We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family and I stayed here for the Pittsburgh Marathon and were very happy with how accommodating they were for those running in the event and their families. Starting breakfast and shuttle rides at 4 AM shows that they pay attention to the needs of their guests. The shuttle driver was so friendly and happy and showed a genuine concern for the needs of the guests.

In addition, the hotel is within walking distance of Station Square where you will find plenty of bars and restaurants. A great place to stay on the South Shore!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away that doesn't face the railroad tracks. There is a crossing right near the h...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am absolutely elated to hear that our special accommodation to our marathon runners early that morning impacted your stay positively. Each year we try something different in order to accommodate our marathon runners in the best way possible. This year, we had 4 main members of our staff come in early to coordinate the pre-run “breakfast to go” along with our shuttle driver; and the early start of our full hot breakfast. We are beyond pleased that they were both noticed and appreciated. The best feedback that we can receive is that our extra efforts are noticed. I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post your review. Come back to see us again soon, even on a non-event day, we will make every effort to WOW you again!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

The arrival location is quite good. The property itself is very good. The staff is wonderful. Mr. Chips the shuttle driver is a Treasure indeed. We had dinner reservations for 5:45 ay Meat and Potatoes, normally about 10 minutes away by shuttle, and arrived in the lobby an hour before our reservation, 4:45 thought we would have an adult beverage near the restaurant and arrive on schedule. Well, there was a Businessman's Special Baseball Game that day and we were caught in traffic and arrived at 6:15, 30 minutes late. We did have to pick up one guest at the Casino first. We did call our restaurant and they held our table for us so no real harm in the long run. However, The neighborhood after 10 pm on a quiet night is a bit like DEFYING DEATH. We were not harmed and I was thankful when we got back to the hotel safely. We walked past several local establishments on Carson Street, and there was not 1 patron in any of them. No sign of civilization- other than the hotel within 3 blocks and we were too concerned to go farther on foot. FINAL SCORE;Hotel 10 POINTS- this part of Carson Street for Boomers on a quiet night for AARP qualified- MINUS 6.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I am a returning visitor to Pittsburgh and I stayed at my favorite Hotel the Holiday Inn South Side. Although most of the Desk staff is new the General manager and Assistant manager are the same. I say this because when I first came to Pittsburgh I was welcome so graciously by the assistant manager who also made my trip and a success by giving me all sorts of information on getting around the city.
The Hotel has been recently renovated and the lobby and the rooms look great. I always check the linen and it is clean and the rooms are free from dust and hair. The bathrooms are clean and the soaps and lotions are new and unopened. All of this points to the fantastic job done by the Assistant Manage who in their friendly conversation inquires about your accommodations. Her name is Robin and if you are in need of something, directions, recreational spots or just a hug, she is the one. Robin is the face of the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the odd room numbers. The face the city.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for three nights during our trip to Pittsburgh. It is extremely well located, just over the bridge from where the Consol Energy Center is, so if you're going for a hockey game, you're well within walking distance. Also, it's only about a block away from Carson Street where there are a lot of bars and restaurants, so we were able to find different places for dinner every night all within walking distance. Also, the neighborhood is fine, so we didn't feel scared to walk anywhere. If you're going for baseball or football, you really aren't within walking distance, but the hotel supposedly runs a shuttle to anywhere within a 3 mile radius (we didn't utilize this on our visit).

The hotel room itself is typical Holiday Inn. Ours had a little sitting area with a small couch and also a sink, some cabinets, a small refrigerator and a microwave. The room was clean and it seemed like the bathroom may have been updated recenlty. The front desk staff was friendly and attentive.

Parking was $14 a day, but you have in and out privleges, so it didn't seem too pricey.

Also, hands down, this hotel has the best continental breakfast I've ever seen! It was delicious!

We will most definitely stay here again, and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rumdoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel for the location, but was amazed to walk into a gorgeous, upscale, and classy hotel that was well above my expectations. Check in was quick and easy, hallways and rooms felt modern and spotless, and we LOVED the nice free breakfast with views of the city and river. This is now my preferred hotel when coming to Pittsburgh.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express. The room was fine--clean, but could use a little updating. The best thing about the hotel is the shuttle service, which is easier to use than other PIttsburgh hotels I've stayed at. The worst thing is the 3am train horn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eatsbonbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! First off, I would like to thank you in taking mention to our clean rooms; we are in the final stages of our upgrades, so I assure you the next time you stay our accommodations will be more than adequate. I appreciate your commending of our courtesy hotel shuttle. Our Shuttle takes care of our guests in ways that most area downtown hotels don’t. Let us be your personal tour guide within our amazing city; we will drop you off and also pick you back up anywhere within 3 miles, including most of all major attractions in the downtown Pittsburgh area. As far as the nearby train track, it does tend to be unpredictable. Their Trains run in accordance to CSX Railway schedules. If you have any concerns that this may be of disturbance to you, please be sure to request a room on the opposing side of the building. Our Front Desk Staff is fully trained on this matter and loves accommodating Guest Requests. We look forward to seeing you again very soon, and again, please address any questions or concerns with us directly. (412) 488 – 1130.
Sincerely,
Gladys B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Visited during March Break but staff was able to handle the full hotel. Shuttle service was nice to have. Breakfast was good and always stocked. Breakfast host was AMAZING! Very nice, hospitable and attentive. When a group came when the breakfast station was to close, she warmly welcomed them and brought out more food to ensure they had a good breakfast. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £98 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing