We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the University”

The Porch at Schenley
Ranked #48 of 2,428 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Adjacent to University of Pittsburgh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Porch is a nice restaurant to meet your student or friends for a meal. We stop by every time we’re seeing our son at Pitt.

Good breakfast and lunch menu and when it comes s warm there is outside seating overlooking the park with a nice view of the Cathedral.

Opens at 10am for Breakfast

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank drgreatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this place. Trendy vibe across from Pitt campus and it was the freshest meal this California girl has had in town this far! Vegetable salad was huge and absolutely delicious. Husband had a steak sandwich with really good potatoes. Kids meals were tomato soup with grilled cheese and these would have been perfect light meals for adults too. Tomato soup was soooo delicious!! I’d go back in a heartbeat!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank L1915EYlisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In my short visit in Pittsburgh, I happened upon this place with my family for breakfast. What a great experience! I sampled two of their specials ... the Jerk Brisket Hash and the Cast Iron Cinnamon Rolls. The brisket was tender and flavorful, served with potatoes and an egg. Yum! And who does not like a hot, straight out of the oven, cinnamon roll? Double Yum! And the service was personable and friendly. I highly recommend for brunch, but be prepared to wait.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank sakellariosv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

I had a business lunch at the porch. The food and service were excellent. It was packed on this weekday, although we did not have to wait long for a table. Located next to Pitt and the Carnegie Library, it was very convenient. Parking, like anyplace in that part of town was a pain, but once parked, there is so much to do and see that it becomes the price of admission.
Looking forward to the next visit to Porch

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EricGB555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

The Porch is a nice place to have a nice dinner. I personally like their pizza. Very testy. Their soup is very good. Not very expensive. It is also a nice place to have a drink after hours. They have a good variety of biers. You can also take out.
Everyone is usually nice

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 614jacquesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Porch at Schenley also viewed

 

Been to The Porch at Schenley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing