We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is THE place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is THE place to stay!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel for the location, but was amazed to walk into a gorgeous, upscale, and classy hotel that was well above my expectations. Check in was quick and easy, hallways and rooms felt modern and spotless, and we LOVED the nice free breakfast with views of the city and river. This is now my preferred hotel when coming to Pittsburgh.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    174
    76
    28
    33
See reviews for
123
107
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express. The room was fine--clean, but could use a little updating. The best thing about the hotel is the shuttle service, which is easier to use than other PIttsburgh hotels I've stayed at. The worst thing is the 3am train horn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatsbonbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! First off, I would like to thank you in taking mention to our clean rooms; we are in the final stages of our upgrades, so I assure you the next time you stay our accommodations will be more than adequate. I appreciate your commending of our courtesy hotel shuttle. Our Shuttle takes care of our guests in ways that most area downtown hotels don’t. Let us be your personal tour guide within our amazing city; we will drop you off and also pick you back up anywhere within 3 miles, including most of all major attractions in the downtown Pittsburgh area. As far as the nearby train track, it does tend to be unpredictable. Their Trains run in accordance to CSX Railway schedules. If you have any concerns that this may be of disturbance to you, please be sure to request a room on the opposing side of the building. Our Front Desk Staff is fully trained on this matter and loves accommodating Guest Requests. We look forward to seeing you again very soon, and again, please address any questions or concerns with us directly. (412) 488 – 1130.
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Visited during March Break but staff was able to handle the full hotel. Shuttle service was nice to have. Breakfast was good and always stocked. Breakfast host was AMAZING! Very nice, hospitable and attentive. When a group came when the breakfast station was to close, she warmly welcomed them and brought out more food to ensure they had a good breakfast. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Not as fresh/new looking as some of the other Holiday Inn Express hotel's I have stayed at but the rooms were still very nice and breakfast was amazing. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I'm really torn on giving this property a rating - the Staff is Outstanding - Really - more than outstanding! The rooms comfortable (I expected them to be more noisy thus was pleasantly surprised), Breakfast was great and we walked through the Armstrong Tunnels to get to Consol Energy Center for Hockey and to get to downtown! There is a bar almost attached to motel that was also great fun! But, if I had booked this room thinking it was a 4 or 5 on universal lodging standards, I would have been disappointed. It is a Holiday Inn Express and by HIE standards it is a 5 but by overall lodging standards it is a 3 or 4. However, do note, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsOrdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of us on TripAdvisor! First of all I would like to pinpoint any wrongdoings on our part. If we did anything wrong, we most definitely would want you to report it right away; from there we could correct said action. I greatly appreciate your outstanding feedback on our staff. We pride ourselves on our knowledgeable and courteous staff. Our rooms as well, we provide spacious studio suites, and our breakfast crew aims to be the last smiling impression that you see during your stay. Our location cannot be beat, within walking distance to over 200 area attractions. We greatly look forward to your return, any questions or concerns, please contact us directly. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,
Gladys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I am here for a work meeting and wanted to come on right away! Alyson at the front desk and Robin were so helpful! I had no problems checking in and both were very informative about the area. The room is very well appointed. I would definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
WOW! 5 Stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am ecstatic that you absolutely loved our staff! Alyson and Robin are two of our true shining stars. Our rooms are well equipped and our staff will point you in the right direction of where to go within walking distance; from which there are so many places to head to! A right out of our lot will reach you to Carson St; From there, just make a Left and you can find anything that you can possibly think of. Following down the next 19 blocks you will find over 200 bars, restaurants and retail shops. Enjoy Pittsburgh, and we cannot wait to see you again!
Sincerely,
Gladys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

i am from the south and hospitality is always nice to see in a big city. All of their staff were very nice and could look me in eye and say hello. The rooms were clean and it was in a great location to all the local bars and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to this area of Pittsburgh.

James

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBarry1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
WOW! 5 Stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I greatly appreciate your particular notice to our top-notch hospitality! Every member of our team takes pride in what they do and love to assist and take care of our guests. Our brand’s motto is to provide Great Hotels That Guests Love. Well, we Love Our Guests! Thank you also for taking notice to our clean rooms and superior location. We look forward to seeing you again soon, as well as many friends you may send our way! Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing