We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick one night stay to celebrate a birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick one night stay to celebrate a birthday”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Beautiful brand new Hotel, but need to share a few beneficial pieces of information to assist in your stay. First of all, there is a lot of fun things to do on South Water Street and on E Carson Street in Pittsburgh~especially if you like to eat, drink and shop! There's also very nice walking and biking paths along the waterfront. Park at the hotel and pay the fee upon checking in to avoid paying for parking elsewhere and walk or use public transportation to get around. Your car is valeted into their safe parking garage. Be "sure" you have the accurate times for Breakfast to be served. We stayed during the week and the desk clerk told us the wrong time and we missed breakfast; however, found a great breakfast within walking distance. We were upset that we missed it since it was included with the stay. Also, be aware that the lighting is modern touch sensitive in their rooms. If you are not acustomed to using that type of lighting, it takes alittle while to get used to working the lights. Other than that, it was a great location and I also advise getting out on their back patio which overlooks the bike path and riverfront. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on backside may have a nicer view, we stayed on the front left overlooking a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Patricia A,

Our associates make sincere hospitality their priority. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and the level of service we provide. I'm sorry for the confusion over our breakfast times. Your comments, which highlight our successes and areas for improvement, are welcomed as they foster change for the better. We look forward to seeing you upon your return to the area!

Best,
Michael Rhoten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    144
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
223
150
16
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I think this hotel has fallen victim to two traps in contemporary hotel design: a desire to please both business and family travelers with the same room, and a desire to have innovative design over useful/utilitarian design. I will say, the people working there have been awesome, attentive, helpful, and polite. The price is about appropriate for you what you get. The location is pretty good, and the rooms seem to have a halfway decent view/accomodation. I like the kitchenette idea, but who would use it is unclear to me. Also, the valet parking (mandatory) seems unnecessary as the parking lot is just on the other side of the building: you can see the valet get into your car and pull it around. I could have done that.

At first blush, this hotel is really nicely set up: contemporary lines reflecting a somewhat industrial, angular facade. Sure, fine, whatever. I'm not paying to sleep in the lobby (but if that's your thing, you won't be too disappointed, and you'd probably go unnoticed with all the nooks and crannies with chairs and such. Then there's the room. Again, it looks really awesome at first glance, but there's been over a dozen times where I've been so confused about what they were thinking. This room would probably be okay for one person, cramped for a couple, but seems set up for a family.

First and foremost, the door to the bathroom doesn't lock, it doesn't even close the whole way (by design). There's a big crack between two half doors with a clear-as-day view to the toilet and into the shower (encased in glass, so the showerer can be spied upon with ease). Fine for a solo traveler, I suppose, but what kind of family would do that? I can see the appeal if you're trolling the southside for a late-night rendezvous at the many bars that are here, but my god, if you're doing that and rent a hotel room here just to be as creepy as possible, reevaluate your life.

Anyway, more about the bathroom. The closet is in the bathroom. Good to steam the wrinkles out of your suit, I suppose, but if you are sharing the room with someone and one of you needs to shower (or use the toilet) while the other gets dressed, that'll be a really awkward exchange. The shower contains a single, itty bitty metal soap dish that isn't big enough to hold the shampoo, conditioner, and bar of soap they give you. There is one, tiny trashcan for the whole place in the kitchenette. If you were hoping to throw things away in the bathroom, so far as I can tell, you'll have to take it out the kitchen. Ahem, warning to the ladies. But, it's great if you find hot showers to be unenjoyable, because the best I could do after two showers is tepid. I suppose this will make steaming my suit difficult.

If you want to get some work done, there is a desk that doubles as a counter/table to eat at. Great use and economy of space. But...the desk is a mere 3 feet from the wall making it unnecessarily tight to get in and out. The chair they chose is too tall for me (I'm 5'6") and really uncomfortable. As hotel (especially free hotel wifi) goes, it wasn't bad. Speedtest clocked it at about 15mbps, which for American standards is better than most houses get.

However, the rest of it seems cute enough. Nice little fridge, dishes, dishwasher. Pet friendly. Pull out couch. Truly horrendous coffee, though, even for hotel coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemo8855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
nemo8855,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thorough review. I'm sorry to hear the hotel design did not meet your needs. We hope you found the service and location to exceed your expectations. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here on a whim with our friends from Dayton. WOW. Such a new, sleek, clean, contemporary hotel! Valet parking was $14 unlimited in and out. Or you can pay $3 to stay ($3 each time in/out) right across the street in a parking garage. The hotel doesn't have a large entrance when you pull up outside. Check in on 2nd floor. Our favorite part was the view of the Mon River & Pittsburgh. Also the gorgeous outdoor seating patio area. The tv in the room spins so you can watch in bed or on couch. The only thing I didn't care for was there are 2 bathroom doors that you close together. And there's a huge space between both doors. We loved it here and will definitely be back. Gorgeous and in THE perfect location in the city!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TouristTrap9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear TouristTrap9597,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re pleased to hear our contemporary design, relaxing patio, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Best,
Michael Rhoten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A very modern and clean hotel in a very quiet part of town. We had a kitchen, a full sofa, free Wi-Fi and a tv that swiveled to the living room or bedroom. Beautiful spacious bathroom. Walking distance to several restaurants, movie theater and stop for the hop-on hop-off bus tour. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Phyllis64,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh South Side. We appreciate you selecting our hotel, and we’re glad you enjoyed your visit. It’s great to receive your kind comments regarding our spacious modern rooms and convenient location. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Best,
Michael Rhoten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I got married this past May and had our reception near the Hyatt House. We worked with Michael who is the general manager of the hotel. The experience from planing to completion couldn't have been easier. Mike gave us a room block for our guests any everyone from out of town stayed at the hotel. The hotel itself is new. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. In the morning there is a hot breakfast that was delicious and included with your stay at the hotel. At night, there is a bar area / patio where you can unwind and relax.

The hotel is centrally located in the South Side Works (a trendy area in Pittsburgh). There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the city is only a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear John M,

Congratulations on your marriage! We are happy to hear from you and glad to know your stay was pleasant. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your recommendation serves as encouragement to our associates who genuinely care about providing each guest with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to a return visit.

Best,
Michael Rhoten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very new facility adjacent to the southside works. Very close to E Carson st and their Restos and bars. Hotel had suite styled rooms that were quite large and roomy with mini kitchenettes. Lounging area separate from sleeping area came in handy. Nicely styled with modern finishes. Pool was a little cold but nice that they even supplied pool toys for kids. Breakfast was included and great options with even an omelette station. Staff was ever present, very friendly and helpful. Parking was valet only, and service was prompt and friendly. The area beyond southside works is a neighbourhood that is coming into it's own. Not much to see in area other than bars and restaurants. One thing was that the noise from street was surprisingly loud. I wouldn't have expected to hear people on street as clearly as we did without windows opened. Our room was on 2nd floor facing street. The German beer hall next door had quite the rowdy crowd but only the occasional group walking by was heard from street level.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekwtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Our team understands and believes that our guests deserve a pleasant stay and we continue to seek new ways to impress. Your kind comments, which highlight our successes and areas for improvement, are appreciated as they foster change for the better. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Michael Rhoten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This new hotel has thoughtful, nicely laid-out, smart and modern, well-appointed rooms, not your standard two-queen-beds, small-bathroom hotel room. Use of space is efficient: The king bed faced a large flat-screen TV incorporated in a room divider; the TV swiveled so it could also face the fold-out couch opposite. The complete kitchen even included a small dishwasher. And the large bathroom was laid out so one person could be taking a shower or using the commode while the other used the sink. Breakfast was certainly better than average and included made-to-order omelets. The area is newly reclaimed old industrial land, with lots of eating choices nearby, but also easy access across the Hot Metal Bridge to the university area. Sometimes the mandatory valet seemed a bit rough (not at the station or seemingly surly), but this could be due to little business; not sure why it is mandatory.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear reprof,

It’s wonderful to know your stay was pleasant. We love hearing you were pleased with our modern rooms and great location. Your review helps us to monitor and improve our guest experience. Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay, and we hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Michael Rhoten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side

Property: HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Address: 2795 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2391
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing