and there is a place to eat next door the only place that serves for that hotel, it was good food the staff there very friendly !, nothing close lik to walk to a cvs icecream or etc the shuttle would have to take you !!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonyacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for taking time out to write a review, we understand that the only way for us to improve our service is to truly understand your needs. I would like to apologize for the musty smell, and “dirty carpet” in your room, and would like to reassure that it isn’t standard. I’m a belated that you find our staff to be helpful and friendly, because we’ve been working hard on improving our service. We hope that you will return, and explore the many options of food and restaurants that are on our World famous Carson St.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I was very pleased with our stay at the Holiday Inn. We make biweekly trips to Pittsburgh Children's Hospital. We've stayed at 4 different area hotels and we've decided this will be the one we choose for future visits.

The front desk staff was extremely friendly at check in and check out(both were named John). They gave us suggestions for eating and told us about the complimentary shuttle service to local sights. The "welcome" cookies are delicious.

Our room was just around the corner from the lobby. We heard no noise and had a great night's sleep. Because of our daughter's health, I almost didn't consider this hotel after reading reviews mentioning smoke. We didn't even smell a hint of smoke during our stay.

The room was clean and very spacious. I always wipe down all of the hard surfaces when we enter a hotel room. We've stayed at hotels costing MUCH more, and I can say this hotel was cleaner than most of them. The bathroom was nice with lots of counter space and great water pressure.

The pool was a little chilly, but the hot tub was great.

The smiles and great attitudes of John and John were nice during a difficult time. We will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogelbtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
My staff and I are belated that you enjoyed your stay. We are also excited because this is our first perfect score, since we started tracking and responding to our guest reviews. This is a victory for everyone; and we thank you for taking time out of your day to highlight our staff and your stay. We thank you for making us your official hotel, and we will strive to always exceed your expectations. It is our sincere hope that your child feels better and if there is anything we can do to assist in those efforts please do not hesitate to let us know. PS if you give us a call before you come, we can try to keep you in the same room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Our stay at this hotel was a pleasant one. The people at the front desk greeted us with a smile everytime we approached them, right from registering ourselves in. We bought our room off of a deal from Hotwire and we were very pleased with the room. It had a king sized bed, a small couch and microwave and fridge. The washroom was clean. We liked the fact that there was a sign stating if you forgot a toiletry item, the front desk would provide you with it. We wish we knew this prior to registering in as my boyfriend forgot his toiletries and we stopped to pick up some.
We liked the fact that they had a shuttle bus that would take you anywhere you wanted to go within a 3 mile radius.
The breakfast included offered a great selection of food to eat, although I was not too keen on their scrambled eggs.
Only thing we did not like was having to pay $14/day parking. This is where the shuttle bus came in handy. Other thing was the the gym was a bit small, only a few cardio machines. The pool looked nice, although we did not have an opportunity to use it. The location was a bit out of the way if you wanted to be right downtown, but manageable.
Only other complaint would be that we thought we smelled cigarette smoke coming from the adjoining room at one point. The room next to us was a handicap equipped room and there was no non-smoking sign, so not sure if guests were allowed to smoke in there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurousone13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Our hotel has really been working on our customer service, and we are glad that you the consumer have been affected in a positive way. We do charge for parking, as most hotels in the city do, but as you mention our shuttle take’s care of any of your driving and parking woes. Now about the cigarette smoke, I am sorry that you smelled smoke coming from another room, we try to keep a handle on guest smoking on non smoking floors. I’m sure you’ll be excited to know per our renovations, we will be a 100% smoke free hotel. Again I want to thank you for staying with us, and we hope you will stay with us every time you come to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here one night in October with a group of friends. Great Location right in southside which gives you access to all the bars and best nightlife in pittsburgh. Rooms are spacious and the refrigerator and mini bar area added a nice touch to the room. The pull out sofa was rather small though. Bar next door was nice for a drink before heading out to the bars. The man working the front desk was very nice and gave us a courtesy one time additional parking pass as we had 2 cars and they only alot one per room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We recently upgraded all of our rooms to have micro fridges in them, and we are glad that you noticed and enjoyed that feature. I also wanted to thank you for highlighting one of our stars (front desk agents), we believe in empowering our staff to tackle any challenge, thus allowing our guest to have a more enjoyable experience. We hope that you will visit us again, and make our hotel, your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express - South Side may times over the years. This most recent stay was even more enjoyable due to the friendly, helpful staff. From the front desk employees to cleaning staff, all greeted us with a pleasant smile, cheerful hello, and willingness to assist with restaurant suggestions and directions if asked. Management has made a huge improvement in this regard.

The shuttle service is a big plus for us, as parking can be a problem in many areas and driving in Pittsburgh is difficult due to the confusing traffic patterns. The courteous driver (Dave O. was on duty) and offered to take us to restaurants on the ever popular South Side, Mt. Washington, and Strip Districts. We always take advantage of this complimentary service and return to the hotel by taxi if the shuttle is tied up.

Pittsburgh just received a designation from National Geographic in the catagory of "Best of the World"! This is a diverse, fun city to explore and you won't go wrong with this hotel choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilcalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review. As management we’ve been working very hard to improve our service, here at the Holiday Inn Express South Side. Your review is positive affirmation that our team is buying into our system, and providing great service. We thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope that you will make us your home whenever you come back to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This property is exactly what you'd expect: mostly clean, outdated TVs and other room amenities, and things work well for the most part. You can certainly do worse.

What sets this property apart is the pool, which I didn't get to take advantage of, unfortunately.

The breakfast was OK but nothing special--the best part is the room you eat it in, which has a great view out a huge window.

I debated deducting more points because of an awful hotel shuttle experience: they actually had to call and get a shuttle from another Holiday Inn because their driver went "missing" (he was mysteriously 10 to 15 minutes away for an hour). This caused me and my colleagues to be late to our morning meeting, despite waiting for the shuttle almost an hour before we actually needed to leave.

In short, a fine place to stay on the South Side, but don't count on the shuttle service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_from_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Well first I would like to say thank you for staying with us, and I am sorry to hear about your shuttle experience. Unfortunately we do only have one shuttle, and when it’s in high demand the waits tend to be longer especially in the morning and during rush hour. The shuttle that came to get you was from our sister property, and when our shuttle’s get busy we help each other. It is my hope that you will come, to our hotel again, and allow us to give you the ultimate service experience we’re striving to provide. PS the flat screens will be here in December
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing