We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the unique "Marriott" feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I really enjoy staying at Marriott family of hotels. Their rooms have this unique feeling that you can only find and enjoy with them. As a business hotel, breakfast is available at the lobby and you can just pay for what you like. It also has a convenience store area where you can easily purchase what you need.

Room Tip: I think any room is a good one. That is the nice thing about Marriott.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janettetoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Janettetoral,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our team during our next meeting. We hope to see you back at our hotel in the future!

Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

I recently stayed here for a night before a train trip. The hotel is in a former building that manufactured pants! It was abandoned for 15 years before Marriott took it over and transformed it. The lobby is very comforting and the rooms are huge. Great high ceilings, wonderful beds, flat screen tv's and internet service. The hotel offers breakfast at a cost. The location is in downtown Pittsburgh within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and the stadiums. Public transportation is one block away and both Amtrak and Greyhound stations are 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thanks so much for your review and endorsement Joseph T! We appreciate hearing from you and are delighted that you enjoyed our décor, as well as our super location!
We look forward to seeing you again before your next trip.

Thanks again,
Francisco Selles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel would have been a perfect stay had it not been for the construction two buildings down. A LARGE jackhammer was running well into the wee hours of the morning. When I called the front desk, it was clear that the clerk had been trained on how to deal with this problem. All I was offered were the foam ear plugs that were left on the nightstand for our use. Nice Marriott, $200 pieces of foam to stick in my ears. How about you inform your clients that there is a high chance that they will pay a large price to get the privilege of using their room, but not sleeping in it? Greedy Marriott, very unhappy client!


Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank onehungrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We Love Going to the Shows @ The Benedum Center and this Hotel Is with-in Walking Distance ( weather permitting). Pricing is about Average. When we Book With Hotels We always request A King Bed, Preferably with a view, This Hotel puts U in the Center Looking out at a courtyard (which in the winter is Ugly). would rather be on the Back side Looking at the River !! First year we went we booked online and purchased a Brkfst Buffet at same time, Which I researched and was a Good Deal. But our Last trip we were told That wasnt Possible !?! Staff Have always Been Kind and More than Happy to answer questions.Their Parking Lot/Spaces are Questionable Since We Drive a Large SUV..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommyof5kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Mommyof5kiddos,
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your loyalty and taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!

All the best,
Francisco Selles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for marathon weekend 2012 Our experience was great right from the start. We requested an early check in, but did not anticipate our room being ready at 12:00. This was a huge bonus since we were able to get to our rooom before the expo which was located in the convention center right next door to the hotel. This property was immaculate in expected Marriott fashion. The front desk, valet and workers were all pleasent and greated you with a smile. The room was modern, comfortable, and quiet. The location for the race and any other visit was perfect. Penn avenue has plenty of wonderful restaurants and we were only about 5 blocks walk to the start/finish area. We try to only stay at Marriott properties since our experience has always been consistently excellent and this hotel and staff exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: noisy street request coutyard/upper level room
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Mwano,
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! I am glad you found your stay during the marathon to be top-notch and relaxing. We hope you had a great weekend! The team is always happy to help with dinner and local suggestions. We look forward to seeing you again!

Yours truly,
Francisco Selles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed at this property years ago. My company put me up there, and I was scared for I had never stayed in a hotel by myself. Every single person was so nice to me. The Valet was always so polite, even if I had a gross green rinky dink car at the time. The person at the door always said hi and wished me a good day. The lady that ran the breakfast new me by name and always asked how work was. Even the housekeepers tucked in my stuffed dog every day. It put a smile on my face every single time I came home from work. The food I ordered to the room was delicious and the staff was soo wonderful. This experience alone made me solidify my degree in Hospitality Management and I am now a Hotel General Manager. Thank you so much! I recommend this place highly!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Carla O,
Thank you so much for writing a review and sharing your experience about our hotel. It is great to hear stories like yours. I will be sure to share your words with our staff during our next team meeting. I hope you get an opportunity to visit our hotel again in the future.

Take care,
Francisco Selles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A nice Courtyard Marriott, good lobby that actually had people using it, and a great location for a lot of downtown activities, esp walking to and from the ballpark after a Pirates-Phillies night game. Near many restaurants, and you could walk the eight-ten blocks up to the Strip if you wanted. The parking valet worked very rapidly for us ($22 daily), and service in general was very good at the desk and for our one room-service linen need. The only BUT -- the Bistro breakfast area. Food was totally underwhelming. Is Marriott replacing all its Courtyard buffet breakfasts with these? A rare mistake from Marriott. Once was all I could manage here; we drove over to The Porch at Schenley, near Pitt campus, for a great brunch the second morning of our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philadelphian35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thanks for choosing our hotel and for your review Philadelphian35, we appreciate your kind comments. To answer your question, Marriott is replacing the buffet breakfast with the new Bistro in all Courtyards, I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your experience with ours. Hope you and your family had a great time at the game!

Take care,

Francisco Selles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 945 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3802
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £123 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott
Pittsburgh Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing