We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel!!!”
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Go to Pittsuburgh on a regular basis, love going to the bars in South Side so we thought we would try this hotel out. Our main purpose for going was to go to a Penguins game. When we arrived we were greeted by the cutest "grandpa" conciege. We then parked the secure parking lot, you need a key card to get in. We then went to our room that turned out to be absolutely huge, far too much room for two people. We had 2 queen beds, a sitting area, a "kitchen table & Chairs" and a fridge and microwave. Snooped around the rest of the hotel. The gym was quaint, and the pool and hit tub were of decent size.

The lobby offered coffee 24/7 as well as the most fabulous iced tea. We were informed when we went to ask for a cab that the shuttle runs to and from the game free of charge...BONUS!! And to call and it would pick you up in the same place it dropped you off. Very nice! This hotel is only 2 blocks from South Side which is amazing so once again no cab fares.

It offered continental breakfast but we missed it. Free paper in the morning. Free internet. Free coffee. This list for this hotel is endless. For us the location was key and hit the mark!

Would definately reccomend!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEHIPSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    175
    76
    28
    33
See reviews for
123
108
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

This was a nice hotel. The room was much bigger than what I expected.

We stayed here for a long weekend, the Friday and Sunday nights were relatively quiet but the Saturday night was very noisy. There were several bachelourette parties on our floor alone, complete with decorations all over the hallway. The elevators were filled with very loud guests in the evening. Very annoying.

The breakfast area was OK but very noisy and crowded on both Saturday and Sunday mornings. Many guests came down in their PJs – I hate that but there is not much the hotel can do about it.

At one point there was a restaurant in the hotel. They really need to take the signs down in the lobby and hallways directing guests to it. I wasted a couple of minutes walking around looking for it.

The location was great for us although we did get lost a couple of times trying to find it – GPS signals are low in that area.

The free shuttle service was great – they even picked us up after a game from PNC park. It is within walking distance to many restaurants although I found the area a little sketchy at night.

Overall, I was satisfied with this hotel. We will stay here again; hopefully it will be quieter next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vay_KayK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsala, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

1st we get into the room and find a 40oz bottle of beer left in the fridge. My daughter thought it was champagne. Then the toilet seat had fecal matter all over it, all the front desk could do is apologize. We asked for another mattress pad because the pad on the sofa sleeper was filthy. They never brought one up. The shuttle service is horrible. Depending on the driver is where you get dropped off at and picked up. We were told we couldn't be dropped off at pointe park so we got dropped off at liberty travel which is a much longer walk. On the way back we were told we should be at pointe park. Excuse me we were told you can't pickup and drop off there. Well it depends on who is driving. Are you serious. It was one of the worst stays I experienced in a very long time. I will be going back to Pittsburgh soon and I will be seeking out other options

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenia, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We visited with three generations of our family. The location was convenient. We used the free shuttle to visit some museums, the driver was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Zweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXSSMGR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
We are glad we were able to host three generations of family members while in Pittsburgh ! Happy to of transported you all in the hotels shuttle. Thanks for the kind words regarding the drivers !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I'm originally from Pittsburgh, but went to visit and wanted to stay somewhere in town so we didn't have to drive when we went out. The hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants and bars and did have a free shuttle to the Rivers Casino(which we did not see or use). The check- in process was quick and the clerk was very personable-we booked our room on Priceline and got a smoking and she offered to check for a non-smoking for us. Our room was a double queen and it was average. The drain in the tub was clogged and we had to have someone come and fix it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My initial opinion of this hotel was impressive upon arrival as it is beautiful, but when I went to check in and they stated that my trip was noted as having not been paid for (there is a glitch in their online booking/payment feature online...DO NOT use it) I was taken aback as I indeed submitted payment in full online two months prior. They stated that although additional fees normally applied, they would waive the fees because of the circumstances. I paid $404 for a two-night stay.

Long story short: The tub continuously backed up with water, the fan did not function in the bathroom, the air conditioning did not cool the room properly (we sweated throughout the night), the mini fridge did not cool our food/drinks, and the whirlpool tub had a continuous brown ring around it. We will not return nor will we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HumbleDiva316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkasie, PA
Level Contributor
287 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We just returned from a two-night stay at this HI Express. This is now the second time we have stayed here and already have our reservations made for October when we return for parents weekend for Duquesne.

I cannot say enough about this hotel, the staff, rooms, breakfast and location are all excellent. Our first trip to this hotel we had our teenagers with us and did not experience any problems.

We had a king suite this time, it was very large and had a working mini fridge and microwave.

This is the perfect location if you are visiting Duquesne or the Southside!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrapbooker_in_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing