We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown is a good hotel if you are staying in Downtown Pittsburgh. It is within good proximity to everything including lots of bars and restaurants. The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful. The valet staff is excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1TrippyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

1TrippyTraveler,
We appreciate your review and recommendations of Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. We're pleased to hear that our central location, clean rooms, and helpful staff made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

This may be the friendliest hotel I've ever visited. Everyone we interacted with was a nice as could be! The location is great - right next to convention center and just blocks from Point Park University that we were visiting. Nice rooms with high ceilings and good beds. Downstairs offers a mini-cafe with limited Starbucks menu and nuke-to-order breakfasts. Lobby is welcoming with comfortable chairs and a lovely fireplace. On the negative side is no on-site parking, although their listing indicated they have it. A paid parking garage is just a short block away for $10 a day. (The attendants here were as friendly as the hotel staff.) They also say they have valet parking, but apparently not as late as we arrived. It was disconcerting to walk the streets of a new city late at night with my daughter and our suitcases. The other thing is that the young woman who checked us in said we could enjoy a complimentary breakfast - which we could not. Otherwise, this was a very pleasant stay. If we have cause to visit Pittsburgh again, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dszym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

dszym,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. We always appreciate hearing from our guests on positive feedback, as well as opportunities for improving our guest experience. I sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority.

I'm sorry for any inconveniences you experienced with parking. Our valet service is available 24 hours a day, however, the service is handled through the front desk from midnight - 6:30am. We're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and found our friendly staff, great location, and comfortable accommodations well suited for your travels. We hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was the last stop on our motorcycle trip, the staff were fantastic and very accommodating. They let us ride our bikes into the underground parking garage that is for valet service. The room was excellent and the downtown location could not be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

RobGS,
We appreciate you selecting our hotel during your motorcycle trip, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. It's great to hear that our excellent service, accommodations, and location all met your satisfaction. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

As usual I booked flights in advance, and then booked hotel, both on hipmunk.com (the fastest and most convenient I have found - be sure to try it - and do let me know if you find a website that is more convenient). Hotel was next door to the Convention Center where my 3 day meeting was held. Room was clean and spacious. Very comfy bed. Front desk was very helpful. Only issues were: (1) wireless was problematic on the 9th floor. (2) when you walked on the carpet there was a slight scrunchy sound which was a little disconcerting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-CA-Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

The-CA-Engineer,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay, and found our accommodations and location well suited of your business travels. We appreciate your feedback and thank you once again for writing. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I started at the courtyard on Friday November 22. It was out first time in Pittsburgh and we didn't really know where to go or what to eat around the area. We checked in with Adele and she was such a delight. Hands down one of the best check in I had in a while, so good job! She recommended us where we could park and what we should see. On our last night we took her recommendation and tried legume and it was excellent. I didn't get a chance to thank her when we left.

The rooms at this courtyard is just gorgeous! We were only suppose to stay one night but we just had to extend our stay because the rooms were just that nice. High ceilings, large windows, super comfortable beds. This hotel is one of a kind.

The only thing was I called down in the morning to ask for no service but an hour later someone still knocked at my door to ask when they can service my room. I told them I don't need service today but when I came back at night someone still came into my room. I know it's not a big deal but I thought after telling two people, I was hoping no one would go in my room.

But this is still a beautiful hotel with wonderful staffs! When I do visit Pittsburgh again this will definitely be my go to hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kin-Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Kin-Pat,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. We're happy to have been a part of your first visit to Pittsburgh, and we're glad our comfortable accommodations and excellent service made for a memorable stay. I'll be certain to pass along your compliments and will make sure Adele receives a special commendation for her sincere hospitality. We appreciate your feedback on opportunities for improvement as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. Please come see us again soon, and don't hesitate to stay a little longer.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Loved the exterior facade of the building. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The room (623) was comfortable and clean BUT it was HOT. It was very cold outside and I guess the heat was on, but we were unable to adjust the temperature in the room. We ended up turning on the air conditioner to make the room comfortable. The only downside was the parking,,,$22.00 per night for valet parking was excessive and there weren't any free options in the area. Despite the parking fee and lack of temperature control this was a nice place in the heart of downtown. You could easily walk to restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want to be in town this is a good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Wendy B,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown. We're glad you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff, and clean accommodations. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced with adjusting the rooms temperatures. Please know your concerns are being addressed with our maintenance staff in order to make any necessary repairs. I'm pleased to hear you had a nice stay otherwise, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent location in the Cultural District, and an easy walk to PNC Park and Heinz Field. Staff is very nice. My only complaint was that the mattress was a little too soft for me, I left with a backache. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankiehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Frankiehead,
We are pleased to have had you stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, and we thank you for writing a review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests on positive feedback, as well as areas of opportunity. Please know we will take your comments into consideration for improving our guest experience. Thank you once again for writing. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Christopher Burke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 945 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3802
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £101 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott
Pittsburgh Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing