We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday Inn Express with very friendly & helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Holiday Inn Express with very friendly & helpful staff”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I think most people know what to expect from a Holiday Inn Express, but this one really impressed me. On one hand it's 'just' a fairly standard, but good, hotel.

On the other, it's full of friendly staff, who really do help you get the most out of your stay. If you want a hassle free, good quality, nice, pleasant stay, I would recommend this hotel. Free shuttle bus transporting you anywhere within 3 miles (and picking you up), free wifi, newspaper, coffee in room and lobby, good breakfast and even a small gym and pool

Even without the positive experience with staff it'd be good place, but just having people who seem engaged and switched on to help you have a positive experience just makes all the difference

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. IHG and Holiday Inn has been really working hard to rebrand ourselves as a value stay. I am belated that you enjoyed your stay, and that we exceeded your expectations. I also want to thank you for highlighting our customer service; we have been working really hard on making every guest feel valued. We hope that you will join us again soon 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    176
    77
    29
    33
See reviews for
127
108
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This property, located in the vibrant Southaide area of Pittsburgh, is a viable alternative to the overpriced Holiday Inn-University Center.
While not as convenient to Pitt, CMU, or UPMC, this hotel is only 10 min away. Lower prices, better rooms/entities, more responsive management combine to make this choice a better value for most occasions.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darthdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
I thank you for taking time to write this review about your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned we are still relatively close to the University of Pittsburgh, CMU, and UPMC Hospital’s and we offer a shuttle that will get you to all of those locations. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel overnight, 2 families - 2 rooms booked through Hotwire and we were pleasantly surprised. The outside neighbourhood kinda looked sketchy like we wouldnt want to walk alone at night but it turned out to be fine. We went to a Pittsburgh Penguin hockey game, the hotel offers free shuttle within a 3 miles radius. However, the shuttle was in the shop so the hotel had there sister property provide us with a shuttle - but we chose to walk the 12 minutes to the Consol Energy Center. 2 in our group didnt go to the hockey game so they took the shuttle downtown to do some shopping and dinner but did call the shuttle to pick them up. Dave the shuttle driver was friendly and efficient. Gladys on the front desk couldnt have been more helpful and Robin the manager was super friendly and helpful. I have never stayed at a hotel for one night and known 1 staff members name let alone 3 people. The customer service was excellent. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. The free breakfast was good and they contiually replenished the food. The teenagers enjoyed the free fresh baked cookies in the lobby. The room was a 2 bed queen fully equipped with mini fridge microwave hairdryer coffee maker iron and ironing board and free wi-fi which is necessary when travelling with teens.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staceyann20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadvisor for our hotel. The Southside is an area full of bar’s in restaurant’s alike, but there is still some remnant of old steel mill country as well. I'm glad you were able to use the shuttle to see the sites, in our great city. I also wanted to take time to thank you for highlighting a few or our stars here at the hotel. We have been striving to make service, our staple and appreciate the acknowledgment of such. I am also belated to hear you thought breakfast was good and find our rooms spacious and comfortable. We appreciate your comments and thank you once again for placing your review on tripadvisor. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was the perfect place for us to stay on our first visit to the city. Easy to find, superior amenities to similar hotels in the area, and a staff that went above and beyond our expectations when it came to service made a great first impression for a city that we came to love! The proximity to local entertainment (good, quality bars and restaurants abound in South Side) was also very appreciated. We will be back here in 6 months and will definitely plan on staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We greatly appreciate your feedback, and we are honored that you chose us for your first stay in our great city. The south side is full of fun activities, and great restaurants and bars. We will be patiently waiting your return, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Clinton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed @ the Pittsburg South Holiday Inn 12/19/11....The Hotel staff was very welcoming. Helen the front desk clerk was very cheerful and helped us out with recommendations around the area to go. Robin the General Mgr was also very kind. They treat you as part of the family. Our room was #305 King Suite, was a big room and kept up to cleaning standards. Next door is a food place w/ a great menu that provides room service. I give it an A++. The hotel provides a shuttle as well. We did utilize it to go to Carson street where there was a lot of places to go for food and drinks. Good time!! Breakfast at the hotel was good...the staff does well. So to complete my reveiw i will say that i would return to this hotel....as a matter of fact going to plan a group trip next time to enjoy with friends.!! Thank you to the staff for making our little getaway unforgetable :)

Room Tip: Third floor has great views to the city around you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa_Ben_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you so much for your review! Helen is one of our veteran agents and she can be a bundle of joy. We look forward to you coming back, and hopefully we can make you and your friends our family : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nectarine, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I am a Priority Club member and I stay at Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express frequently. I travel for business and always request to stay with Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express.

The gentleman who checked us in was delightful, however the woman who worked the evening shift was horrible.

I will never stay at the Holiday Inn Express South Side and I will not recommend to my company, my friends, nor my family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aprylmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
I want to thank you for taking time to write a review, as our guest we value your opinion of our hotel and it's service. I do regret that you had a bad encounter with one of front desk team members, and for that we are sincerely sorry. Please know that we are striving to build a team, which showcases outstanding service on a consistent basis. Please come back and allow us to show you the great service that so many have come to love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I thought this place was OK. We were here during the week, on a business trip. The rooms are large and facilities very nice. Most of everything in the room seemed burned by cigarette butts, but the room did not smell like cigarette smoke. The one downer was the carper on the hallways: absolutely filthy and worn out. There is a railroad in the proximity. There are trains running their almost all the time. The noise did not bother me; the windows are good at keeping most of the noise out. However, I overheard people at breakfast complaining about not being able to sleep at al. A lot of people were complaining. BTW - free continental breakfast. Parking a whooping $17/day. Front desk people have no sense of humor or desire to be nothing but stiff. They have a little attitude; maybe being a high traffic area they have to put up with a lot of attitude from customers .... but again, if you cannot handle it don't be in this industry. Excellent customer service is most of what people want.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you better chose a different hotel or ask for a most quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for staying with us, and taking time to tell us about your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that we can make your next one even better. To address some of the things you mention, our carpet is deep cleaned on a seasonal basis, and in late January early February we will be ripping it all out to do renovation. We do charge $10.16 a night for parking and with taxes it comes to $14, which is on par with the rest of our competition. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we are striving to offer exceptional customer service to our entire guest, and I am sorry if you encountered anything less than that. We understand that being in the hospitality industry, is about service and meeting the needs of or guest. It is my hope that you will join us again, and allow us an opportunity to wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing