We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT place to hear (and SEE) jazz”

Manchester Craftsmen's Guild Concert Hall
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A GREAT place to hear (and SEE) jazz”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

A wonderful venue. You can actually SEE the performers as well as hear them. My only complaint is that they now sell subscription packages first and single tickets later, closer to the concert date. However, there are usually 2 shows and I have been able to get tickets, but I panic if I think I won't be able to get tickets.
That being said, I will NEVER go to a concert in a venue that doesn't have assigned seating. Not a problem here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clevergirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Keep up the great shows”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were privileged to see the Brecker Bros. reunion tour as well as the Scofield Hollow Body in back to back weekend visits to MCG.
the early Brecker Bros. show had sold out.
the acoustics are great here. Only about 400+ seats. Unlike other venues the patrons are respectful of the musicians and quiet during the shows.
Lots of other artists are being trained here as well.
A lot of the times they have streaming videos if you cannot make the show.
A little difiicult to get to for out of towners use your GPS.
Do not take a taxi, they will not pick you up.
VEry pleasant experience short way out of downtown Pittsburgh.
Keep up the great work.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jaxon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great music venue”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Primarily a jazz venue, the acoustics are perfect, there's only about 400 seats. All of the greats have played here. This small place has produced at least 4 Grammy winning jazz albums. And you are supporting a great school in the Manchester-Bidwell Training center. We've had season tickets for 15+ years!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A beautiful place for great jazz shows”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My wife and I recently had a great experience to hear a live show of jazz at the MCG.
the staff are very kind and professional and the cost of CDs is reasonable.
Alrhough we'd been assured by our taxi driver he would pick us up, at almost the end of the show, we were tolk it would be a four hours wait! a patron offerred to take us back to our hotel for free, the staff asked the band to take us back(they said sure), but luckily one of the security people got us another taxi back.
So, word to the wise, carpool or GPS with your car .
the place itself is in an industrial area but well worth a nice intimate show.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jaxon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No bad seats”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

An intimate hall that holds about 250-300 people with great jazz concerts. Award winning CDs have been recorded there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PittsburghHiptripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manchester Craftsmen's Guild Concert Hall also viewed

 

Been to Manchester Craftsmen's Guild Concert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing