We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Isabela on Grandview - CLOSED

Isabela on Grandview
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: American, French, Southwestern, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Two hundred feet from Pittsburgh's Duquense Incline.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
381 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice view but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The view from this restaurant is very nice, the Pittsburgh skyline especially lovely at night. The food, however, was not worth the high price. I'd give this one a miss.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calypso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great view...food just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The view is the main attraction. We only had a la carte, so can't comment on the menu. Had ribeye and soup. Both were ok but nothing more. Reception was nice and welcoming, service good. As others I do not see what should make this an especially romantic place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellehoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in addition to great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We visited our families in Pittsburgh, and went to Isabela to celebrate our quadruple birthday, including two big ones. And we are really happy with our choice. We dined in Isabela two years before, and views of course are as good now as then. But food significantly improved with the new chef Alan Peat. His multi-course dinner was creative and perfectly balanced at the same time. Great evening all around!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I love this place...the place to go whenever in Pittsburgh! Enjoy the fantastic View of Pittsburgh from mt Washington!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank diann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Parent's 50th Anniversary dinner disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Totally disappointing experience. Although the location is great, that should not keep the owners from attempting some form of "curb appeal". From the lack of any landscaping, to the boards that needed to be replaced, or at least re-nailed, the building looked old and uninviting. Once inside, and my party was in the private dining room, the first thing that I noticed was a lack of air conditioning ( I was there in mid August). The view, which was partially obstructed by the back of a metal structure, maybe a billboard, was average. The table was a plastic type folding table, covered in a linen table cloth. Additionally, the room had no ambiance, no draperies, and tile half way up the walls. My party of 11 was told that all 7 courses had to be ordered at the beginning of the meal, to ensure that everyone would receive their food at the same time. One of the people in the party was served his entree approximately 10 minutes after everyone else. The entree was pork medallions, and when he did finally get his meal, the pork was very undercooked. I had ordered the pork, as well, and his looked nothing like mine. Additionally, the waiter served the desserts, before bothering to ask if anyone wanted coffee, so it was served after the dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isabela on Grandview also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing