We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, vegan and carnivore friendly”

Spice Island Tea House
Ranked #109 of 2,428 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch
Neighbourhood: Central Oakland
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

The food was perfect, very authentic. We got the veggie java fr was exactly what i wanted and perfectly spiced. Service was great, really sweet girls. Definitely worth the trip.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank jas215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Came in for a quick dinner. Loved the vegetable spring rolls. However the knock out was the Thai peanut sauce with the grilled chicken. Restaurant is a small place with lots of character and good service. We will be back!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank frugalmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Was looking for a place to have lunch close to the home of a person I was visiting. It is a few blocks from the main streets and in a neighborhood of homes that are most likely all converted to apartments for college students. I believe the neighborhood is Oakland or on the edge of it? Glad we gave it a try. The restaurant offers an assortment of dishes from southeast Asia – Thai, Malaysian, Indonesian, Burmese & Singaporean. They also seem to have quite an impressive selection of teas. The front of the place is so unassuming that one might not give it any consideration. However, the narrow space inside is optimized to offer comfortable seating for several dozen guests. My lunch companion had the Malaysian Chicken Satay and I had the Chiang Mai Noodles. Both meals were excellent. Service was quick & attentive. Also reasonably priced. Note – they do accept credit cards but appeared to offer a discount if paying with cash. I would definitely go back (and my companion who lives a block away indicated that this would likely be a #1 source for take-out in the future).

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jfdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Second visit for lunch. I have tried the Pad Thai (comes with shrimp and chicken), red basil chicken and vegetable spring rolls. All were very delicious. I was surprised how mild the dishes were, I expected very spicy. You have pepper sauce to your taste at the table. The basil chicken had peppers, onions and tomatoes. Comes with rice .$9.95 lunch prices. Portion are big. Service was fine. The look will surprise you, that going for something hipster. Parking is..well..Oakland.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank drjohns623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Great value for what you are paying for. The serving sizes are quite large, so you will have leftovers. Come hungry!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Island Tea House also viewed

 

Been to Spice Island Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing