We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food... Awesome desserts!”
Review of Soba Lounge

Soba Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Soba Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 2,172 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Shadyside
Cross street: College Avenue
Transit: 71C, 75 Ellsworth and the East Busway are all convenient to Soba
Description: Soba is a Pan-Asian restaurant that consistently rates as one of Pittsburgh's finest, with accolades ranging from Best New Restaurant (In Pittsburgh) & Best Restaurant (Pittsburgh Magazine) to Best Martini (Pittsburgh City Paper) & Delicious Design (Pittsburgh Magazine). The menu changes daily, allowing the chef to create signature selections with an Asian influence. The large selection of tempting appetizers are perfect for sharing among your group. Drink specialties include seasonal martinis made with house-infused vodkas. Soba's wine list is recognized by Wine Spectator and has a wine to complement any dinner. Soba is housed in a beautiful, three-story Victorian building on Ellsworth Avenue in Shadyside. The restaurant has an urban/modern Zen garden atmosphere with a spectacular two-story water wall. The restaurant includes a comfortable first floor lounge, several small dining rooms & a rooftop deck.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food... Awesome desserts!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner with all the family and everybody loved it!

We took fried calamari, nice and light, seaweed salad really great and sashimi (this one was a bit too small)

Then we shared a curry, lovely and really tasty!

Desserts were awesome... And we didn't expect that from an asian restaurant (that generally doesn't offer such a great dessert selection)

Service really nice and efficient!

Great atmosphere!

Excellent restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    41
    19
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Night”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and i celebrated our anniversary at Soba last night and it was a perfect evening. Starting with complimentary valet parking and a warm, inviting decor, Soba continually surprised on the upside. Our server was friendly and yet gave us time to contemplate the exciting menu. With so many tempting choices, selecting an app and entree was difficult. We chose to split a lobster maki, which was superb. I was especially happy that the wasabi packed a punch. I chose a double cut pork chop that came with a wonderful mixture of pork belly, lotus root, miso, mushrooms and baby bok choy. It was terrific, rich in Asian flavors and textures. My wife ordered the duck and loved it, though she was surprised at how spicy it was. My one taste confirmed it's subtle heat, which I really enjoy.
Soba is one of the best restaurants we've eaten in here in Pittsburgh. We will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcs2032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“One of the best in Pittsburgh”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best restaurants in the city. It is on the expensive side, but you get what youth for in this upscale experience. The food and atmosphere are top notch. I've left satisfied every time I've been there and will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful first visit”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Went with friends before heading out for the night. We enjoyed various appetizers, the Crisy Tofu, Pork Belly and Crab Spring Rolls. Our waiter, Scott was very nice and helpful...I'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Jcourtney76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent- a real hit.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

we've been twice in the past month. Once with a group of 8. Our dinners and experience were so good we decided on Soba as our venue for a private birthday party we hosted. Both times the food was excellent, the service was warm and wonderful. We like that they have a real good wine list as well as their space being very sophisticated and cool. For the private party we used the upstairs as well as the covered heated porch. We were concerned due to the arctic weather Pittsburgh as been experiencing lately ! but the heaters were great and the weather coverings were perfect. We sat over 30 people out there. The evening was a great hit from the private service bar, to the Maki station, the hors'dervres, and the beef/tuna carving stations. count Soba as a "hit" in Pittsburgh

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patt8011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soba Lounge also viewed

Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Soba Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing