We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander's Restaurant

Alexander's Restaurant
Ranked #848 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Bloomfield
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Had lunch with business associate and sat outside. Close to West Penn Hospital, where we had business meeting. Order taken by very freindly bartender, who also waited on the tables.

Service was prompt and attentive. Although we only had salads, they were fresh and the italian bread served was extremely good, with garlic infused olive oil for dipping.

Looking forward to returning for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob46890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place for pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Have been treated wonderfully the couple times we have eaten here, the employees are great. There is a big selection to choose from for the create your own pasta. Outside seating is available, but limited.
I had angel hair with marinara sauce and a couple meatballs. Wife had greens, beans and tomatoes, the appetizer version was enough for her meal. I already plan on returning next time I am in Pittsburgh.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J-Szy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Terrible food and atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My brother and I ate here one evening, both very hungry and hopeful for a good plate of pasta. The food is terrible. I took one bite and couldn't continue. The server didn't even say anything when I said I don't want it boxed to go. How this place stays open I don't know.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbroumand_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

A restaurant with a regualr following that had good food, friendly service and a nice atmosphere. All their food is tasty, but sometimes the chef goes a little overboard with the marinara sauce -- too much on the food and sometimes way to garlickly.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't Bother Making Reservations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Alexander's a couple of years ago and liked it well enough. We knew we were going to be in the neighborhood this past weekend, so we made 7pm reservations for Saturday night. When we got there our table wasn't ready and after 30 minutes, when it still wasn't ready, we left. What's the point in taking reservations you still have to wait more than half an hour for your table? We won't be returning.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing